Records Revisited: Bright Eyes – LIFTED or the Story Is in the Soil, Keep Your Ear to the Ground (2002)

25.11.2022
»LIFTED« was Bright Eyes’ breakthrough album. Conor Oberst summed up the inertia of an entire generation facing cancelled futures and messianic promises. It’s an album full of post-apocalyptic insights.

Conor Oberst was in the studio with his band Desaparecidos when the 20th century came to an end in the USA on September 11. The group’s debut album »Read Music/Speak Spanish« was a raging, furious dissection of US ideology and its consequences. In the chaos following the attack on the World Trade Center, it was shelved for a while due to somehow being too contemporary, putting its finger too deeply into the fresh wound. Two months later, however, Oberst went back into the studio to revive his Bright Eyes project with Mike Mogis and a revolving carousel of guest musicians from the Nebraska scene. »Lifted or The Story Is in the Soil, Keep Your Ear to the Ground« was released in August 2002 and was to mark their final breakthrough as a band because it did not put external circumstances to the test, but explored by speaking of the inner life of Oberst’s generation.

Buy at HHV
Bright Eyes
Lifted Or The Story Is The Soil, Keep Your Ear To The Ground
from 29.99€

When »Lifted« was released, Oberst was 22 years old and had already been in the business for ten years, having played in about a dozen bands. He had founded Bright Eyes as a teenager in the basement of his parents’ house and constantly expanded the band’s personnel and instrumentation for his recordings, incorporating electronic elements and even quotes from classical music into his music. At the centre, however, was an approach to folk music that was indebted to Bob Dylan as much as it combined the sensitivity of Nick Drake and the down-to-earth rawness of Neil Young with the eccentricity of Daniel Johnston. Bitter and cold like The Cure in their darkest moments, at times explosive like the grunge generation, desolate like many other bands on the roster of his Saddle Creek label or self-indulgent like the third wave of emo bands with whose representatives Oberst shared the stage as part of Desaparecidos, it also built bridges to various moody strains of 1980s and 90s rock music.

An abysmal and broken person, a pretty swell dude

Oberst satirised this himself, but the stigma of the sniveller stuck to him—which in turn worked to his career’s advantage. The skinny guy with the dishevelled hair had charisma and struck a chord with the times because he represented a new type of rock star based on a more complex image of masculinity than that of the grunge generation: Hyper-intimate and yet completely permeable, self-reflective and self-destructive, eloquent and vulgar, desperate and pissed off, self-taught and a jack-of-all-trades, a brooding genius and tireless team player. An abysmal and broken person, a pretty swell dude. The kind of person who said »I« often in his songs but did not necessarily talk about himself, which is why he gave many the feeling that he spoke for them. Who had understood that the problem was not that no one wanted to believe any more, but that instead everyone wondered why they should believe in anything at all.

Oberst was, in short, the ideal identification figure for a western, suburban generation for whom the post-pubescent hangover set in after the end of the 1990s. On »Sunrise, Sunset« from his 2000 album »Fevers and Mirrors,« he asked what was on everyone’s mind: »You’re manic or you’re depressed / Will you ever feel okay?«

After the Apocalypse

Almost a year after 9/11, »Lifted« did not answer such broad questions about the meaning and purpose of life. Instead, however, it gave its audience the feeling that they needed to be asked even more urgently than before. »The picture’s far too big to look at, kid / Your eyes won’t open wide enough / And you’re constantly surrounded / By the swirling stream of what is and what was,« are the first lines sung by Oberst, easily the most concise paraphrase of the CNN and DSL generation’s experience of the world at that time. But »The Big Picture« is first and foremost a reckoning with their parents’ generation, which had robbed them of their perspectives. After all, the word »lifted« in the album title, which also appears in the last line of the track that so abruptly ends after almost nine minutes, can be interpreted as »stolen,« depending on the context. At the same time however, the term also derives from Christian literature, the biblical promise of the rapture—the process of being »lifted« into the kingdom of heaven.

These themes are reflected in the musical structure of those pieces, between three and a half and ten minutes long, which turn in circles like classic folk songs and yet somehow move forward thanks to Oberst’s lyrics. This coexistence of crushing stasis and uplifting hope is effective above all because it is brilliantly staged. Oberst had always written simple songs arranged in complex ways, and on »Lifted« reached his creative peak for the first time. Now and then the sound swells as powerfully as in the music of the Constellation bands, who expressed a very similar atmosphere at the same time with different means. Then again it is as simple and naked as the music of Elliott Smith or Songs: Ohia. Variety-like sounds, pub music actually, close to the carnivalesque, found their way into the music of Bright Eyes and in between, nods to country music already hint at Oberst’s musical future. Through clever arrangements and Mogis’ detailed, air-tight production, Oberst and his studio colleagues built mini-operettas that exist on their own and yet only really make sense in combination.

He distances himself from the notion of him as a preacher or prophet, hammers home the point that he is just as clueless as everyone else.

»LIFTED« opens up a field of tension between appearances and the real, the legacies of the past and messianic promises, a panorama after the apocalypse in the double sense of that word: after the end of a world and the revelation that it had been built on sand. In almost every one of the 13 pieces, this zero-hour feeling is being expressed by Oberst mentioning the future—or at least how it seems to be blocked for all those lyrical doppelgängers and characters. The slogan »No Future« is being reformulated as a question: »What Future?« is the unspoken refrain of this album. Salvation is repeatedly referred to in the argot of Christian eschatology and yet being questioned at the same time. »No, I don’t look back because the road is clear / And laid out ahead of me,« it says in one song, and »Working on the record seems pointless now / When the world ends, who’s gonna hear it?« in the very next one. This is also part of a gesture that Oberst repeatedly makes on the album, whether explicitly or implicitly: He distances himself from the notion of him as a preacher or prophet, hammers home the point that he is just as clueless as everyone else. By shifting to the supposedly personal however, the album offers a concise political analysis of the depoliticisation of an entire generation.

Between Appearances and the Real

»LIFTED« ends much as it began, yet entirely different. »Let’s Not Shit Ourselves (To Love and Be Loved)« is an energetic Dylan quote at ten minutes long and thus similar in length to »The Big Picture.« At the beginning, it picks up on the obstructed perspectives on the future that form the album’s leitmotiv: »I’ve seen a child, he’s caught in the sad trap of gravity.« Rapture is nowhere near, no-one’s being lifted up, on the contrary: The narrator lies in hospital after an overdose, having surrendered to appearances, and now has to experience a bitter revelation. But at his bedside is a father who forgives him and loves him, the prodigal son from a lost generation. The—again deeply or at least by default Christian—promise of salvation therein is addressed, but neither denied nor affirmed: »To love and to be loved / Let’s just hope that is enough,« are Oberst’s last lines.

After the apocalypse, a tentative hope for hope arises: perhaps this generation that has no concept of the future could experience rapture after all once it has come to terms with itself and the end of the world. Perhaps it could be lifted above the external conditions that block its view of the way forward. Or at least deep inside regain faith that there is one.

Records Revisited: Bright Eyes – LIFTED or the Story Is in the Soil, Keep Your Ear to the Ground (2002)

25.11.2022
»LIFTED« war das Durchbruchsalbum von Bright Eyes. Auf ihm erzählte Conor Oberst von versperrten Zukunftsperspektiven und messianischen Versprechen – von post-apokalyptischen Einsichten.

Als in den USA das 20. Jahrhundert am 11. September 2001 zu Ende ging, war Conor Oberst gerade mit seiner Band Desaparecidos im Studio. Ihr Debütalbum »Read Music/Speak Spanish« sezierte mit Wut und Hohn die US-amerikanische Ideologie und die davon getragenen Missstände im Land und wurde im Chaos nach dem Attentat auf das World Trade Center fürs Erste auf Eis gelegt: Es war auf eine Art zu zeitgenössisch, legte den Finger zu tief in die frische Wunde. Zwei Monate jedoch später ging Oberst erneut ins Studio, um sich wieder seinem Projekt Bright Eyes mit Mike Mogis und einem sich ständig drehenden Karussell von Gastmusiker:innen aus der Szene Nebraskas zu widmen. »LIFTED or The Story Is in the Soil, Keep Your Ear to the Ground« erschien im August 2002 und sollte ihren endgültigen Durchbruch markieren. Womöglich auch, weil es nicht die äußeren Gegebenheiten, sondern innere Zustände auf den Prüfstand stellte.

Im HHV Shop kaufen
Bright Eyes
Lifted Or The Story Is The Soil, Keep Your Ear To The Ground
ab 29.99€

Als »LIFTED« erschien, war Oberst 22 Jahre alt und schon seit zehn Jahren im Geschäft, er hatte in einem guten Dutzend Bands gespielt. Bright Eyes hatte er als Teenager im Keller seines Elternhauses gegründet und für die Aufnahmen Personal und Instrumentarium konstant erweitert, elektronische Elemente als auch Zitate klassischer Musik in seine Musik einfließen lassen. Im Zentrum jedoch stand ein Folk-Verständnis, das auf dem Studium Bob Dylans ebenso fußte wie es die Sensibilität eines Nick Drake und die hemdsärmeligen Kaputtheit eines Neil Youngs mit der Exzentrik eines Daniel Johnston miteinander vereinte. Auch schlug es Brücken zu verschiedenen Depri-Rock-Strömungen der 1980er- und 90er-Jahre: Bitter und kalt wie The Cure in ihren düstersten Momente, bisweilen explosiv wie die Grunge-Generation, desolat wie viele andere Bands des Roster seines Labels Saddle Creek oder selbstmitleidig wie die dritte Welle von Emo-Bands, mit deren Vertreterinnen Oberst als Teil von Desaparecidos die Bühne teilte.

Ein abgründiger und kaputter Mensch, ein sympathischer Typ.

Conor Oberst persiflierte das selbst, doch blieb der Makel des Wehleidigen an ihm haften – was seiner Karriere wiederum zum Vorteil gereichte. Denn der spindeldürre Typ mit dem verstrubbelten Scheitel hatte Charisma und traf den Nerv der Zeit. Er repräsentierte einen neuen Typus Rockstar, der auf einem komplexeren Männlichkeitsbild als noch das der Grunge-Generation beruhte: Hyperintim und doch komplett durchlässig, selbstreflektiert und -zerstörerisch, eloquent und vulgär, verzweifelt und angepisst, Autodidakt und Alleskönner, brütendes Genie und nimmermüder Teamplayer. Ein abgründiger und kaputter Mensch, ein sympathischer Typ. Einer, der oft »Ich« sagte und dabei nicht sich selbst meinte, weshalb er vielen das Gefühl gab, für sie zu sprechen. Der auf den Punkt brachte, dass das Problem nicht darin bestand, dass niemand mehr glauben wollte – sondern dass sich stattdessen alle fragten, warum sie überhaupt irgendetwas glauben sollten.

Nach der Apokalypse

Fast ein Jahr nach 9/11 gab »LIFTED« auf solcherlei umfassende Fragen nach dem Sinn und Zweck des Lebens keine Antwort. Stattdessen jedoch gab es seinem Publikum das Gefühl, dass sie noch dringender als zuvor gestellt werden mussten. »The picture’s far too big to look at, kid / Your eyes won’t open wide enough / And you’re constantly surrounded / By the swirling stream of what is and what was«, lauten die ersten von Oberst gesungenen Zeilen dieser Platte und eine bessere Umschreibung der Welterfahrung der CNN- und DSL-Generation hätte wohl nicht gefunden werden können. »The Big Picture« stellt aber in erster Linie eine Abrechnung mit der Elterngeneration dar, die ihr die Perspektiven geraubt hatte: Das Wort »lifted« im Albumtitel, das auch in der letzten Zeile des nach fast neun Minuten abrupt abbrechenden Stücks auftaucht, lässt sich je nach Kontext mit »gestohlen« übersetzen. Zugleich schreibt sich die Verwendung des Begriffs aber auch aus der christlichen Literatur her, dem biblischen Versprechen der Entrückung – ins Himmelreich »gehoben« zu werden.

Das passt zur musikalischen Gestaltung dieser zwischen dreieinhalb und zehn Minuten langen Stücke, die sich wie klassische Folk-Songs musikalisch im Kreis drehen und sich dank Oberst mit zitternder Stimme vorgetragenen Lyrics doch irgendwie fortbewegen. Effektiv ist dieses Miteinander aus erdrückender Stasis und erhebender Hoffnung vor allem, weil es kongenial inszeniert wurde. Oberst schrieb schon immer simple Songs, die er komplex arrangierte und erreichte darin auf »LIFTED« erstmals seinen kreativen Höhepunkt. Hin und wieder schwillt das Klangbild so mächtig an wie bei den zeitgleich mit anderen Mitteln eine ganz ähnliche Atmosphäre zum Ausdruck bringenden Constellation-Bands, dann wieder ist es so schlicht und nackt wie die Musik von Elliott Smith oder Songs: Ohia. Varieté-artige Klänge, Kneipenmusik eigentlich, nah am Karnevalesken, fanden ihren Einzug in die Musik von Bright Eyes und zwischendurch deuteten Country-Anleihen schon die musikalische Zukunft von Oberst an. Mit geschickten Arrangements und der detailreichen, lückenlosen Produktion Mogis’ bauten Oberst und seine Studiokolleg:innen Mini-Operetten, die für sich existieren und doch nur im Verbund wirklich Sinn stifteten.

Er ist kein Prediger, kein Prophet, sondern genauso ratlos wie alle anderen auch.

»LIFTED« eröffnet ein Spannungsfeld zwischen Schein und Sein, den Altlasten der Vergangenheit und messianischen Versprechen, ein Panorama nach der Apokalypse im doppelten Wortsinn: nach dem Ende einer Welt und der Offenbarung, dass diese schon immer nur auf Sand gebaut war. In fast jedem der 13 Stücke wird auf dieses Stunde-Null-Gefühl rekurriert, indem die Zukunft thematisiert wird – oder zumindest, wie sie Obersts lyrischen Ichs und Figuren versperrt scheint. Die Parole »No Future« wurde neu formuliert, und zwar als Frage. »What Future?« ist der unausgesprochene Refrain dieses Albums, die Erlösung wird im Argot christlicher Eschatologie immer wieder in Aussicht und zugleich doch infrage gestellt. »No, I don’t look back because the road is clear / And laid out ahead of me«, heißt es in einem, »Working on the record seems pointless now / When the world ends, who’s gonna hear it?« dann aber wieder schon im nächsten Song. Das ist auch Teil der expliziten oder impliziten Distanzierungen, die Oberst auf dem Album wiederholt vornimmt: Er ist kein Prediger, kein Prophet, sondern genauso ratlos wie alle anderen auch. So bietet das Album eine konzise politische Analyse der Entpolitisierung einer ganzen Generation, indem es sich aufs vermeintlich Persönliche verlagert.

Zwischen Schein und Sein

»LIFTED« endet, wie es begonnen hat, und doch gänzlich anders. »Let’s Not Shit Ourselves (To Love and Be Loved)« ist ähnlich lang wie »The Big Picture«, ein energisches Dylan-Zitat mit zehn Minuten Länge. Die verbauten Zukunftsperspektiven werden eingangs wieder zitiert: »I’ve seen a child, he’s caught in the sad trap of gravity«. Von Entrückung keine Spur, im Gegenteil. Der Erzähler liegt nach einer Überdosis im Krankenhaus, nachdem er sich den Schein ergeben hatte und muss nun eine bittere Offenbarung erleben. Am Krankenbett steht aber ein Vater, der ihm vergibt und ihn liebt, den verlorenen Sohn aus einer verlorenen Generation. Das darin – wieder dezidiert oder zumindest implizit christliche – Heilsversprechen wird weitergesponnen, weder negiert und noch affirmiert: »To love and to be loved / Let’s just hope that is enough«, lauten Obersts letzte Zeilen.

Nach der Apokalypse keimt eine zaghafte Hoffnung auf Hoffnung: Vielleicht könnte diese Generation ohne Begriff von der Zukunft, wenn sie erst mit sich selbst und dem Untergang der Welt ins Reine gekommen ist, doch Entrückung erfahren. Womöglich könnte sie über die äußeren Umstände erhoben werden, die ihr die Sicht auf den Weg nach vorne versperren. Oder zumindest tief im Inneren wieder Glauben fassen.