Hermeto Pascoal is as enigmatic as the jazz he plays

20.06.2022
Hermeto Pascoal
Hermeto Pascoal is one of Brazil’s most important musicians. And also it’s quirkiest. The multi-instrumentalist and autodidact with his trademark flowing hair has been mixing Brazilian rhythms and free jazz for decades and counted Miles Davis among his admirers along with others.

His name is automatically associated with a second Brazilian musician, so I’ll name him straightaway: the Brazilian Hermeto Pascoal became known to a wider audience when he appeared as a guest musician on Miles Davis’ double album »Live-Evil« (one of the most beautiful palindromes ever created) in 1971. He played trumpet and electric piano in unison with Davis on »Little Church«, and sang in unison with him on »Nem um Talvez« and »Selim«.

Davis is also known to have said of Hermeto Pascoal that he is the most formidable musician in the world. No small compliment from a fellow musician who was notorious for condescendingly belittling even his most deserving contemporaries.

Related reviews

Finding and inventing sounds

In truth, though, Hermeto Pascoal doesn’t need the authority of a more famous musician to legitimise his music. Nevertheless, he does appear to be susceptible to pairing up with others for comparison purposes – or at least the people who write about him speak to that effect. To some he is the Brazilian Frank Zappa, to others Brazil’s answer to Sun Ra. All good company, but ultimately more an expression of the embarrassment of being afraid of not doing justice to the man and his distinctive qualities that characterise him.

At any rate, by the time Miles Davis asked him to join him, Pascoal had long since made a name for himself in Brazil. During the sixties he worked with Bossa Nova pioneers like Carlos Jobim and Sergio Mendes and founded his own groups in the form of Trio Sambrasa and Quarteto Novo, in both of which the percussionist Airto Moreira, a close associate, played.

Miles Davis is also known to have said of Hermeto Pascoal that he is the most formidable musician in the world. No small compliment from a fellow musician who was notorious for condescendingly belittling even his most deserving contemporaries.

Pascoal’s first solo album, self-confidently and simply called »Hermeto«, was released on June 22, 1970, on the exact day of his 34th birthday. That may sound late, but with Pascoal, who is still playing today, it makes sense to think in larger dimensions. »Nos Mundo dos Sons« (In the World of Sounds), for example, was the title of a double album he made in 2017, on which he dedicates each piece to a musician he considers important.

The title expresses his attitude well: while on the one hand Hermeto Pascoal explores the world of sounds – even at a young age he learned to play every instrument he could get his hands on – on the other hand his music itself is a world of sound encapsulated that encompasses a wide range of expressive possibilities.

Shaman in space

On »Hermeto«, this world was still largely determined by bossa nova and modern jazz, and yet the big band sounds hint at a free spirit that plays by its own rules. How these work can be heard beautifully on his album »Zabumbê-bum-á« from 1979. On it, samba, fusion, free jazz and Hermeto Pascoal’s very own quirkiness mix into something new that is infectious in an audacious and intrepid way. The first sound he greets you with on the album, for example, is a short pursing of his lips, which onomatopoeically is commonly written as »Brrr«. And why not?

Hermeto Pascoal
Hermeto Pascoal heute

This playful approach to sound makes him a sought-after partner for open-minded musicians who like to think in similarly lush terms. The composer and saxophonist Daniel Glatzel, founder of the stylistically expansive Andromeda Mega Express Orchestra, invited Hermeto Pascoal to the »Cosmostage« in Berlin in 2015 for a joint concert in which the guest on the Yamaha DX7 synthesiser and various other instruments was not only placed centre stage, but also blended perfectly into the cosmological ensemble.

He remains an enigmatic figure to this day. Like his name, which brings to mind Hermes, the messenger of the gods, or »hermético«, which means »mysterious« in English. The ambassador of sounds, who is considered a shaman in Brazil, is always mysterious. Perhaps that is one of the reasons for the many comparisons which he is so frequently used for. And, of course, you can compare him to whoever you want – as long as it helps to get more people to listen to his music.

Buy at HHV

Hermeto Pascoal ist so rätselhaft wie der Jazz, den er spielt

20.06.2022
Hermeto PascoalFoto:© Far Out Recordings
Hermeto Pascoal gehört zu den wichtigsten Musikern Brasiliens. Und zu den schrulligsten. Der Multiinstrumentalist und Autodidakt mit dem wallenden Haar als Markenzeichen mischt seit Jahrzehnten brasilianische Rhythmen und Free Jazz und wurde unter anderem von Miles Davis bewundert.

Mit seinem Namen verbindet sich zwangsläufig ein zweiter, daher schnell heraus damit: Der Brasilianer Hermeto Pascoal wurde einer breiteren Öffentlichkeit bekannt, als er 1971 als Gastmusiker auf Miles Davis‘ Doppelalbum »Live-Evil« (einer der schönsten Palindrom-Titel überhaupt) in Erscheinung trat. Unisono zu Davis’ Trompete pfeifend plus am elektrischen Klavier im Stück »Little Church«, des Weiteren unisono mit dem Gastgeber, diesmal singend, in »Nem um Talvez« und in »Selim«.

Von Davis ist überdies die Aussage übermittelt, Hermeto Pascoal sei der beeindruckendste Musiker der Welt. Kein kleines Kompliment von einem Kollegen, der dafür berüchtigt war, selbst verdienstvolle Mitstreiter schon mal herablassend herunterzuputzen.

Im HHV Shop kaufen

Klänge finden und erfinden

Eigentlich braucht Hermeto Pascoal aber gar keine Legitimierung durch die Autorität eines berühmteren Musikers. Trotzdem scheint er für Paarbildungen zu Vergleichszwecken anfällig zu sein – oder zumindest die Leute, die über ihn schreiben. Den einen ist er der brasilianische Frank Zappa, den anderen Brasiliens Antwort auf Sun Ra. Alles gute Gesellschaft, doch letztlich eher Ausdruck der Verlegenheit, dass man fürchtet, dem Mann und seinen eigenen Besonderheiten nicht gerecht zu werden.

Als ihn Miles Davis zu sich bat, hatte Pascoal jedenfalls in Brasilien schon längst einen Namen. Während der sechziger Jahre arbeitete er mit Bossa-Nova-Pionieren wie Carlos Jobim oder Sergio Mendes zusammen und gründete sein eigenes Trio Sambrasa und das Quarteto Novo, in beiden spielte der Perkussionist Airto Moreira, ein enger Wegbegleiter.

Von Miles Davis ist die Aussage übermittelt, Hermeto Pascoal sei der beeindruckendste Musiker der Welt. Kein kleines Kompliment von einem Kollegen, der dafür berüchtigt war, selbst verdienstvolle Mitstreiter schon mal herablassend herunterzuputzen.

Pascoals erstes Soloalbum, selbstbewusst schlicht »Hermeto« genannt, erschien am 22. Juni 1970, exakt an seinem 34. Geburtstag. Das mag spät klingen, doch bei dem bis heute aktiven Pascoal bietet es sich an, in größeren Dimensionen zu denken. »Nos Mundo dos Sons« (In der Welt der Klänge) hieß zum Beispiel ein Doppelalbum von ihm aus dem Jahr 2017, in dem er jedes Stück einem Musiker, der für ihn wichtig ist, gewidmet hat.

Der Titel gibt seine Haltung gut zum Ausdruck: Hermeto Pascoal erforscht einerseits die Welt der Klänge, schon in jungen Jahren lernte er jedes Instrument, dass er in die Finger bekommen konnte, andererseits ist seine Musik selbst eine eigene Klangwelt, die sehr vieles an Ausdrucksmöglichkeiten umfasst.

Schamane im Weltraum

Auf »Hermeto« war diese Welt noch stark von Bossa Nova und Modern Jazz bestimmt, die Bigband-Klänge lassen jedoch ahnen, dass sich da ein freier Geist ankündigt, der nach seinen eigenen Regeln vorgeht. Wie die funktionieren, ist etwa auf seinem Album »Zabumbê-bum-á« von 1979 sehr schön zu hören. Darauf mischen sich Samba, Fusion, Free Jazz und die ganz persönliche Kauzigkeit von Hermeto Pascoal zu etwas Neuem, das auf abenteuerlustige Weise ansteckend wirkt. So ist das erste Geräusch, mit dem er einen auf der Platte begrüßt, ein kurzer Lippenstrudel, mithin das, was man gemeinhin lautmalerisch als »Brrr« schreibt. Warum auch nicht?

Hermeto Pascoal
Hermeto Pascoal heute

Dieser spielerische Umgang mit Klängen macht ihn zu einem begehrten Partner für aufgeschlossene Musiker, die gern in ähnlich üppigen Maßstäben denken. Der Komponist und Saxofonist Daniel Glatzel etwa, seines Zeichens Gründer des stilistisch weit ausgreifenden Andromeda Mega Express Orchestra, lud Hermeto Pascoal 2015 zu den »Kosmostagen« nach Berlin für ein gemeinsames Konzert, in dem der Gast am Yamaha DX7-Synthesizer und diversen anderen Instrumenten nicht allein der Position auf der Bühne nach das Zentrum bildete und sich gleichwohl bestens in das weltraumaffine Ensemble einfügte.

Reviews zum Künstler

Eine rätselhafte Erscheinung ist er bis heute. Wie sein Name, der an den Götterboten Hermes denken lässt oder an »hermético«, was auf Deutsch »geheimnisvoll« heißt. Geheimnisvoll ist der in Brasilien als Schamane geltende Botschafter der Klänge allemal. Womöglich ist das einer der Gründe für die vielen Vergleiche, für die er so oft herhalten muss. Und, klar, man kann ihn vergleichen, mit wem man will – solange es dazu beiträgt, dass mehr Leute seine Musik hören.

Brasilianischer Jazz

Porträts, Essays, Reviews und allerhand Wissenswertes zu Jazz und von Bossa Nova beeinflusster Musik aus Brasiliern.

Zu den Beiträgen