Neneh Cherry – New Album: »Broken Politics«

»Broken Politics« is the new work by Neneh Cherry. The album of the Swede, completely produced by Four Tet this time, will be released on October 19th on Smalltown Supersound.

In a musical life, of course, there is a starting point and an end point (which ends with the writing of these lines): both poles are occupied by Neneh Cherry in many people of our generation. With »Buffalo Stance« and »Manchild« she accompanied our first targeted listening impressions, with her »Shotgun Shack«, which can be heard for the first time today, the last stage has been reached for the time being. What’s amazing here is that you can’t hear a drop in quality.

»Shotgun Shack« is now the second single from their album »Broken Politics« which will be released on October 19th. The “Kong”, produced by Four Tet and Massive Attack’s 3D, has already been released. Unlike their predecessor »Blank Project«, Four Tet played an even more central role in the creation of the Swede’s latest album. All tracks were produced by him this time.

The recordings included the Creative Music Studio of jazz pianist Karl Berger, who had already played in Neneh’s father Don Cherry’s band in the 1960s. The album cover was by the famous photographer Wolfgang Tilmans. More pop is impossible!

* 01 Fallen Leaves

  • 02 Kong
  • 03 Poem Daddy
  • 04 Synchronised Devotion
  • 05 Deep Vein Thrombosis
  • 06 Faster Than The Truth
  • 07 Natural Skin Deep
  • 08 Shot Gun Shack
  • 09 Black Monday
  • 10 Cheap Breakfast Special
  • 11 Slow Release
  • 12 Soldier

»Broken Politics« by Neneh Cherry is soon to be released on AWAL Recordings/Smalltwon Supersound.