Records Revisited: µ-Ziq – Lunatic Harness (1997)

30.06.2022
µ-Ziq - Lunatic Harness (Records Revisited)

The story of Mike Paradinas is that of a musician who has always taken his cue from others to create something completely his own. Behind the last almost 30 years of his musical creation under a dozen pseudonyms3 appear obvious names like Aphex Twin, Squarepusher, Luke Vibert, Björk and Venetian Snares, but sometimes also unexpected ones like the Spice Girls and Blur (we’ll get to that).

Buy at HHV
µ-Ziq
Lunatic Harness 25th Anniversary Black Vinyl Edition
from 99.99€

The amazing and incomprehensible thing remains that his music is among the most original that has emerged in all the decades of electronic music. Especially under his most famous artist name µ-Ziq, Paradinas has managed to create his own trademark sound that no one has ever really achieved. And this despite the fact that Mike Paradinas declares himself as someone who often starts working on a track by creating a cover version of someone else’s track, as he recently revealed in an interview with Miranda Remington for The Quietus.

In the Shadows of Others

As an example, for the album »Lunatic Harness«, which was released in 1997, he drew on the title »Secret Stair #1«, whose seed, according to his memory, lies in Blur’s »Beetlebum«. A more obvious would be »Wannabe«, which µ-Ziq nonchalantly snatched from the Spice Girls. Obviously, there is no sign of close familiarity after the µ-Ziq treatment in either case. While »Secret Stair #1« goes completely its own way with wallowing melodies and late-emerging amen breaks, »Wannabe« becomes a creepy stalker song for dangerous night walks through testosterone-infested back alleys.

If you believe Mike Paradinas, the entire album is actually a rip-off. Shortly after its release, Paradinas already dissed himself in an interview with Jason Gross, apologizing for not working harder on it. In his opinion »Lunatic Harness« was just a derivative of Aphex Twin’s »Richard D. James Album«.

Sure, »Lunatic Harness« has a long history of influences, and Aphex Twin cannot be completely ignored. Paradinas not only shared a friendship with him. His first two albums »Tango N’ Vectif« and »Bluff Limbo« were released on Aphex’ label Rephlex Records. Moreover, Mike Paradinas can pride himself on being the only one so far, whose album-length collaboration with Aphex Twin actually saw the light of day (Mike & Rich »Expert Knob Twiddlers«, 1996). But let’s face it, who in electronic music and modern pop music today isn’t somehow influenced by Aphex Twin’s 1990s output? There’s nothing to be ashamed of, really.

Welcome to the Jungle

The most important influences on “Lunatic Harness” come from a phenomenon bigger than both, anyway. »Jungle was probably the most exciting change in British music in the last 50 years«, Paradinas recalled in an interview4 I did with him in 2003. »Much more than punk. I was always looking for something like Jungle. It was just never there. When it did appear I was going out to all the shops in London which would pop up out of nowhere in the basement and spent a day with all these 12-inches and finding the most mental one.«


»Jungle was probably the most exciting change in British music in the last 50 years.« (Mike Paradinas)

In the 1990s, Jungle set a point in music history with its very British blend of dub, reggae, dancehall, hip-hop and funk, as well as its unusual roughness, speed and devastating sub-bass, whose continuum reverberates to this day through a variety of permutations such as drum & bass, ragga, grime, dubstep and bass music. Most influential for “Lunatic Harness” were – besides Aphex Twin and Squarepusher – the releases of the label Suburban Base Records. »I was buying all the Suburban Base 12 inches I could at that time. I was very much inspired by D’Cruze’s album “Control”. There are a lot of things I copied from the album, just little breakbeat tricks. Him and Remarc«.

The Union of Alien Worlds

Just as the song “Secret Stair #1” no longer has anything to do with the inspirational »Beetlebum,« the various sources of the entire album “Lunatic Harness” are difficult to trace (for outsiders). Even the Jungle continuum has taken on a form entirely its own. Breakbeat structures, cut-up techniques and samples may be recognizable. But Paradinas injected his trademark into this foundation: melodies and shapeshifting. And lots of them.

Already his µ-Ziq predecessor albums on Rephlex and Hi-Rise Rec. were always a journey through lush textures, blooming fields of melodies and constantly changing soundscapes. Paradinas rarely had any interest in monotony, neither at album length nor at track level. More importantly, Paradinas was one of the very few electronic musicians who managed to interweave vast amounts of melodies without it seeming kitsch or overloaded. Even the most childish and ridiculous melodies found their right place in his songs.

Alas, it was also the melodies that made »Lunatic Harness« a late album in the Jungle continuum. By 1997, the phase was long over. »Well, I was really bad with Jungle. It was just a bass and the cut-up. Mixing it up with these melodies didn’t make sense at all.« Luckily, between 1995 and 1996, he somehow managed to make it work. And created an album with »Lunatic Harness« that even after 25 years is still original, beautiful, playful, mental, and multi-colored. It is not Jungle as we know it but carries the energy and excitement of the time.


1 µ-Ziq, Jake Slazenger, Tusken Raiders, Gary Moscheles, Kid Spatula, Frost Jockey, Rude Ass Tinker, Chris Morrison, A Plaid Tusk, Slag Boom Van Loon (mit Speedy J), Mike & Rich (mit Aphex Twin), Heterotic (mit Memo Comma), Short Circuit (mit Caspar Cox)

4 All direct quotes are from the 2003 interview and are published here for the first time.

Records Revisited: µ-Ziq – Lunatic Harness (1997)

30.06.2022
µ-Ziq - Lunatic Harness (Records Revisited)
Mit seinem vierten Album als µ-Ziq betrat Mike Paradinas das britische Jungle-Kontinuum und erschuf eines der abgefahrensten und eigenständigsten Alben der elektronischen Musik in den 1990er Jahren.

Die Geschichte von Mike Paradinas ist die eines Musikers, der sich stets an anderen orientiert hat, um daraus etwas komplett Eigenes zu machen. Hinter den letzten knapp 30 Jahre seines Musikschaffens unter einem Dutzend Pseudonymen1 stehen offensichtliche Leitfiguren wie Aphex Twin, Squarepusher, Luke Vibert, Björk und Venetian Snares, aber auch etwas unerwartete wie die Spice Girls und Blur (dazu kommen wir noch).

Im HHV Shop kaufen
µ-Ziq
Lunatic Harness 25th Anniversary Black Vinyl Edition
ab 99.99€

Das erstaunliche und unbegreifliche daran bleibt, dass seine Musik zum eigenständigsten gehört, das in all den Jahrzehnten elektronischer Musik entstanden ist. Insbesondere unter seinem bekanntesten Künstlernamen µ-Ziq hat Paradinas es geschafft, einen eigenen Trademark-Sound zu schaffen, den bislang niemand wirklich erreicht hat. Und das, obwohl sich Mike Paradinas als jemand erklärt, der die Arbeit an einem Track oftmals mit einer Coverversion eines fremden Tracks beginnt, wie er jüngst im Interview mit Miranda Remington für The Quietus verriet.

Im Schatten der anderen

Als Beispiel für das 1997 erschienene Album »Lunatic Harness« zog er den Titel »Secret Stair #1« heran, dessen Keimzelle seiner Erinnerung nach in Blurs »Beetlebum« steckt. Ein wenig offensichtlicher ist »Wannabe«, das µ-Ziq nonchalant den Spice Girls entriss. Von Coverversionen ist nach der µ-Ziq-Behandlung in beiden Fällen jedoch nichts zu spüren. Während »Secret Stair #1« mit schwelgenden Melodien und spät einsetzenden Amen Breaks komplett eigene Wege beschreitet, wird »Wannabe« zu einem creepy Stalker-Song für gefährliche Nachtwanderungen durch testosteron-verseuchte Hintergassen.

Glaubt man Mike Paradinas, ist das gesamte Album eigentlich ein Abklatsch. Bereits kurz nach dem Erscheinen zerlegte sich Paradinas im Interview mit Jason Gross selbst und entschuldigte sich dafür, nicht härter daran gearbeitet zu haben. Seiner Meinung nach sei »Lunatic Harness« nur ein Derivat von Aphex Twins »Richard D. James Album«.

Sicher, »Lunatic Harness« hat eine lange Vorgeschichte an Einflüssen. Und Aphex Twin ist da nicht ganz weg zu diskutieren. Mit ihm verband Paradinas nicht nur eine Freundschaft. Seine ersten beiden Alben »Tango N’ Vectif« und »Bluff Limbo« erschienen auf Rephlex Records. Und Mike Paradinas kann sich rühmen, der bislang einzige zu sein, dessen Kollaboration mit Aphex Twin auf Albumlänge auch wirklich das Licht der Welt erblickte (Mike & Rich »Expert Knob Twiddlers«, 1996). Aber mal ehrlich, wer in der elektronischen Musik und modernen Popmusik ist heutzutage nicht irgendwie beeinflusst von Aphex Twins Schaffen der 1990er Jahre? Verwerflich ist das nicht.

Welcome to the Jungle

Die wichtigsten Einflüsse auf »Lunatic Harness« stammen ohnehin aus einem Phänomen, das größer ist als beide. »Jungle war vermutlich die spannendste Veränderung in der britischen Musik seit 50 Jahren«, erinnerte sich Mike Paradinas in einem Interview, das ich 2003 mit ihm führte2. »Mehr noch als Punk. Ich habe immer nach so etwas wie Jungle gesucht. Es war nur nie da. Und als es auftauchte, hing ich den ganzen Tag in den Shops in London, die irgendwo in den Kellern aufpoppten und hörte all diese 12-inches, um die verrückteste von allen zu finden«.

»Jungle war vermutlich die spannendste Veränderung in der britischen Musik seit 50 Jahren.« (Mike Paradinas)

Jungle setzte in den Neunzigern mit seiner sehr britischen Mischung aus Dub, Reggae, Dancehall, Hip-Hop und Funk sowie seiner ungewohnten Härte, Schnelligkeit und Subbass-Fokussierung einen Punkt in der Musikgeschichte, dessen Kontinuum bis heute durch eine Vielzahl von Permutationen wie Drum & Bass, Ragga, Grime, Dubstep und Bass Music nachhallt. Für »Lunatic Harness« stilprägend waren neben Aphex Twin und Squarepusher vor allem die Veröffentlichungen des Labels Suburban Base Records. »Ich kaufte damals alle Suburban Base 12-inches, die ich kriegen konnte. Vor allem hat mich das Album ›Control‹ von D’Cruze inspiriert. Ich habe eine Menge Dinge kopiert – kleine Tricks, die Breakbeats zu zerschneiden. Er und Remarc«.

Die Vermählung fremder Welten

So, wie der Song »Secret Stair #1« nichts mehr mit seiner Inspirationsquelle »Beetlebum« zu tun hat, sind auch für das gesamte Album »Lunatic Harness« die verschiedenen Quellen (für Außenstehende) nur noch schwer nachvollziehbar. Selbst das Jungle-Kontinuum hat eine gänzlich eigene Form angenommen. Breakstrukturen, Cut-Up-Techniken und Samples mögen sich wiedererkennen lassen. Doch Paradinas injizierte in dieses Fundament seinen Trademark: Melodien und Formwandlungen. Und zwar Unmengen davon.

Schon seine µ-Ziq Vorgängeralben auf Rephlex und Hi-Rise Rec. waren stets eine Reise durch üppige Texturen, blühende Melodiewiesen und sich stetig wandelnde Klanglandschaften. Paradinas hatte selten Interesse an Eintönigkeit, weder auf Albumlänge noch auf Trackebene. Und Paradinas gehörte zu den sehr wenigen elektronischen Musiker*innen, die es schaffen, Unmengen von Melodien ineinander zu verschachteln, ohne dass es kitschig oder überfrachtet wirkt. Selbst die kindischsten und unsinnigsten Melodien fanden in seinen Songs ihren passenden Platz.

Reviews zum Künstler

Die Melodien waren es auch, die »Lunatic Harness« zu einem späten Album im Jungle-Kontinuum machten. 1997 war die Phase eigentlich längst vorbei. »Naja, ich war ziemlich schlecht mit Jungle. Es war nur ein Bass und der Cut-Up. Das mit lauter Melodien zu mixen, ergab einfach keinen Sinn.« Glücklicherweise hat er es zwischen 1995 und 1996 dann irgendwie doch geschafft. Und mit »Lunatic Harness« ein einmaliges und auch nach 25 Jahren immer noch wunderschönes, verspieltes, verrücktes und abwechslungsreiches Album geschaffen, das nicht Jungle per se ist, aber die Energie, Aufgeregtheit und Spannung der Zeit in sich trägt.


1 µ-Ziq, Jake Slazenger, Tusken Raiders, Gary Moscheles, Kid Spatula, Frost Jockey, Rude Ass Tinker, Chris Morrison, A Plaid Tusk, Slag Boom Van Loon (mit Speedy J), Mike & Rich (mit Aphex Twin), Heterotic (mit Memo Comma), Short Circuit (mit Caspar Cox)

2 Alle direkten Zitate entstammen dem Interview von 2003 und werden hier erstmals verwendet.