Label Watch: Les Disques Bongo Joe

09.06.2022
Les Disques Bongo Joe 2022 (Label Watch)
Power factory for undiscovered sounds: Two years after the record store Bongo Joe Records opened its doors in Geneva, Switzerland, the associated label Les Disques Bongo Joe released its first release in December 2015. Both label and store were founded by musician Cyril Yeterian. The mission: to put previously unknown music on the map and thus provide new inspiration. Which works wonderfully.

There are few record stores to which the travel website Tripadvisor dedicates an entry. And even fewer record stores from Geneva. But Bongo Joe Records appears there. The address is a record store, meeting place, label, café and center (not only) of the local music scene. »There was this idea of being more than a shop, more than a bar, and then more than a label,« says founder Cyril Yeterian. »Being like a cultural center was a real goal. Everything was made about sharing the love of music but staying as inclusive as possible.«

If you stop by Bongo Joe, you can talk about last night’s concert in Geneva, listen to some obscure cumbia over a very good coffee, meet an artist from the label, or just buy the latest record by Habibi Funk. That’s the idea of Yeterian. »We want things to be as alive as possible, spontaneous, and rich.« The label carries this idea to the rest of the world outside Geneva.

A question of touch and feel

The discography so far combines the most diverse styles. Who means it bad, would call it indiscriminate. Those who mean well call it eclectic. Like Yeterian: »The discography is pretty diverse, but we think if you take the bigger picture, it’s like a puzzle that makes sense.« Moreover, everything is built on three pillars, according to the 38-year-old: Swiss music from the underground, obscure sounds from the past and international artists who share this »psychy-groovy-weirdy« DNA. The thing with the reissues is the cherry on top. But from everything speaks the love for the music.

»There was this idea of being more than a shop, more than a bar, and then more than a label.« (Cyril Yeterian)

»Most of the project we release starts with meetings in real life. It’s important for us to see the people, feel them,« says Yeterian. That goes for musicians as well as employees. (Besides him, three other people work at the label. For the record store, bar and concerts there are eight people in total). In the label today Cyril Yeterian works as artistic director.

»It seems obvious but we’re looking for special stuff. It’s a question of feelings.« Once the label decides on a project, it sticks with it. »It’s because we really believe in it and want to fully dedicate ourselves. When there’s doubt, we have a secret council we reunite to have other feedbacks.«  

The real Bongo Joe

The label achieved great success with the release of »On«, the debut of Altın Gün. The band comes from Amsterdam, plays Turkish psychedelic rock.  »That tremendous success was a big challenge for our growing label. Very challenging and we had to learn very quickly a lot of certain rules of music business while staying true to our values and independence.«

There is a role model for these values: George »Bongo Joe« Coleman. The U.S. street musician played on a makeshift drum kit made from oil drums. In this way he developed a unique style – and for a long time preferred performing in the streets of Galveston, Texas, to more lucrative locations. In 1969, his only album ever recorded, »George Coleman: Bongo Joe« was released. When Yeterian discovered the music, he immediately liked the punky vibe, the proto hip hop and this DIY street-playing energy. »He was carrying values we recognize ourselves in.«

Buy at HHV

When they first wanted to name the record store after Coleman, they contacted his descendants through Mississippi Records. »Their reply was full of curiosity and happiness discovering that people were celebrating Bongo Joe’s name so far away from Texas.« In Geneva, they can bring previously undiscovered music to an interested audience, away from the public eye. And just a little bit more.

Label Watch: Les Disques Bongo Joe

09.06.2022
Les Disques Bongo Joe
Kraftfabrik für unentdeckte Sounds: Zwei Jahre nachdem der Plattenladen Bongo Joe Records im Schweizer Genf seine Türen öffnete, veröffentlichte das dazugehörige Label Les Disques Bongo Joe im Dezember 2015 seinen ersten Release. Label wie Store gründete Musiker Cyril Yeterian. Die Mission: Bisher unbekannte Musik auf die Karte bringen und damit für neue Inspiration sorgen. Was wunderbar funktioniert.

Es gibt wenige Plattenläden, denen die Touristikwebsite Tripadvisor einen Eintrag widmet. Und noch weniger Plattenläden aus Genf. Aber Bongo Joe Records taucht dort auf. Die Adresse ist Plattenladen, Begegnungsstätte, Label, Café und Zentrum (nicht nur) der lokalen Musikszene. »Da war diese Idee, dass wir mehr als nur ein Plattenladen, mehr als nur eine Bar, mehr als nur ein Label sein wollten«, sagt Gründer Cyril Yeterian. »Ein kultureller Mittelpunkt, das war das eigentliche Ziel. Alles war darauf ausgerichtet, die Liebe zur Musik weiterzugeben und dabei so inklusiv wie möglich zu sein.«

Wer bei Bongo Joe vorbeischaut, kann sich über das Konzert von letzter Nacht in Genf austauschen, bei einem sehr guten Kaffee einer obskuren Cumbia lauschen, einen Künstler des Labels treffen oder einfach nur die neueste Platte von Habibi Funk kaufen. So die Idee von Yeterian. »Die Dinge sollen so lebendig wie möglich, spontan und ergiebig sein.« Das Label trägt diese Idee in den Rest der Welt außerhalb von Genf.

Eine Frage des Feelings

Die bisherige Diskographie vereint die verschiedensten Stile. Wer es böse meint, nennt das wahllos. Wer es gut meint, nennt es eklektisch. So wie Yeterian: »Unsere Diskographie ist ziemlich divers. Aber wenn du dir das große Ganze anschaust, ist es wie ein Puzzle – alles ergibt einen Sinn.« Außerdem baut alles auf drei Säulen auf, so der 38-Jährige: Schweizer Musik aus dem Underground, obskure Sounds aus der Vergangenheit und internationale Künstler, die diese »psychy-groovy-weirdy« DNA teilen. Die Sache mit den Reissues ist dabei die Kirsche obendrauf. Doch aus allem spricht die Liebe zur Musik.

»Da war diese Idee, dass wir mehr als nur ein Plattenladen, mehr als nur eine Bar, mehr als nur ein Label sein wollten« (Cyril Yeterian)

»Die meisten Projekte starten bei uns mit einem Treffen. Es ist wichtig für uns, die Leute zu sehen, sie zu fühlen«, sagt Yeterian. Das gilt für Musiker wie Mitarbeiter. (Neben ihm arbeiten drei andere Leute im Label. Für Plattenladen, Bar und Konzerte dort sind es insgesamt acht Leute.) Im Label arbeitet Cyril Yeterian heute als künstlerischer Leiter.

»Es mag offensichtlich sein, aber wir suchen nach besonderem Zeug. Auch das ist eine Frage des Feelings.« Wenn sich das Label für ein Projekt entscheidet, bleibt es dabei. »Weil wir wirklich daran glauben und uns ihm ganz widmen wollen. Wenn es doch Zweifel gibt, berufen wir einen geheimen Rat ein, um uns noch anderes Feedback zu besorgen.«  

The real Bongo Joe

Großen Erfolg fuhr das Label mit der Veröffentlichung von »On« ein, dem Debüt von Altın Gün. Die Band kommt aus Amsterdam, spielt türkischen Psychedelic Rock. »Der enorme Erfolg war für uns aber auch eine große Herausforderung als wachsendes Label. Das forderte uns ziemlich heraus. Wir hatten viele Regeln des Musikgeschäfts sehr schnell zu lernen, während wir unseren Werten und unserer Unabhängigkeit treublieben.«

Für diese Werte gibt es ein Vorbild: George »Bongo Joe« Coleman. Der US-Straßenmusiker spielte auf einem behelfsmäßigem Drumkit aus Ölfässern. So entwickelte er einen einzigartigen Stil – und zog lange die Auftritte in den Straßen des texanischen Galveston lukrativeren Locations vor. 1969 erschien sein einziges jemals aufgenommenes Album »George Coleman: Bongo Joe«. Als Yeterian die Musik entdeckte, gefiel ihm gleich der punkige Vibe, der Proto-HipHop und die DIY-Energie. »Coleman trug Werte in sich, in denen wir uns wiedererkennen.«

Im HHV Shop kaufen

Als sie zuerst den Plattenladen nach Coleman benennen wollten, nahmen sie Kontakt über Mississippi Records zu seinen Nachfahren auf. »Ihre Antwort war voll Neugier und Freude, dass Leute seinen Name so weit entfernt von Texas hochhalten.« Bisher unentdeckte Musik abseits der Öffentlichkeit an ein interessiertes Publikum bringen, das können sie ja in Genf. Und eben noch ein bisschen mehr.