Label Watch: Alien Transistor

11.08.2022
Alien Transistor 2022 (Label Watch)
The Notwist are one of the best known and most exciting German indie bands. The two brothers Markus and Micha Acher not only play in this band, but also founded the label Alien Transistor almost twenty years ago. A universe of unusual and special music spreads out with the releases from there – and has long since exceeded its own boundaries.

The story of the Alien Transistor label is the dream of every music lover. Just make records that you like yourself! That’s how Markus and Micha Acher approached it almost twenty years ago. And exactly, it is those two brothers who, with The Notwist, put the Bavarian Weilheim on the international map of adult indie pop at the turn of the millennium.

Which was not the worst condition for their own label: »It offered itself because a friend of ours, Saam, had solo recordings that we found totally ingenious,« says Markus Acher. At the time, the Turkish-born Saam Schlamminger played along for the sessions of The Notwist’s album »Neon Golden« and was an important part of the recordings. »That was the reason for us to make our plan concrete and start with his stuff.« Out came Saam’s self-titled album under the name Chronomad. »And so it went on with stuff that came from our immediate environment – or from ourselves,« says Acher.

Thinking outside the box

In the beginning, everything was open, although The Notwist released perhaps one of the most important albums from Germany with just »Neon Golden«. »Maybe that had a little effect on the Alien Transistor releases,« says the 55-year-old. But in the end, according to Acher, it was about something else: »The Notwist is ultimately just one part of a big universe of all kinds of people. And that’s where we’re taking it from, and that’s how the label is meant to be.«

The Notwist is ultimately just one part of a big universe of all kinds of people. And that’s where we’re taking it from, and that’s how the label is meant to be.« (Markus Acher)

For quite a while, Alien Transistor focused on its immediate environment, on its own stuff or on friends’ material. For example, the joint project 13&God with artists from the US label Anticon is released. »But at some point, which wasn’t as interesting to me personally«, Acher says. The label orientates itself more outward, becomes more international. Contacts outside their own environment approach them specifically about releasing something on Alien Transistor. »That’s when everything picked up speed again and became extremely interesting.«

So working on the label brings inspiration, friendships, and contacts – which at least made traveling in the head possible during the Corona months. »That was great, and I wouldn’t want to miss that.« In general, the label has developed well in recent times with all the releases that have just appeared or are yet to appear.

One thing led to another

Vinyl was always »somehow already« the main medium for Alien Transistor but has become even more so through the last time. The latest releases are accordingly no longer available on CD, but only as LP or download.

Alien Transistor was born in the times of Napster and other file sharing platforms, which were not the best years for labels. And today? People listen to most of their music through streaming providers. Not easy for the music industry. However, according to Acher, the creators of Alien Transistor never dealt with it that intensely. »For us, basically, not much has changed.« The label is more of a hobby. »We do it because we feel like it. But we design it to be self-sustaining«

Buy at HHV

Just how, specifically, do artists come to Alien Transistor? The paths seem straightforward. »With the ones I didn’t have direct contact with before, that’s how it worked out,« Acher says. »With Jam Money, I ordered the record and started communicating with Mat Fowler because he knew our stuff. At some point I asked if they wanted to release something with us.« In the case of the Japanese band Tenniscoats, contact was made through a label friend from that country. The opportunity for licensing was there, and that’s how things got rolling. The formula usually sounds like this with Acher: One thing led to another. Sometimes stories can be that simple.

Label Watch: Alien Transistor

11.08.2022
Alien Transistor 2022 (Label Watch)
The Notwist gehören zu den bekanntesten und spannendsten deutschen Indie-Bands. Die beiden Brüder Markus und Micha Acher spielen aber nicht nur in eben jener Band, sondern gründeten vor knapp zwanzig Jahren das Label Alien Transistor. Ein Universum aus ungewöhnlicher und besonderer Musik breitet sich mit den Veröffentlichungen von dort aus – und hat längst die eigenen Grenzen überschritten.

Die Geschichte des Labels Alien Transistor ist der Traum jedes Musikliebhabers. Einfach Platten machen, die einem selbst gefallen! So gingen es Markus und Micha Acher vor knapp zwanzig Jahren an. Und genau, es sind jene beiden Brüder, die mit The Notwist das bayerische Weilheim auf die internationale Karte des erwachsenen Indie-Pop um die Jahrtausendwende brachten.

Was nicht die schlechteste Voraussetzung für das eigene Label war: »Es hat sich angeboten, weil ein Freund von uns, der Saam, hatte Solo-Aufnahmen, die wir genial fanden«, sagt Markus Acher. Der in der Türkei geborene Saam Schlamminger spielte damals für die Sessions des Albums »Neon Golden« von The Notwist mit und war ein wichtiger Bestandteil der Aufnahmen. »Das war für uns der Anlass, unseren Plan konkret umzusetzen und mit seinen Sachen anzufangen.« Herauskam das selbstbetitelte Album von Saam unter dem Namen Chronomad. »Und so ging es dann weiter mit Sachen, die aus unserem direkten Umfeld kamen – oder von uns selbst«, so Acher.

Über den Tellerrand schauen

Am Anfang war alles offen, obwohl The Notwist mit eben »Neon Golden« eines der vielleicht wichtigsten Alben aus Deutschland veröffentlichten. »Das hat vielleicht ein wenig auf die Veröffentlichungen bei Alien Transistor abgestrahlt«, sagt der 55-Jährige. Aber im Endeffekt ging es laut Acher noch um etwas anderes: »The Notwist ist ja letztlich nur ein Teil von einem großen Universum aus allen möglichen Leuten. Und da holen wir uns das her und so ist das Label auch gedacht.«

»The Notwist ist ja letztlich nur ein Teil von einem großen Universum aus allen möglichen Leuten. Und da holen wir uns das her und so ist das Label auch gedacht.« (Markus Acher)

Eine ganze Weile richtet sich Alien Transistor auf das direkte Umfeld aus, auf eigene Sachen oder auf das Material von Freunden. Es erscheint zum Beispiel das gemeinsame Projekt 13& God mit Künstlern des US-Labels Anticon.  »Aber irgendwann war das für mich persönlich nicht mehr so interessant«, sagt Acher. Das Label orientiert sich stärker nach außen, wird internationaler. Kontakte außerhalb des eigenen Umfelds sprechen sie konkret an, ob sie nicht auf Alien Transistor was veröffentlichen mögen. »Da hat alles nochmal Fahrt aufgenommen und wurde interessant.«

So bringt die Arbeit am Label Inspiration, Freundschaften und Kontakte – was während der Corona-Monate zumindest Reisen im Kopf möglich machte. »Das war sehr toll und das möchte ich nicht missen.« Überhaupt hat sich das Label in der letzten Zeit gut entwickelt mit all den Veröffentlichungen, die gerade erschienen oder noch erscheinen.

Eins kam zum anderen

Die Schallplatte war bei Alien Transistor zwar stets »irgendwie schon« Hauptmedium, ist es durch die letzte Zeit aber noch mehr geworden. Die letzten Veröffentlichungen gibt es entsprechend nicht mehr auf CD, sondern nur noch als LP oder Download.

Alien Transistor entstand in den Zeiten von Napster und anderen Filesharing-Plattformen, was nicht die besten Jahre für Labels waren. Und heute? Hören die Menschen den Großteil ihrer Musik über Streaming-Anbieter. Nicht einfach für die Musikwirtschaft. Allerdings beschäftigten sich die Macher von Alien Transistor laut Acher nie so intensiv damit. »Für uns hat sich im Grunde nicht viel verändert.« Das Label ist mehr Hobby. »Wir machen das, weil wir Lust dazu haben. Aber wir konzipieren es so, dass es sich trägt.«

Im HHV Shop kaufen

Nur wie kommen Künstler konkret zu Alien Transistor? Die Wege scheinen unkompliziert. »Bei denen, mit denen ich vorher nicht direkt Kontakt hatte, hat sich das so ergeben«, sagt Acher. »Bei Jam Money habe ich die Platte bestellt und mit dem Mat Fowler angefangen zu kommunizieren, weil der unsere Sachen kannte. Irgendwann habe ich gefragt, ob sie bei uns was veröffentlichen wollen.« Bei der japanischen Band Tenniscoats kam der Kontakt über ein befreundetes Label aus dem Land zustande. Die Gelegenheit für eine Lizenzierung war da und so kam es ins Rollen. Die Formel hört sich bei Acher meist so an: Eins kam zum anderen. Manchmal können Geschichten ebenso einfach sein.