Wu-Lu wants to make people think with pure energy

08.07.2022
Wu-Lu
His debut on Warp sounds like Kendrick Lamar got lost in the mosh pit with Death Grips. So who is this guy who is currently tearing up the festival stages this summer as Wu-Lu?

»Hey, you can just stay at my side for a bit during the day, ’cause I still have a few things to do«. Wu-Lu doesn’t give anything away. Especially not time. As he pokes his head into the zoom call, he’s still chilling on the couch, his pit bull Sunny jumping on his lap. Suddenly his mobile phone chimes. Battery dead. »See you in five minutes«. After fifteen, Wu-Lu grins into the camera again. This time he’s sitting in his car.

Born and raised in south London, the man with the gingham afro and gap in his teeth still lives in Brixton. »It’s an expensive as fuck area, unless you’re earning seven or eight grand a month,« he says as he jams his phone behind the gearstick. »I’m lucky enough to still live here because my family got into the property game early on and snagged this little house

Buy at HHV
Wu-Lu
Loggerhead Black Vinyl Edition
from 26.99€

Wu-Lu, whose real name is Miles Romans-Hopcraft, doesn’t just live in one of the most expensive cities in the world. He’s releasing »Loggerhead«, his debut album on Warp soon. Miles smiles because he knows that he has arrived – alongside producers like Flying Lotus, Nightmares on Wax and LoneLady, who have all released records on the British electronic label in recent months.

Pokémon, kickflips and jazz

The 31-year-old did not end up there by chance. Wu-Lu began to take an interest in music before he lost his baby teeth. His mum, formerly a dancer, supports him in his creativity and in admitting the spiritual side as well as the need to work in a disciplined way. Miles’ dad, a jazz band musician himself, soon takes him to concerts. Together with his brother, he hangs out backstage, rides on the tour bus, lives in a world that takes place on stage.

»As a kid, that’s why I felt like everyone was making music, that everyone was getting the same upbringing as me,« Wu-Lu observes. »I used to ask people all the time what instrument they played or what gigs they went to. Then I realised that this reality doesn’t apply to most people at all.« So he’s sure he only became a musician because of his parents. »Because I didn’t really practice much, I mostly hung out at the skate park.«

»Whether people are happy, angry, sad or stressed out. I want them to listen to my music and feel something, to get a different perspective on the world.« (Wu-Lu)

 In addition to his love of kickflips and rails, he spends his afternoons – like every early pubescent in the late nineties – with Pokémon and Dragon Ball Z. He soon wants to become a musician. Soon Miles, who now has three tattoos, even wants to get a tattoo of the anime character King Kai. »It’s pure nostalgia. I love that because those things made me feel good as a kid.«

Keeping the energy up

Miles attributes the fact that he now builds beats that sound as if Death Grips had met Kendrick Lamar for brunch in a mosh pit in the nineties to his youthful addiction to television. »I got hold of the documentary ›Scratch‹ at some point. It’s about hip-hop culture, people like DJ Shadow showing how they DJ and stuff. I watched it before I went to school and after I got home. Cheese and pickle toastie, chips and … ›Scratch‹ –  that was my world for a while!« Since Miles has no idea how Cut Chemist and Mixmaster Mike make this »killer sound«, he pops to the nearest record shop in Camberwell, asks the owner for »breaks« and goes home with two Greatest Hits albums by James Brown.

Wu-Lu
Wu-Lu

Miles doesn’t just scratch around on instrumentals though, he also hunkers down behind his dad’s PC and starts playing around with an early version of the music software Reason»It was like a cartoon to me, but I didn’t make a connection between the beats on the turntable and the whole thing – until I heard about sampling.« For Wu-Lu, he says, that was the »spark«. Since then, he has been collecting old jungle jams, sampling rare soul records or pushing the energy level of his songs by using the influence of punk records. After all, that’s what it’s all about: energy! »Whether people are happy, angry, sad or stressed out. I want them to listen to my music and feel something, to get a different perspective on the world.«

Wu-Lu stops in front of a skate park and turns the mobile phone camera. »Look, this is exactly the vibe I’m going for.« Then the zoom call breaks off. The man with the afro doesn’t come back. Instead, he’s done a few things. And charged up his mobile phone.

Mit purer Energie will Wu-Lu zum Nachdenken anregen

08.07.2022
Wu-LuFoto:© Warp Records
Sein Debüt auf Warp klingt so, als hätte sich Kendrick Lamar bei den Death Grips in den Moshpit verirrt. Wer ist der Typ, der als Wu-Lu gerade die Festivalbühnen des Sommers abreißt?

»Hey, du begleitest mich jetzt einfach ein bisschen bei meinem Tag, ich hab’ nämlich noch ein paar Dinge zu erledigen«. Wu-Lu verschenkt nichts. Vor allem keine Zeit. Als er seinen Kopf in den Zoom-Call steckt, chillt er noch auf der Couch, sein Pit Bull Sunny springt ihm auf den Schoß. Plötzlich bimmelt sein Handy. Akku leer. »Wir sehen uns in fünf Minuten«. Nach fünfzehn grinst Wu-Lu wieder in die Kamera. Diesmal sitzt er in seinem Auto.

Born and raised im Süden Londons, lebt der Mann mit dem Tingeltangel-Afro und der Zahnlücke noch immer in Brixton. »Eine scheißteure Gegend, sofern man nicht gerade sieben oder acht Riesen im Monat verdient«, sagt er, während er das Handy hinter die Gangschaltung klemmt. »Ich hab’ das Glück, immer noch hier zu wohnen, weil meine Familie früh in das Immobiliengeschäft einsteigen konnte und sich dieses Häuschen gecheckt hat.«

Im HHV Shop kaufen
Wu-Lu
Loggerhead Black Vinyl Edition
ab 26.99€

Wu-Lu, der eigentlich Miles Romans-Hopcraft heißt, wohnt nicht nur in einer der teuersten Städte der Welt. Er bringt mit »Loggerhead« demnächst sein Debüt auf Warp raus. Miles smiles, weil er weiß, dass er damit angekommen ist – neben Producer*innen wie Flying Lotus, Nightmares on Wax oder LoneLady, die alle in den letzten Monaten auf dem britischen Elektronik-Label ihre Platten veröffentlichten.

Pokémon, Kickflips und Jazz

Der 31-Jährige ist nicht durch Zufall dort gelandet. Wu-Lu beginnt sich für Musik zu interessieren, bevor er seine Milchzähne verloren hat. Seine Mom, ehemals Tänzerin, unterstützt ihn, kreativ zu sein und die spirituelle Seite ebenso zu zuzulassen wie die Notwendigkeit, diszipliniert zu arbeiten. Miles’ Dad, selbst Musiker für Jazzbands, nimmt ihn bald mit auf Konzerte. Gemeinsam mit seinem Bruder hängt er Backstage ab, fährt im Tourbus mit, lebt in einer Welt, die sich auf der Bühne abspielt.

»Als Kind hatte ich deswegen das Gefühl, dass alle Musik machen, dass alle die gleiche Erziehung wie ich bekommen«, sagt Wu-Lu. »Ich habe die ganze Zeit Leute gefragt, was sie für ein Instrument spielen oder auf welchen Gigs sie waren. Dann hab’ ich gemerkt, dass diese Realität auf die meisten Menschen gar nicht zutrifft.« Musiker sei er also nur wegen seinen Eltern geworden, da sei er sich sicher. »Ich hab’ nämlich nicht gerade viel geübt, sondern bin meistens auf dem Skateplatz abgehangen.«

»Ob die Leute nun glücklich, wütend, traurig oder gestresst sind. Sie sollen sich meine Musik anhören und etwas fühlen, um eine andere Perspektive auf die Welt zu bekommen.« (Wu-Lu)

Neben seiner Vorliebe fürs Kickflips und Rails verbringt er seine Nachmittage – wie jeder Frühpubertierende Ende der Neunziger – mit Pokémon und Dragon Ball Z. Demnächst will Miles, er hat mittlerweile drei Tattoos, sich sogar den Anime-Charakter King Kai stechen lassen. »Das ist pure Nostalgie. Ich liebe das, weil diese Dinge mir als Kind ein gutes Gefühl gegeben haben.«

Die Energie hochhalten

Dass Miles heute Beats baut, die klingen, als hätten sich die Death Grips mit Kendrick Lamar in den Neunzigern zu einem Brunch im Moshpit getroffen, führt er auf seine jugendliche Fernsehsucht zurück. »Ich bekam irgendwann die Doku ›Scratch‹ in die Hände. Da geht es um Hip-Hop-Culture, Leute wie DJ Shadow zeigen, wie sie auflegen und so. Ich hab’ mir das reingezogen, bevor ich in die Schule gegangen und nachdem ich wieder heimgekommen bin. Cheese and pickle Toastie, Chips und … ›Scratch‹ – das war für eine ganze Weile meine Welt!« Weil Miles keine Ahnung hat, wie Cut Chemist und Mixmaster Mike diesen »krassen Sounds« machen, fährt er in den nächsten Plattenladen nach Camberwell, fragt den Besitzer nach »Breaks« und geht mit zwei Greatest Hits-Platten von James Brown nach Hause.

Wu-Lu
Wu-Lu

Miles scratcht aber nicht nur auf Instrumentals rum, er hängt sich außerdem hinter den PC seines Dads und beginnt, mit einer frühen Version der Musiksoftware Reason herumzuspielen. »Das war wie ein Cartoon für mich, aber eine Connection zwischen den Beats auf dem Turntable und der ganzen Sache hab’ ich nicht gemacht – bis ich von Sampling hörte.« Für Wu-Lu sei das der »Spark« gewesen. Seitdem sammelt er alte Jungle-Jams, sampelt seltene Soul-Scheiben oder pusht mit dem Einfluss von Punk-Platten das Energielevel seiner Songs. Schließlich gehe es genau darum: Energie! »Ob die Leute nun glücklich, wütend, traurig oder gestresst sind. Sie sollen sich meine Musik anhören und etwas fühlen, um eine andere Perspektive auf die Welt zu bekommen.«

Wu-Lu bleibt vor einem Skateplatz stehen und dreht die Handykamera. »Schau mal, das ist genau der Vibe, den ich erreichen will.« Dann bricht der Zoom-Call ab. Der Mann mit dem Afro kommt nicht wieder. Dafür hat er ein paar Dinge erledigt. Und sein Handy aufgeladen.