Betty Lou Landreth – Exclusive Edition: »Betty Lou«

The album »Betty Lou«, originally released in 1979, was to remain the only one for Betty Lou Landreth. Now it has been reissued. Available on HHV Records in an exclusive Coloured Edition.

Released in 1979 as a private pressing on Joel Palmer’s Ya Ya, Inc. label, the debut of his then-wife, singer Betty Lou Landreth, remains her only album. Over the decades, »Betty Lou« has become a distinctly sought-after collector’s item: Originals change hands among rare groove lovers for three-digit amounts. This is due – besides Landreth’s sensational voice – to the completely unique mixture of Motown funk and soul-jazz, country and torch songs she presents. Recorded in Detroit, producer Charlie Gabriel has assembled here the créme de la créme of session musicians of his day: Trumpeter Marcus Belgrave and pianist Geri Allen are featured alongside three members of the Funk Brothers. There’s an imaginary connection between Detroit and New Orleans in the air in songs like the irresistible bossa opener »Miranda,« the R’n’B cover of Bob Seger’s »Turn The Page« or the brass melt of »I Can’t Stop,« flawless soul-disco vibes in »Get Up And Dance!« The Vinyl 2LP re-release is enriched with alternative takes, instrumentals and bonus material. Exclusively on HHV Records there is a Purple Vinyl Edition limited to 300 copies.


  • A1 Side One
  • A2 Miranda
  • A3 Turn The Page
  • A4 I Can’t Stop
  • A5 You Closed The Door
  • B1 Bobby
  • B2 Eye Of Love
  • B3 Get Up And Dance!
  • B4 Mirror In The Sky
  • C1 Miranda (Instrumental)
  • C2 I Can’t Stop (Alternate Mix)
  • C3 Turn The Page (Instrumental)
  • C4 Shoo Be Doo Be Doo Da Day (Acoustic Version)
  • D1 Get Up And Dance! (Disco Mix)
  • D2 Turn The Page (Alternate Vocal)
  • D3 Emmanuel’s Way

»Betty Lou« von Betty Lou Landreth erscheint am 2.7.2021 bei Backatcha.