Records Revisited: Lonnie Liston Smith & The Cosmic Echoes – Expansions (1975)

12.01.2023
Expanding the mind in the name of peace: Pianist Lonnie Liston Smith’s album »Expansions« is not merely a repository of material for sample-happy producers, but above all a fusion classic the cosmic tranquillity of which is likely to endure for the next few eons.

»Expand your mind/To understand/We all must live/In peace together«. At first glance, the lines may remind us of the esotericism of positive thinking in the style of transcendental meditation, and at second glance they may seem at a minimum somewhat naïve. But that doesn’t make the lyrics from the title track of the album »Expansions« by Lonnie Liston Smith & The Cosmic Echoes in any way untrue. The utopia formulated by these words is also linked to an imperative: We should expand our minds to understand that peace is the key to living together. That is already more than the solely hypothetical reflection »Imagine all the people/living life in peace«, as John Lennon did in »Imagine«. Even if neither of them do much to change anything when in doubt.

Buy at HHV
Lonnie Liston Smith & The Cosmic Echoes
Expansions HHV Exclusive Transparent Yellow Vinyl Edition
from 24.99€

When the US pianist Lonnie Liston Smith – not to be confused with his namesake Lonnie Smith who died in 2021 – recorded this record in November 1974, GIs were still fighting in Vietnam. For Smith as he said in interviews, the message »Expansions« conveyed was therefore related directly to this war. And the ballad »Peace«, written by Horace Silver and Doug Carn, the only number on the album not written by Smith, has peace written right into its name.

Fighting war with gentleness

Smith became keenly interested in spirituality, at the very latest following an encounter with Sun Ra saxophonist John Gilmore at the Birdland club in New York, where Gilmore thrust a book into his hands about Sufism.  He did not pursue his cause with agitation, but chose a music whose gentleness might surprise you when you look at the stations Smith passed through before his solo career.  Following more moderate beginnings with Art Blakey & The Jazz Messengers and Max Roach in the mid-sixties, he contributed to free jazz milestones by Pharoah Sanders such as »Karma« (1969) and »Thembi« (1971).  And in Miles Davis’ band he also played on the sessions for the latter’s heavy current fusion classic »On the Corner« (1972), for which he personally sat at the electric organ.

The spirituality of Pharoah Sanders takes on an almost inner form with Lonnie Liston Smith. No solo outbursts, instead concentrated, relaxed ensemble work, calm flow instead of wild bustling.

There may be something of all these influences on »Expansions«, but Smith has transposed them into other forms.  The spirituality of Pharoah Sanders takes on an almost intimate form in him.  No solo outbursts, just concentrated, relaxed ensemble work, calm flow instead of wild roaring.  Likewise the Miles Davis’ jazz-funk, which Smith transforms into a filigree reduction of groove-maximalism.  This can be heard, for example, in Cecil McBee’s playing, who systematically plucks his elastic syncopations on the double bass.

Arguably the biggest influence on Smith’s style was his phase in Gato Barbieri’s band in the early 70s.  The Argentinian saxophonist used plenty of Afro-Cuban and Latin American elements in his music at the time, and Smith adopted some of these cues on »Expansions«.  Michael Carvin’s agile percussion forms part of this, as does Leopoldo Fleming’s nuanced triangle playing on »Expansions«, as do the rhythms in general, especially on the bright and bouncy »Summer Days«.

The most laid-back jazz around

The key ingredient that makes »Expansions« a fusion throw-down of the most laid-back kind are the keyboards, which Smith turned to alongside his piano.  On the title track especially, they create a proto-house sound with flat pulsating chords, which, along with Cecil McBee’s catchy interlaced bass structure, was probably the main reason why later producers used the song as the foundation for their own music.  The best-known example is Stetsasonic with its hip hop hit »Talkin’ All That Jazz« from 1988.

Courtesy of Stetsasonic, there are probably more people who know Lonnie Liston Smith’s music than those who know his name. The fate of »Expansions« is simply one of being the most laid-back jazz classics, which comes with a constitutive unobtrusiveness.  Nevertheless, the effect his has music persists.  It has what it takes to stand the test of time. Maybe there really will be peace someday.

Records Revisited: Lonnie Liston Smith & The Cosmic Echoes – Expansions (1975)

12.01.2023
Den Geist im Namen des Friedens ausdehnen: Der Pianist Lonnie Liston Smith schuf mit seinem Album »Expansions« nicht bloß eine Materialsammlung für samplefreudige Produzenten, sondern vor allem einen Fusion-Klassiker, dessen kosmische Ruhe geeignet ist, die nächsten paar Äonen zu überdauern.

»Expand your mind / To understand / We all must live / In peace together«. Die Zeilen mögen auf den ersten Blick an Positives-Denken-Esoterik im Stil der Transzendentalen Meditation erinnern und auf den zweiten zumindest etwas naiv erscheinen. Doch die Worte aus dem Titelsong des Albums »Expansions« von Lonnie Liston Smith & The Cosmic Echoes werden dadurch keineswegs falsch. Die Utopie, die sie formulieren, ist zugleich mit einem Imperativ verbunden: Wir sollen unseren Geist erweitern, um zu begreifen, dass Frieden nottut für das Zusammenleben. Das ist schon mal mehr als die rein hypothetische Betrachtung »Imagine all the people / living life in peace«, wie sie John Lennon in »Imagine« anstellte. Auch wenn beide im Zweifel nicht viel am Lauf der Dinge ändern.

Im HHV Shop kaufen
Lonnie Liston Smith & The Cosmic Echoes
Expansions HHV Exclusive Transparent Yellow Vinyl Edition
ab 24.99€

Als der US-amerikanische Pianist Lonnie Liston Smith, nicht zu verwechseln mit seinem 2021 verstorbenen Kollegen Lonnie Smith, im November 1974 diese Platte aufnahm, kämpften noch GIs in Vietnam. Für Smith stand die Botschaft von »Expansions« daher, wie er in Interviews sagte, in direktem Zusammenhang mit diesem Krieg. Und in der Ballade »Peace«, geschrieben von Horace Silver und Doug Carn, der einzigen Nummer des Albums, die nicht von Smith stammt, steht der Frieden gleich im Namen.

Mit Sanftheit gegen den Krieg

Smith war spätestens seit einem Treffen mit dem Sun Ra-Saxofonisten John Gilmore im New Yorker Club Birdland, bei dem Gilmore ihm ein Buch über Sufismus in die Hand drückte, sehr an Spiritualität interessiert. Sein Anliegen verfolgte er dabei nicht agitatorisch, sondern wählte eine Musik, deren Sanftheit überraschen mag, wenn man auf die Stationen sieht, die Smith vor seiner Solokarriere zurücklegte. Nach moderateren Anfängen bei Art Blakey & The Jazz Messengers und Max Roach Mitte der Sechziger hatte er an Free-Jazz-Meilensteinen von Pharoah Sanders wie »Karma« (1969) und »Thembi« (1971) mitgewirkt. Und in der Band von Miles Davis spielte er unter anderem in den Sessions zu dessen Starkstrom-Fusion-Klassiker »On the Corner« (1972), für die er sich extra an die elektrische Orgel setzte.

Die Spiritualität von Pharoah Sanders nimmt bei ihm eine fast schon innerliche Gestalt an. Keine Solo-Ausbrüche, dafür konzentriert entspannte Ensemblearbeit, ruhiges Fließen statt wilden Gebrodels.

Von all diesen Einflüssen mag etwas auf »Expansions« vorhanden sein, doch hat Smith sie in andere Formen überführt. Die Spiritualität von Pharoah Sanders nimmt bei ihm eine fast schon innerliche Gestalt an. Keine Solo-Ausbrüche, dafür konzentriert entspannte Ensemblearbeit, ruhiges Fließen statt wilden Gebrodels. Ebenso der Jazz-Funk von Miles Davis, dessen Groove-Maximalismus von Smith in filigrane Reduktion umgewandelt wird. Etwa zu hören im Spiel von Cecil McBee, der seine elastischen Synkopen konsequent auf dem Kontrabass zupft.

Vermutlich den größten Einfluss auf Smiths Stil hatte seine Phase in der Band von Gato Barbieri zu Beginn der Siebziger. Der Saxofonist aus Argentinien hatte damals reichlich afrokubanische und lateinamerikanische Elemente in seiner Musik verwendet, und Smith hat auf »Expansions« einige dieser Anregungen übernommen. Die biegsame Perkussion von Michael Carvin gehört dazu, ebenso das nuancierte Triangelspiel von Leopoldo Fleming in »Expansions«, wie überhaupt die Rhythmen, namentlich im smart federnden »Summer Days«.

Jazz der ausgeruhtesten Sorte

Entscheidende Zutat, die »Expansions« zu einem Fusion-Wurf der ausgeruhtesten Sorte macht, sind die Keyboards, auf die Smith neben seinem Klavier zurückgriff. Gerade im Titelsong erzeugen sie mit flächig pulsierenden Akkorden einen Proto-House-Sound, der neben Cecil McBees eingängig verschachtelter Bassfigur der Hauptgrund für spätere Produzenten gewesen sein dürfte, den Song als Basis für ihre eigene Musik zu nutzen. Bekanntestes Beispiel sind Stetsasonic mit ihrem Hip Hop-Hit »Talkin’ All That Jazz« von 1988.

Dank Stetsasonic gibt es vermutlich auch mehr Menschen, die die Musik von Lonnie Liston Smith kennen, als es Leute gibt, die seinen Namen im Mund führen. »Expansions« hat einfach das Schicksal, einer der zurückgelehntesten Jazzklassiker zu sein, womit eine konstitutive Unauffälligkeit einhergeht. Die Wirkung seiner Musik hält gleichwohl an. Sie hat das Zeug dazu, die Zeiten zu überdauern. Vielleicht ist irgendwann dann ja auch wirklich Frieden.