Radio Martiko – Obscure Greek music reissued

Two new releases with obscure Greek music from the 1960s and 1970s will be reissued these days via Radio Martiko: a compilation with Laika music and a collection with music by Tassos Chalkias.

Among the many labels that make forgotten or simply unknown records from faraway places and bygone times available to us month by month, the Belgian label Radio Martiko is one of the more adventurous ones. In the past they have attracted attention with synthesizer music from Morocco or Latin jazz from Congo. Now they have announced two records of obscure Greek music from the 1960s and 1970s. And again, it’s outstanding music that no one outside the Aegean is likely to have ever heard. But like the phoenix rising from the ashes (yes, the phoenix is the national bird of Greece, that is what the eagle is in Germany), there is also a rebirth for this music. A whole 20 songs can be found on the compilation »Ena Tefariki / Oriental Shake, Farfisa Madness & Rocking Bouzoukis From The Greek Laika Movement (1961-1973)«, which alone encompasses a fairly broad spectrum of wacky Greek ensemble music. The second record, »Divine Reeds / Obscure Recordings From Special Music Recording Company (Athens 1966-1967),« then collects music by clarinetist Tassos Chalkias (the photo shows him with his band). This music, called »Epirotika« in reference to the folk music from Epirus, is a mixture of psychedelic folk and jazz.


  • A1 Vassilis Vassiliadis – Tsiftetelli 1969
  • A2 Stelios Kazantzidis & Litsa Diamandi – Den Sou Eleipe Tipota (You Had It All)
  • A3 Stratos Dionisiou – Allaxe Koritsi Mou Myalo (Change Your Mind Girl!)
  • A4 Vassilis Vassiliadis/Dimitris Xanthakis & Litsa Diamandi – Goodbye
  • A5 Michalis Menidiatis – Ena Tefariki
  • B1 Panagiotis Michalopoulos – Anastenazo Kaigontai (I Sigh Everything Is Burning)
  • B2 Podromos Tsaousakis & Litsa Diamandi – Ti Thes Kai Pas Stis Magises (Why Do You Visit The Witches)
  • B3 Katy Grey – Dos Mou Tin Kardia Mou Piso (Give Me Back My Heart)
  • B4 Vangelis Perpiniadis & Ria Norma – Naxera Pios Pire Ti Chara Mou (I Wish I Knew Who Stole My Happiness)
  • B5 Ria Norma & Vangelis Perpiniadis – Konta Mou Irthes Pali (You Have Returned To Me)
  • C1 Stratos Dionisiou – Tsiftetelli Pechnidiariko (Flirting Belly Dance)
  • C2 Vangelis Perpiniadis – Ego Den Eimai San Tous Beatles (I’m Not Like The Beatles)
  • C3 Manos Papadakis/Babis Tsetinis & Litsa Diamandi – Mavros Kapnos (Black Smoke)
  • C4 Vassilis Vassiliadis– Solo Tsiftetelli ’72
  • C5 Charoula Lambraki & Vassilis Tsitsanis – Andra Mou Paraponiari (Man, You Grumble Too Much)
  • D1 Panos Gavalas & Sofia Kollitiri – Tha Fygo Kai Tha Me Zitas (I Will Leave & You Will Search For Me)
  • D2 Sofia Kollitiri – Ego Pono Ki Esy Gelas (I Suffer While You’re Having A Good Time)
  • D3 Charoula Lambraki & Theodoros Sinaidis – Kai Na Fygis Tha Gyrisis (You Will Come Back)
  • D4 Giota Lydia – Nacha Ekato Kardies (I Wish I Had 100 Hearts)
  • D5 Stelios Kazantzidis & Litsa Diamandi – Efige Efige (She Left She Left)

  • A1 Palia Itia (Old Willow Tree)
  • A2 Echasa Ton Anthropo Mou (I Lost My Loved One)
  • A3 Ta Goumara Ki Apidia (Berries & Pears)
  • A4 I Efchi Tou Xenitemenou (Immigrant’s Wish)
  • A5 Miroloi Tis Xenitias (Lament For The Missing Ones)
  • B1 Dirminitsa (The Bride’s Dance)
  • B2 Argyrokastritikos Choros Syngathistos (Argyrokast Ron Dance)
  • B3 Pitsirika Katergara (Femme Fatale)
  • B4 Gi Ayta Ta Erima Lefta (For The Sake Of The Damned Money)
  • B5 Delvino Kai Tsamouria (Delvino & Tsamouria)

The compilation »Ena Tefariki / Oriental Shake, Farfisa Madness & Rocking Bouzoukis From The Greek Laika Movement (1961-1973)« and »Divine Reeds / Obscure Recordings From Special Music Recording Company (Athens 1966-1967)« by Tassos Chalkias are released February 5th, 2021 via Radio Martiko.