STAUB’s Irakli chooses 10 records that have shaped the Berlin event series

05.06.2023
Foto: © George Nebieridze
Having just celebrated the techno party STAUB’s tenth anniversary and the release of a new vinyl compilation, co-founder Irakli reveals which ten EPs and maxis are currently shaping its sound.

When the first STAUB party took place at Berlin’s ://about:blank club in 2013, the city was a different one from today. Rents were still somewhat affordable, flats (with anmeldung!) not mythical white wales half of the city were chasing after, and the planned expansion of the A100 motorway—a serious threat to the existence of ://about:blank and half a dozen of other clubs—was something that felt more theoretical than imminent. It was also a different time in regards to the city’s vibrant techno scene, which had just emerged on the other side of the minimal age. The sound was dark, the nights long, and the timelines of techno fans chock-full of pictures of DJs presenting their take on the Christ the Redeemer pose.

STAUB’s approach was unusual in every respect. First off, the collective’s parties started at 10 a.m. and went on until 10 p.m., meaning you would be confronted with a healthy mix of people not-so-healthily making it their second or third stop on a 30-hour bender and people who, after a full night’s sleep and maybe a Sektfrühstück, were just starting out. All of them were drawn by the moderate prices, the relaxed atmosphere, and, last but definitely not least, the dry yet joyful sound. They certainly did not come for the line-ups though, which to this day are never revealed in advance. At STAUB, the party itself is the true headliner. Quickly, it became an institution in Berlin’s multifaceted techno landscape and is still here to stay. Its next, expanded instalment is coming up on June 10th.

STAUB XXL at ://about blank
10Jun 2023
Berlin • ://about blank
Buy tickets

Having celebrated the series’ tenth anniversary earlier this year with a 24-hour long party and the release of a compilation on the affiliated label Intergalactic Research Institute For Sound, its founder Irakli Kiziria picks ten EPs and tracks that have shaped the sound in recent times. Kiziria—who runs STAUB together with two partners-in-crime Ines Manseder and Jan-Frederik Henschen—in true STAUB spirit hasn’t picked all-time classics, but rather vinyl records that he has recently been buying and playing as a resident there, and which thus represent it today. After all, that’s precisely what the series is all about: getting lost in and enjoying the current moment. Get ready to get dusty, and don’t forget to rinse once you’re done.


JakoJako
Verve EP
Mute • 2023 • from 16.99€

Irakli Kiziria: I was immediately convinced by this record, and not only because I think JakoJako is one of the most promising artists in techno today. The music has a very special atmosphere that is very intense. If you use it right, it unfolds its effect like an explosion of emotions.

Redaktion
Ben Kaczor
Petrovo Uho
Dial • 2023 • from 32.29€

Irakli Kiziria: The latest offering from DIAL Records, full of emotion and stories. Perfect for an afternoon in the STAUB garden.

Redaktion
Stanislav Tolkachev
How Much Do You Know? EP
Mord • 2023 • from 16.99€

Irakli Kiziria: Techno doesn't exist for me without Stanislav Tolkachev. His latest EP on Mord is of course another masterpiece of contemporary techno. There is nothing more to say about it.

Redaktion
Susumu Yokota
Acid Mt. Fuji
Midgar • 2018 • from 27.99€

Irakli Kiziria: An album with many facets, suitable for all kinds of situations. Downtempo for outdoors, hypnotic moments and experimental flourishes. But it works best in its entirety at home—just like all other of Yokota’s productions.

Redaktion
Stojche
Granada Convextion Remix
Granada • 2023 • from 13.99€

Irakli Kiziria: Whether it’s the original or the remix, it doesn't matter—both are on point!

Redaktion
Various Artists
Systema Naturae II
012 • 2022 • from 17.99€

Irakli Kiziria: Perfect music for the start of a STAUB party, trippy and musically diverse. It's hard to decide which tune to play! All have very special and unique musical qualities.

Redaktion
Konduku
Hayal EP
Bitta • 2023 • from 12.99€

Irakli Kiziria: The latest offering from DJ Nobu's new label. This »mountain valley sound« directly made its way into my record bag straight from Japan. Again, it's really difficult to pick a track from this. Diverse and emotional.

Redaktion
Industrial Romantico
Cuore, Anima, Sangue E Metallo EP
Italo Ghetto • 2023 • from 15.99€

Irakli Kiziria: Uno, due, tre, quattro, let’s go: Italo-Ghetto! There’s little to add to the description: »My sound speaks as if it were a friendly discussion between grandmothers, prostitutes and drug dealers who frequent the same benches drinking iced tea in the afternoon.« This is the STAUB garden sound!

Redaktion
Laura BCR
Human Behavior
Live At Robert Johnson • 2023 • from 15.99€

Irakli Kiziria: »A beat that is the heartbeat of techno,« says the description of this record and that's exactly how it sounds. It is perfect for emotional attunement; for setting the pace and showing where the journey can go.

Redaktion
Various Artists
STAUB 007
Intergalactic Research Institute For Sound • 2023 • from 27.99€

Irakli Kiziria: As with all other STAUB compilations and events, the artists on this one will not be revealed. The focus is on the music, not on the names. This record is very diverse and represents the variety of music genres that we also play at our events.

Sebastian Hinz Redaktion

Irakli von STAUB wählt 10 Platten, die die Berliner Partyreihe geprägt haben

05.06.2023
Kürzlich feierte die Techno-Party STAUB ihr zehnjähriges Bestehen mit einer Vinyl-Compilation. Mitbegründer Irakli verrät, welche zehn EPs und Maxis heute den Sound der Reihe prägen.

Als 2013 die erste STAUB-Party im Berliner Club ://about:blank stattfand, war die Stadt eine andere als heute. Die Mieten waren einigermaßen erschwinglich, Wohnungen (mit Anmeldung!) keine mythischen weißen Wale, hinter denen die halbe Stadt her war, und der geplante Ausbau der A100 – eine existenzielle Bedrohung für das ://about:blank sowie ein halbes Dutzend anderer Clubs – schien hintergründig und ungreifbar. Es war auch eine andere Ära in Hinsicht auf die Techno-Szene der Stadt, die gerade jenseits der Minimal-Ära erwacht war. Der Sound war dunkel, die Nächte waren lang und die Timelines der Fans voll mit Bildern von DJs, die ihre Version der Christus-Erlöser-Pose präsentierten.

Im HHV Shop kaufen
V.A.
Staub007
ab 27.99€

Das Prinzip von STAUB war in jeder Hinsicht ungewöhnlich. Zum einen begannen die Partys um 10 Uhr morgens und dauerten bis 22 Uhr, was eine gesunde Mischung von Menschen anzog. Diejenigen etwa, die dort ihren zweiten oder dritten Stopp während eines 30-stündigen und alles andere als gesunden Marathons abhielten, und andere, die nach einer Mütze Schlaf und einem Sektfrühstück gerade erst in Gang kamen. Angelockt wurden sie allesamt von den moderaten Preisen, einer entspannten Atmosphäre und nicht zuletzt vom trockenen, aber freudvollen Sound von STAUB. Nicht aber kamen sie wegen der Line-ups, das bis heute nie im Voraus bekannt gegeben wird. Im STAUB ist die Party der eigentliche Headliner. Schnell wurde die Reihe so zu einer Institution in der vielfältigen Berliner Techno-Landschaft und bleibt eine Bastion in einer schnelldrehenden Szene. Die nächste, extralange Ausgabe findet am 10. Juni 2023 statt.

STAUB XXL at ://about blank
10Juni 23
Berlin • ://about blank
Tickets kaufen

Nachdem STAUB Anfang des Jahres ihr zehnjähriges Bestehen mit einer 24-stündigen Party und der Veröffentlichung einer Compilation auf dem angeschlossenen Label Intergalactic Research Institute For Sound gefeiert hat, wählt ihr Gründer Irakli Kiziria zehn EPs und Tracks aus, die den Sound der Party in letzter Zeit geprägt haben. Kiziria, der STAUB zusammen mit Ines Manseder und Jan-Frederik Henschen betreibt, hat nicht etwa All-Time-Favs ausgewählt. Und stattdessen Schallplatten, die er als Resident vor Kurzem dort gekauft oder gespielt hat und die somit den sich ständig wandelnden Status quo von STAUB repräsentieren. Darum schließlich geht es ja: sich im Moment zu verlieren und ihn auszukosten. Achtung, es wird staubig. Nachher abspülen bitte nicht vergessen.


JakoJako
Verve EP
Mute • 2023 • ab 16.99€

Irakli Kiziria: Diese Platte hat mich sofort überzeugt und das nicht nur deswegen, weil ich JakoJako für eine der vielversprechendsten Künstler:innen des heutigen Techno halte. Die Musik hat eine sehr spezielle Stimmung, die sehr intensiv ist. Wenn man sie richtig einsetzt, entfaltet sie ihre Wirkung wie eine Explosion von Emotionen.

Redaktion
Ben Kaczor
Petrovo Uho
Dial • 2023 • ab 32.29€

Irakli Kiziria: Das neueste Angebot von Dial Records, voll an Emotionen und Geschichten. Perfekt für den Nachmittag im STAUB-Garten.

Redaktion
Stanislav Tolkachev
How Much Do You Know? EP
Mord • 2023 • ab 16.99€

Irakli Kiziria: Techno ohne Stanislav Tolkachev gibt es für mich nicht. Seine neueste EP auf Mord ist natürlich wieder ein Meisterwerk des zeitgenössischen Techno. Mehr kann man dazu nicht sagen.

Redaktion
Susumu Yokota
Acid Mt. Fuji
Midgar • 2018 • ab 27.99€

Irakli Kiziria: Ein facettenreiches Album, das in verschiedenen Situationen eingesetzt werden kann. Downtempo für draußen, hypnotische Momente und experimentelle Akzente. Aber am besten hört man es sich - wie alle Susuma Yokota-Produktionen - zu Hause an.

Redaktion
Stojche
Granada Convextion Remix
Granada • 2023 • ab 13.99€

Irakli Kiziria: Ob Original oder Remix: egal! Beide sind »on Point«. 

Redaktion
Various Artists
Systema Naturae II
012 • 2022 • ab 17.99€

Irakli Kiziria: Die perfekte Musik für den Beginn einer STAUB-Party - trippy und musikalisch abwechslungsreich. Da fällt die Entscheidung schwer, welches Stück man spielen soll! Alle haben ihre ganz besonderen und einzigartigen musikalischen Qualitäten.

Redaktion
Konduku
Hayal EP
Bitta • 2023 • ab 12.99€

Irakli Kiziria: Das jüngste Release des neuen Labels von DJ Nobu. Dieser »Mountain-Valley-Sound« landet direkt aus Japan in meinem Plattenkoffer. Und wieder fällt die Entscheidung schwer, welchen Track ich auflegen soll. Abwechslungsreich und emotional.

Redaktion
Industrial Romantico
Cuore, Anima, Sangue E Metallo EP
Italo Ghetto • 2023 • ab 15.99€

Irakli Kiziria: Uno, due, tre, quattro, here we go: Italo-Ghetto! Dazu kann man nichts mehr sagen: »My sound speaks as if it were a friendly discussion between grandmothers, prostitutes and drug dealers who frequent the same benches drinking iced tea in the afternoon.« Das ist STAUB-Garten-Sound!

Redaktion
Laura BCR
Human Behavior
Live At Robert Johnson • 2023 • ab 15.99€

Irakli Kiziria: »A beat that is the heartbeat of techno«, steht in der Beschreibung dieser Platte und so klingt sie auch. Sie eignet sich perfekt für emotionale Einstimmung; dafür, Akzente zu setzen und zu zeigen, wo die Reise hingehen kann.

Redaktion
Various Artists
STAUB 007
Intergalactic Research Institute For Sound • 2023 • ab 27.99€

Irakli Kiziria: Wie bei allen anderen STAUB-Compilations und STAUB-Events werden die Künstler:innen nicht bekannt gegeben. Der Fokus liegt auf der Musik und nicht auf den Namen. Auch diese Platte ist sehr bunt gemischt und repräsentiert die Vielfalt der Musikstile, die wir auch bei unseren Events spielen.

Sebastian Hinz Redaktion