Records Revisited: Godspeed You! Black Emperor – F♯A♯∞ (1997)

14.08.2022
The end of the world rolls over the listeners with the first LP »F♯A♯∞« of the Canadian band Godspeed You! Black Emperor. Drones, field recordings, overlong pieces with several parts make the atmosphere tremble. A breakthrough of post-rock, a swan song to the present. Why everything was different after this album.

There are few bands that defy description like Godspeed You! Black Emperor defy any description like this. Which starts with their name, where the exclamation mark has wandered over the years. Which continues with their aversion to the music industry and the press, although here and there interviews have appeared on the Internet, but their gain in knowledge is limited. Which ends with their beginning, which is now no longer the beginning.

Buy at HHV
Godspeed You Black Emperor
F-A-OO
from 23.99€

On August 14, 1997, Godspeed You! Black Emperor released with »F♯A♯∞« their first album. At first, hardly anyone was interested in it. Which was also because it was initially released only on vinyl. (At the end of the nineties, vinyl wasn’t the hottest medium.) In addition, the record was severely limited. The Canadian band sold it at their concerts. With only the modified (and longer) version on CD one year later the attention started. Reviews in major music magazines followed. The myth began.

Trapped in the Belly of this Horrible Machine

Godspeed You! Black Emperor transferred with »F♯A♯∞« the genre post-rock into a new sphere of sound. Because anger and dynamics carry their tracks. Because the band worked with epic and soulful parts in bigger structures. Because never again has an album summed up its own theme so perfectly as it does here in opener »The Dead Flag Blues«: »We’re trapped in the belly of this horrible machine and the machine is bleeding to death.« Welcome to the worst of all possible worlds – with a decent soundtrack. Charged with symbolism that was impossible to decipher.

Violins and guitars that could disassemble, refute, impose everything, really everything.

No album milled through the souls of its listeners with so much beauty. The band recorded part of the album in the four years before its release. Among them many of the looped stuff and material from the four-track recorder. And even if the band itself denied it: no one got through until then who now belonged to them and who did not. Sometimes they called themselves a collective, sometimes explicitly not. In the beginning the band consisted of three members, in the meantime there were fifteen, then again only nine musicians. The recording of the album itself took place at Hotel2Tango in Montreal in the spring of 1997 – Ian Ilavsky and Don Wilkie, who had just founded their independent label Constellation Records, were at the controls. »F♯A♯∞« became the third release on the label.

Trumpet of Revelation

A resurrection of music from the ruins of indie rock that had fallen asleep, an album that put emotion above perfection. On »F♯A♯∞« the first trombone of the revelation that Godspeed You! Black Emperor was to write out with all the albums that were yet to follow. Violins and guitars that could disassemble, refute, impose everything, really everything.

What the British director Danny Boyle saw similar. Someone recommended the album to him and right away he was thrilled by this music. So much so that he immediately put »East Hastings« on the soundtrack of his 2002 horror film »28 Days Later«. He told the British Sunday newspaper The Observer at the time about Godspeed You! Black Emperor: » Everybody goes on about The Polyphonic Spree, but these guys are the real thing, in terms of primal orchestral drive, really connecting modern culture with orchestral principles, building, leaving you in places you hadn’t been before.« In general, the whole album was an important inspiration for his film.

Hello? Hellooo? Blast!

Before the release of »F♯A♯∞« the band had released the tape »All Lights Fucked On The Hairy Amp Drooling« in 1994. Limited to 33 copies. It had nothing to do with their later sound, which is why they didn’t want to release it again, they said for a long time. Then a ripped version surfaced on an internet forum and the band responded: In February of this year, they released the tape themselves digitally. The only thing is that the later power that Godspeed You! Black Emperor has been until this day is totally missing.

In one of the not-so-rare interviews, a journalist from the British Guardian once asked the band if people were taking them too seriously. The answer of them: »Probably.« Those who descend with »F♯A♯∞« will see that differently for sure.

Records Revisited: Godspeed You! Black Emperor – F♯A♯∞ (1997)

14.08.2022
Das Ende der Welt rollt mit der ersten LP »F♯A♯∞« der kanadischen Band Godspeed You! Black Emperor über die Hörer hinweg. Drones, Field Recordings, überlange Stücke mit mehreren Teilen lassen die Atmosphäre beben. Ein Durchbruch des Post-Rock, ein Abgesang auf die Gegenwart. Warum nach diesem Album alles anders war.

Es gibt wenige Bands, die wie Godspeed You! Black Emperor sich jeglicher Beschreibung so entziehen. Was bei ihrem Namen anfängt, bei dem das Ausrufezeichen im Laufe der Jahre wanderte. Was bei ihrer Abneigung gegenüber Musikindustrie und Presse weitergeht, obwohl hier wie da Interviews im Internet erschienen, deren Erkenntnisgewinn sich jedoch in Grenzen hält. Was bei ihrem Anfang endet, der nun gar kein Anfang mehr ist.

Im HHV Shop kaufen
Godspeed You Black Emperor
F-A-OO
ab 23.99€

Am 14. August 1997 veröffentlichten Godspeed You! Black Emperor mit »F♯A♯∞« ihr erstes Album. Anfangs interessierte sich kaum jemand dafür. Was auch daran lag, dass es zunächst »nur« auf Vinyl erschien. (Ende der Neunziger sind Schallplatten nicht das angesagteste Medium.) Dazu war die Platte stark limitiert. Die kanadische Band verkaufte sie vor allem auf ihren Konzerten. Erst mit der veränderten (und längeren) Variante auf CD ein Jahr später setzte die Aufmerksamkeit ein. Reviews in größeren Musikmagazinen folgten. Der Mythos begann.

Trapped in the Belly of this Horrible Machine

Godspeed You! Black Emperor überführten mit »F♯A♯∞« das Genre Post-Rock in einen neuen Klang. Weil Wut und Dynamik diesen neuen Sound trugen. Weil die Band mit epischen und gefühlvollen Stellen in großen Strukturen arbeitete. Weil vielleicht nie wieder ein Album sein eigenes Thema so auf den Punkt wie hier im Opener »The Dead Flag Blues« brachte: »We’re trapped in the belly of this horrible machine and the machine is bleeding to death.« Willkommen in der schlechtesten aller möglichen Welten – immerhin mit anständigem Soundtrack. Aufgeladen mit einer Symbolik, die sich nicht entschlüsseln ließ.

Geigen und Gitarren, die alles, wirklich alles, zerlegen, widerlegen, auferlegen konnten.

Kein Album fräste sich mit so viel Schönheit durch die Seelen seiner Hörer. Einen Teil des Albums nahm die Band bereits in den vier Jahren vor Release auf. Darunter viele der geloopten Sachen und Material aus dem Mehrspurrekorder. Und auch wenn die Band es selbst bestritt: Niemand stieg bis dahin durch, wer nun zu ihr gehörte und wer nicht. Mal bezeichneten sie sich als Kollektiv, mal explizit nicht. Anfangs bestand die Band aus drei Mitgliedern, zwischenzeitlich sind es fünfzehn, dann wieder nur neun Musiker. Die Aufnahmen zum Album selbst fanden im Hotel2Tango in Montréal im Frühjahr 1997 statt – an den Reglern saßen Ian Ilavsky und Don Wilkie, die gerade ihr eigenes Label gründeten, Constellation Records. »F♯A♯∞« wurde dessen dritte Veröffentlichung.

Posaune der Offenbarung

Eine Auferstehung der Musik aus den Trümmern der eingeschlafenen Rockmusik, ein Album, das Emotionen über Perfektion stellte. Auf »F♯A♯∞« ließ sich die erste Posaune jener Offenbarung vernehmen, die Godspeed You! Black Emperor mit allen noch folgenden Alben ausschreiben sollten. Geigen und Gitarren, die alles, wirklich alles, zerlegen, widerlegen, auferlegen konnten.

Reviews zum Künstler

Was der britische Regisseur Danny Boyle ähnlich sah. Jemand empfahl ihm das Album und auf Anhieb begeisterte ihn diese Musik. So sehr, dass er »East Hastings« gleich in den Soundtrack seines Horrorfilms »28 Days Later« von 2002 einbaute. Der britischen Sonntagszeitung The Observer sagte er damals über Godspeed You! Black Emperor: »Jeder schwärmt von The Polyphonic Spree, aber diese Jungs sind das einzig Wahre, wenn es um den ursprünglichen orchestralen Drive geht, der wirklich moderne Kultur mit orchestralen Prinzipien verbindet, sich aufbaut und einen an Orten zurücklässt, an denen man noch nie zuvor gewesen ist.« Überhaupt sei das ganze Album eine wichtige Inspiration für diesen Film.

Hallo? Hallo? Wucht!

Vor der Veröffentlichung von »F♯A♯∞« hatte die Band das Tape »All Lights Fucked On The Hairy Amp Drooling« 1994 herausgebracht. Limitiert auf 33 Stück. Es habe mit ihrem späteren Sound nichts zu tun, weswegen sie es nicht nochmal veröffentlichen wollen, hieß es lange. Dann tauchte eine gerippte Version in einem Internetforum auf und die Band reagierte: Im Februar dieses Jahres erschien das Tape digital. Nur klingt auf den Stücken an keiner Stelle die spätere Wucht durch, die Godspeed You! Black Emperor bis heute ausmacht.

In einem der nicht mehr so seltenen Interviews fragte eine Journalistin des britischen Guardian die Band einmal, ob die Leute sie zu ernst nehmen würden. Die Antwort: »Wahrscheinlich.« Wer mit » F♯A♯∞« hinabsteigt, wird dies anders sehen.