12 releases to look out for on Records Store Day 2022 (2nd Drop)

26.05.2022
Record Store Day 2022 2nd Drop
On June 18, 2022, the second of two regular Record Store Days will take place this year. Once again, there are some exclusive releases to discover. We have selected twelve records that we would like to recommend to you.
Art Blakey & The Jazz Messengers
In My Prime Record Store Day 2022 Vinyl Edition
Tidal Waves Music • 1978 • since 39.99€

While jazz continued to turn, Art Blakey and his Jazz Messengers continued to ride the hard bop in the late seventies. And how. The best proof: those »In My Prime« sessions from December 1977, which appear here collected on one album for the first time. The record offers a rush of Art Blakey's sensitive drums, James Williams' piano and the sound of the other musicians. Every note sounds and feels alive. And makes this session so timeless. 

Björn Bischoff
Bobby Hamilton Quintet Unlimited
Dream Queen Record Store Day 2022 Vinyl Edition
Now-Again • 1972 • since 34.99€

Robert »Bobby« Hamilton is a jazz, rhythm and blues musician from Syracuse, New York, and founder of the band Anubis. In 1972 he released »Dream Queen,« an album of funky as well as spiritual jazz, embellished with bubbly percussion. Reduced to 1,000 copies, this musical masterpiece was transferred directly from the original master tape in an analog transfer by Bernie Grundman.

Franziska Nistler
Calvin Keys
Full Court Press Record Store Day 2022 Vinyl Edition
Tidal Waves Music • 1985 • since 35.99€

Calvin Keys is an American jazz guitarist who has performed with artists such as Ray Charles, Ahmad Jamal, John Handy, Bobby Hutcherson as well as Eddie Marshall. His 1985 album »Full Court Press«, released originally on Olive Branch Records, features an impressive array of street artists Calvin Keys has performed with over the years and is synonymous with smooth jazz with laid-back grooves. In 2022, Tidal Waves gave the album a reissue.

Franziska Nistler
Crass
You're Already Dead / Big A Little A Record Store Day 2022 Edition
Crass • 1980 • since 18.99€

Crass was an anarcho-punk band from Essex, England, active between 1977 and 1984. Their 1980 single »Big A Little A« was released on their own label Crass Records and featured the track "Nagasaki Nightmare" on the flipside. The band is using this year's Record Store Day as an opportunity to reissue the song as a vinyl 12". The A-side this time is the song »You're Already Dead«, which the band felt was more contemporary for the year 2022.

Andreas Brüning
Fuzzy Haskins
Radio Active Record Store Day 2022 Vinyl Edition
Tidal Waves Music • 1976 • since 35.99€

He co-founded Parliament-Funkadelic, fathered more albums than children in his lifetime and has his own plaque in the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame: to say that Fuzzy Haskins has soul circulating in his bloodstream would be a gross understatement. At 80 years old, the man no longer shakes his Hawaiian shirt, but his solo material from the seventies still shuffles across dance floors. Prince, The Prodigy or Fatboy Slim know why! »Radio Active« is released as a reissue on Tidal Waves.

Christoph Benkeser
Home Boy And The C.O.L.
Home Boy And The C.O.L. Record Store Day 2022 Vinyl Edition
Tidal Waves Music • 1982 • since 35.99€

Only Cecil Johnson Lyde Holden himself knows why he called himself »Home Boy«. More and more people are finding out that the man from Chicago was grinding the worst boogie funk through the mixing desk at the beginning of the 80s. The two-million-dollar grin Holden put on the cover of »Home Boy and the C.O.L« is no disadvantage. For people who don't care about rehab after hip surgery and prefer to dig for records on Tidal Waves.

Christoph Benkeser
Madness (UK)
Baggy Trousers Record Store Day 2022 Vinyl Edition
Union Square Music • 2022 • since 37.99€

»Baggy Trousers« first appeared in 1980 on their album »Absolutely« and as a vinyl 7" on the Stiff label, and is the only Madness single never before released as a vinyl 12". This is now about to change. Along with five other songs, it will be reissued via Union Square in a limited edition of 850 copies weighing 180 grams in the iconic Humphrey Ocean artwork of the original single.

Andreas Brüning
Miles Davis
Live In Montreal - July 7, 1983 Record Store Day 2022 Vinyl Edition
Columbia • 2022 • since 47.99€

Miles smiles, because the all-inclusive late work of the most famous jazz trumpeter of all time is slowly becoming available in its entirety on vinyl. The concert on July 7, 1983 »Live In Montreal« is one of those recordings where Heads drool like Pavlov's dog from sheer tension. Sure: Miles Davis conducts his harem - Scofield on guitar, Bill Evans behind the Rhodes, Darryl Jones on bass and Al Foster with the clappers - to grace and Grammys in those years. Columbia puts the thing on vinyl for the first time.

Christoph Benkeser
Franklin Electric, The
This Time I See It Record Store Day 2022 Vinyl Edition
Return To Analog • 2022 • since 23.99€

The Franklin Electric are a three-piece from Canada who conjure up four-chord indie monzettes for which you can even crawl under your blanket at 35 degrees in the shadow. A sweat cure to indulge in, so to speak. Or a sundowner over Buxtehude. Their fourth album, »This Time I See It«, winks and breathes and jingles with sorrow about the past. With it, they even straddle the Schnitzelkoma on Bayern 2. On Return To Analog, the record appears on vinyl for the first time.

Christoph Benkeser
The Kinks
Waterloo Sunset Record Store Day 2022 Yelow Vinyl Edition
Sanctuary • 1967 • since 25.99€

It's been 55 years since »Waterloo Sunset« was released in 1967 as the English band's first »true stereo« single and the closing track of their fifth album »Something Else By The Kinks«. With five more, the song is now being reissued via Sanctuary, remastered by Tony Cousins and featuring the original French artwork, and on yellow limited edition vinyl.

Andreas Brüning
The Undertones
The Love Parade Record Store Day 2022 Light Green Edition
BMG • 1982 • since 30.99€

The Undertones from Derry, Northern Ireland, released »Teenage Kicks« in 1979, BBC DJ John Peel's absolute favourite song. In 1982, they mixed their scratchy punk sounds with Motown elements and lots of pop appeal on »The Love Parade«. Now the song is now being reissued via BMG. The vinyl 12" comes in a light green 140g edition including demo material previously unreleased on vinyl.

Andreas Brüning
Viktor Vaughn (MF Doom)
Vaudeville Villain Record Store Day 2022 Vinyl Edition
Get On Down • 2003 • since 39.99€

A milestone - like so many records by MF Doom. For »Vaudeville Villain«, however, Daniel Dumile took the name Viktor Vaughn and caused quite a stir with his third solo album in 2003. The playful and lush beats! The lyrics with all kinds of rhymes! Today, "Vaudeville Villain" stands in the shadow of MF Doom's great works that were yet to come. Although all that was looming here. »Salvia« and »Can I Watch?« alone belong on every tape with MF Doom's best tracks.

Björn Bischoff

All Exclusives of the Record Store Day 2022 (2nd Drop) at HHV Records.

Go to webshop

12 Releases nach denen du beim Records Store Day 2022 (2nd Drop) Ausschau halten solltest

23.05.2022
Record Store Day 2022 2nd Drop (12 Picks)
Am 18. Juni 2022 findet der zweite reguläre Record Store Days in diesem Jahr statt. Auch diesmal gibt es wieder einige exklusive Veröffentlichungen zu entdecken. Wir haben zwölf Schallplatten ausgesucht, die wir dir ans Herz legen wollen.
Art Blakey & The Jazz Messengers
In My Prime
Tidal Waves • 1978 • ab 40.84€

Während sich der Jazz weiterdrehte, fuhren Art Blakey und seine Jazz Messengers Ende der Siebzigerjahre weiterhin den Hard Bop. Und wie. Bester Beweis: Jene »In My Prime«-Sessions vom Dezember 1977, die hier erstmals gesammelt auf einem Album erscheinen. Die Platte bietet einen Rausch aus Art Blakeys sensiblen Drums, dem Piano von James Williams und dem Sound der anderen Musiker. Jeder Ton hört und fühlt sich lebendig an. Und macht diese Session so zeitlos. 

Björn Bischoff
Bobby Hamilton Quintet Unlimited
Dream Queen (1972)
Now-Again • 1972 • ab 34.99€

Robert »Bobby« Hamilton ist ein aus Syracuse, New York stammender Jazz-, Rhythm- und Blues-Musiker sowie Gründer der Band Anubis. 1972 veröffentlichte er »Dream Queen«, ein Album aus funkigem sowie spirituellem Jazz, verziert mit sprudelnden Percussion. Das auf 1.000 Exemplare reduzierte musikalische Meisterwerk wurde direkt vom Original-Masterband in einem analogen Transfer von Bernie Grundman überspielt.

Franziska Nistler
Calvin Keys
Full Court Press (1985)
Tidal Waves • 1985 • ab 38.99€

Calvin Keys is an American jazz guitarist who has performed with artists such as Ray Charles, Ahmad Jamal, John Handy, Bobby Hutcherson as well as Eddie Marshall. His 1985 album »Full Court Press«, released originally on Olive Branch Records, features an impressive array of street artists Calvin Keys has performed with over the years and is synonymous with smooth jazz with laid-back grooves. In 2022, Tidal Waves gave the album a reissue.

Franziska Nistler
Crass
You're Already Dead / Big A Little A
Crass • 1980 • ab 18.99€

Crass war eine zwischen 1977 und 1984 aktive Anarcho-Punk-Band aus dem englischen Essex. Ihre 1980er Single »Big A Little A« erschien damals bei ihrem eigenen Label Crass Records und hatte den Track »Nagasaki Nightmare« als Flipside. Die Band nimmt den diesjährigen Record Store Day zum Anlass, um den Song als Vinyl 12“ wieder zu veröffentlichen. Als A-Seite fungiert dieses Mal der Song »You’re Already Dead«, den die Band als zeitgemäßer für das Jahr 2022 empfand.

Andreas Brüning
Fuzzy Haskins
Radio Active
Tidal Waves • 1976 • ab 38.99€

Er hat Parliament-Funkadelic mitgegründet, in seinem Leben mehr Alben als Kinder gezeugt und seine eigene Plakette in der Rock and Roll Hall of Fame: Fuzzy Haskins zu attestieren, Soul zirkuliere in seinem Blutkreislauf, wäre eine glatte Untertreibung. Der Mann schüttelt mit 80 Lenzen zwar nicht mehr das Hawaii-Hemd, sein Solomaterial aus den 70ern shuffelt aber immer noch über Tanzflächen. Prince, The Prodige oder Fatboy Slim know why! »Radio Active« erscheint als Reissue auf Tidal Waves.

Christoph Benkeser
Home Boy And The C.O.L.
Home Boy And The C.O.L.
Tidal Waves • 1982 • ab 31.19€

Wieso sich Cecil Johnson Lyde Holden »Home Boy« nannte, weiß nur er selbst. Dass der Mann aus Chicago Anfang der 80er den ärgsten Boogie-Funk durchs Mischpult schleifte, davon erfahren inzwischen immer mehr. Der Zwei-Millionen-Dollar-Grinser, den Holden aufs Plattencover von »Home Boy and the C.O.L« knallte, ist dabei kein Nachteil. Für Menschen, die nach der Hüft-OP auf die Reha pfeifen und lieber bei Tidal Waves nach Platten diggen.

Christoph Benkeser
Madness
Baggy Trousers
Union Square • 1980 • ab 23.99€

»Baggy Trousers« erschien erstmals 1980 auf ihrem Album »Absolutely« und als Vinyl 7“ beim Label Stiff und ist die einzige Madness-Single, die bisher noch nie als Vinyl 12“ erschienen ist. Das ändert sich nun. Zusammen mit fünf weiteren Tracks wird er via Union Square in einer auf 850 Exemplare limitierten, 180 Gramm schweren Edition im ikonischen Humphrey Ocean-Artwork der Original-Single aufgelegt.

Andreas Brüning
Miles Davis - Live In Montreal - July 7, 1983
Columbia • 1983 • ab 35.99€

Miles smiles, weil das Alles-muss-rein-Spätwerk des bekanntesten Jazz-Trompeters aller Zeiten langsam in seiner Geschlossenheit auf Vinyl zu haben ist. Das Konzert am 7. Juli 1983 »Live In Montreal« gehört zu den Aufnahmen, bei der Heads vor lauter Anspannung sabbern wie der Pawlowsche Hund. Klar: Miles Davis dirigiert seinen Harem – Scofield an der Gitarre, Bill Evans hinterm Rhodes, Darryl Jones am Bass und Al Foster mit den Klöppeln – in diesen Jahren zu Grazie und Grammys. Columbia legt das Ding erstmals auf Vinyl auf.

Christoph Benkeser
The Franklin Electric
This Time I See It
Return To Analog • 2022 • ab 25.99€

The Franklin Electric sind eine Dreierpartie aus Kanada, die Vier-Akkorde-Indie-Schmonzetten zusammenbasteln, für den man sogar bei 35 Grad im Schatten unter die Kuscheldecke kriecht. Quasi eine Schwitzkur zum Schwelgen. Oder ein Sundowner über Buxtehude. Ihr viertes Album »This Time I See It« blinzelt und haucht und klimpert von Kummer über Verflossenes. Damit grätscht man sogar auf Bayern 2 ins Schnitzelkoma. Auf Return To Analog erscheint die Platte zum ersten Mal auf Vinyl.

Christoph Benkeser
The Kinks
Waterloo Sunset
1967 • ab 17.59€

55 Jahre ist es schon her, dass »Waterloo Sunset« 1967 als erste »true stereo«-Single der englischen Band und als Schlusstrack ihres fünften Albums »Something Else By The Kinks« veröffentlicht wurde. Mit fünf weiteren wird der Song über Sanctuary nun wieder aufgelegt und zwar remastert von Tony Cousins und mit dem französischen Original-Artwork versehen und auf gelben, limitierten Vinyl.

Andreas Brüning
The Undertones
The Love Parade
BMG • 1982 • ab 30.99€

The Undertones aus dem nordirischen Derry veröffentlichten 1979 mit »Teenage Kicks« den absoluten Lieblingssong von BBC-DJ John Peel. 1982 mischten sie auf »The Love Parade« ihre kratzigen Punk-Klänge mit Motown- Elementen und viel Pop-Appeal. Anlässlich des RSD 2022 erscheint der Song jetzt bei BMG als Reissue. Die Vinyl 12“ kommt in einer hellgrünen 140g-Vinyl-Edition inklusive bisher auf Vinyl unveröffentlichtem Demo-Material.

Andreas Brüning
Viktor Vaughn (Mf Doom)
Vaudeville Villain
Get On Down • 2003 • ab 38.99€

Ein Meilenstein – wie so viele Platten von MF Doom. Für »Vaudeville Villain« nahm Daniel Dumile hier aber den Namen Viktor Vaughn an und sorgte mit seinem dritten Solo-Album 2003 für großes Aufsehen. Die verspielten und satten Beats! Die Lyrics mit allerlei Reimarten! Heute steht »Vaudeville Villain« im Schatten der Großtaten von MF Doom, die noch kommen sollten. Obwohl sich all das hier abzeichnete. Allein »Salvia« und »Can I Watch?« gehören auf jedes Tape mit den besten Tracks von MF Doom.

Björn Bischoff

Alle Exclusives des Record Store Day 2022 (2nd Drop) bei HHV Records

Zum Webshop