Records Revisited: Dinosaur Jr – Green Mind (1991)

19.02.2021
Many rock bands recorded their best ever albums in the early 1990s. Including Dinosaur Jr. Although the band was already in the process of breaking up while in the recording studio, their fourth album »Green Mind« is still bursting with creativity.

J Mascis is a man of few words – and many pauses, sighs and yawns. That’s what the free Canadian newspaper The Georgia Straight said shortly after the release of »Green Mind«. The interview with vocalist and guitarist J Mascis that followed this introduction confirmed journalist Steve Newton’s impressions: The Village Voice called Dinosaur Jr America’s best new band. J Mascis replied with a long pause. Note by Newton: It was even in the band’s bio. »I think it was a while ago,« Mascis said. Whether it was an accurate description? Mascis: »No. We’re on the way out.« Which perfectly described the mood of the band. If you still wanted to call Dinosaur Jr, from Amherst, Massachusetts, a band.

Buy at HHV
Dinosaur Jr
Green Mind
from 18.99€

in the early 90s, Dinosaur Jr were poised to be the next big thing. Their crashing alternative rock with slacker attitude fit perfectly into the era. MTV, college and all that stuff. With their second album »You’re Living All Over Me« in 1987, Dinosaur Jr. finally found their sound.

Then came »Bug«, the album after the one massive album. Muted rumblings could already be heard there between J Mascis, bassist Lou Barlow and drummer Murph. Mainly because Mascis wanted to push his idea of rhythm too much. Nevertheless, the album became a success and was critically acclaimed. But after the tour to promote that album, it was all over – and Lou Barlow left the band, or the band left Lou Barlow.

»It seemed like he didn’t want to be in the band anymore, but didn’t want to be the one to leave the band, or something like that,« J Mascis said in an interview with Rolling Stone two years ago. »And yeah, he wasn’t contributing anything anymore.« And suddenly Mascis was on his own when the time came to begin recording »Green Mind.« Murph only played the drums on three tracks. Because Mascis had written the parts for Murph – and he didn’t feel like rehearsing them. At least that’s what Mascis said.

Other than that, »Green Mind« is a tour de force by J Mascis, who took over vocals, bass, drums and guitar on the album – and also produced it all. »It sounded a bit strange. It didn’t really knock me out. I like the songs, but something about the production didn’t really grab me,« Mascis said. Nevertheless, the album was released on February 19, 1991 by Sire Records – and is the band’s first major release.

Im Vergleich zu den anderen Alben aus dieser Zeit behielt sich »Green Mind« eine Naivität im Sound. Da war Kraft und Druck, aber es fühlte sich nicht an, als ob sich da gewaltsam etwas seinen Weg bahnte.

The guitars on »Green Mind«, which is Dinosaur Jr’s fourth album, still come across exactly right today – especially on the remaster. Nothing is too mushy, and the sound is wonderfully contained. The outburst in »I Live For That Look« alone carries the solo perfectly at the close. »The Wagon« comes across as a typical number from the band, because despite all the noise and all the cranked up amps, it’s the harmonies and melodies that make the sound so unique and special. Then the tempo break and powerful drums (by Murph) follow before the guitar takes over again and shreds the song and everything vibrates dynamically.

Compared to the other albums from this time, »Green Mind« maintained a naivety in their sound. There was power and punch, but it didn’t feel like something was forcibly carving a path for itself. Rather, it was the laid back, the relaxed, which revealed itself even in the most hectic guitar solos. As far as Noise Rock can be relaxed. This made »Green Mind« more nuanced as an album that didn’t just have the typical Dinosaur Jr sound. J Mascis gave a first taste with »Flying Cloud« of what he would celebrate years later on his solo album.

In addition, J Mascis’ voice was and is one of the most unusual of its time, second only to Billy Corgan’s vocals. Every word slid over his lips as if he was reading directly from his dream diary.

A year after the release of »Green Mind«, Dinosaur Jr. went on tour – with Blur, My Bloody Valentine and The Jesus and Mary Chain. Artistically, Dinosaur Jr were right at the top of their game. Three more albums followed, but J Mascis remained the driving force and probably the main man behind them. Then the band officially broke up and by the end of the 90s Dinosaur Jr were history. Until their reunion in the mid-2000s. With Lou Barlow and Murph.

J Mascis himself once described the sound of »Green Mind« perfectly, funnily enough in that free Canadian paper at the beginning of the 90s. A yawn was followed by a long pause and the answer: »Easy listening.« And this is still true of Dinosaur Jr’s sound today. Just punctuated by crashing guitars.

»I picture things a certain way
Then go back to it another day
The green mind said it’s okay«

(Dinosaur Jr. – Green Mind)

Records Revisited: Dinosaur Jr – Green Mind (1991)

19.02.2021
Viele Rockbands nehmen zu Beginn der 1990er Jahre ihre bis dahin besten Alben auf. Auch Dinosaur Jr. Während die Band selbst bei den Aufnahmen bereits auseinanderbricht, strotzt ihr viertes Album »Green Mind« vor Kreativität.

J Mascis sei ein Mann der wenigen Worte – und der vielen Pausen, Seufzer und Gähner. So stand es kurz nach der Veröffentlichung von »Green Mind« in der kostenlosen kanadischen Zeitung The Georgia Straight. Das auf diese Einleitung folgende Interview mit Sänger und Gitarrist J Mascis bestätigte den Eindruck des Journalisten Steve Newton: Die Village Voice nannte Dinosaur Jr die beste neue Band in Amerika. J Mascis antwortete mit einer langen Pause. Hinweis Newton: Es stand sogar in der Biografie der Band. »Ich denke, das ist eine Weile her«, so Mascis. Ob es eine zutreffende Beschreibung sei? Mascis: »Nein. Wir sind auf dem Weg nach unten.« Was die Stimmung in der Band perfekt beschrieb. Wenn man Dinosaur Jr aus Amherst, Massachusetts, noch eine Band nennen wollte.

Im HHV Shop kaufen
Dinosaur Jr.
Green Mind
ab 18.99€

Dinosaur Jr. standen Anfang der 1990er Jahre als das nächste große Ding bereit. Ihr krachender Alternative Rock mit Slacker-Attitüde passte perfekt zu dieser Zeit. MTV, College und der ganze Kram. Mit ihrem zweiten Album »You’re Living All Over Me« fanden Dinosaur Jr. 1987 ihren Sound endgültig.
Dann kam »Bug«, die Platte nach der einen großen Platte. Es rumorte bereits zwischen J Mascis, Bassist Lou Barlow und Drummer Murph. Vor allem weil Mascis beim Rhythmus seine Vorstellung zu sehr durchdrücken wollte. Das Album wurde trotzdem ein Erfolg und von der Kritik gelobt. Doch nach der Tour zu dieser Platte war Schluss – und Lou Barlow verließ die Band oder die Band verließ Lou Barlow.

»Es schien so, als wollte er nicht mehr in der Band sein, aber nicht derjenige sein, der die Band verlässt, oder sowas«, sagte J Mascis vor zwei Jahren in einem Interview mit dem Rolling Stone. »Und ja, er hat nichts dazu beigetragen.« Und plötzlich stand Mascis allein da, als es die Aufnahmen zu »Green Mind« starteten. Gerade einmal auf drei Songs spielte Murph noch die Drums. Weil Mascis die Parts für Murph geschrieben hatte – und der aber keinen Bock auf die Proben dafür hatte. So zumindest die Aussage von Mascics.
Ansonsten ist »Green Mind« ein Kraftakt von J Mascis, der hier Gesang, Bass, Schlagzeug und die Gitarre übernahm – und das ganze Album noch produzierte. »Es hörte sich ein wenig merkwürdig an. Ich war nicht wirklich überwältigt davon. Ich mag die Songs, aber irgendwas an der Produktion haute mich nicht um«, so Mascis. Das Album erschien trotzdem am 19. Februar 1991 bei Sire Records – und ist der erste Major Release der Band.

Im Vergleich zu den anderen Alben aus dieser Zeit behielt sich »Green Mind« eine Naivität im Sound. Da war Kraft und Druck, aber es fühlte sich nicht an, als ob sich da gewaltsam etwas seinen Weg bahnte.

Die Gitarren auf »Green Mind«, dem somit vierten Album von Dinosaur Jr, kommen noch heute genau passend rüber – vor allem im Remaster. Nichts ist zu breiig, der Sound wunderbar eingefangen. Allein der Ausbruch in »I Live For That Look« trägt das Solo perfekt am Schluss. »The Wagon« kommt wie die typische Nummer der Band rüber, denn bei allem Krach und allen aufgedrehten Verstärkern sind es Harmonien und Melodien, die diesen Sound so einmalig und besonders machen. Dann folgen der Tempobruch und die kraftvollen Drums (von Murph), bevor die Gitarre wieder alles an sich reißt und den Song zersäbelt und alles vor Dynamik vibriert.

Im Vergleich zu den anderen Alben aus dieser Zeit behielt sich »Green Mind« eine Naivität im Sound. Da war Kraft und Druck, aber es fühlte sich nicht an, als ob sich da gewaltsam etwas seinen Weg bahnte. Vielmehr war es das Zurückgelehnte, das Entspannte, was sich selbst in den hektischsten Gitarrensoli zeigte. Swoeit sich bei Noise Rock eben Entspannung einstellen konnte. »Green Mind« bekam so mehr Schattierungen, wurde zu einem Album, das nicht nur den typischen Sound von Dinosaur Jr in sich trug. Mit »Flying Cloud« gab es einen ersten Vorgeschmack auf das, was J Mascis Jahre später auf seinen Solo-Album zelebrieren würde.
Außerdem gehörte und gehört J Mascis‘ Stimme gleich nach Billy Corgans Organ zu den gewöhnungsbedürftigsten ihrer Zeit. Jedes Wort rutschte ihm so über die Lippen, als würde er direkt aus seinem Traumtagebuch vorlesen.

Ein Jahr nach der Veröffentlichung von »Green Mind« ging es für Dinosaur Jr. übrigens auf Tour – mit Blur, My Bloody Valentine und The Jesus and Mary Chain. Künstlerisch standen Dinosaur Jr hier komplett auf der Höhe der Zeit. Es folgten noch drei weitere Alben, deren Antreiber und wohl Hauptverantwortlicher jedoch weiterhin J Mascis blieb. Dann löste sich die Band doch noch offiziell auf und Ende der 1990er Jahre waren Dinosaur Jr Geschichte. Bis dann Mitte der 2000er Jahre die Reunion kam. Mit Lou Barlow und Murph.

Den Sound von »Green Mind« beschrieb J Mascis selbst einmal perfekt. Ausgerechnet genau in jenem kostenlosen kanadischen Blättchen Anfang der Neunzigerjahre. Nach einem Gähner folgte eine lange Pause und die Antwort: »Easy listening.« Und für den Sound von Dinosaur Jr stimmt dies eigentlich bis heute. Nur eben untermalt von krachigen Gitarren.

»I picture things a certain way
Then go back to it another day
The green mind said it’s okay«

(Dinosaur Jr. – Green Mind)