The Smile

Wall Of Eyes

XL Recordings • 2024

The Smile is a British band that, like many other musical projects, took root in the deepest lockdowns of 2020. Thom Yorke and Jonny Greenwood, both from the Radiohead camp, joined forces with Sons Of Kemet drummer Tom Skinner to form a band that was born out of the sheer joy of making music together. The trio finally made their début in 2022 with the album »A Light for Attracting Attention«. Initially seen by some as a musical counterpart to Radiohead, The Smile eventually managed to shake off the band comparisons and equivalence status and act as an independent work in the music bubble. The trio continue to produce and now follow up with a second studio album, »Wall Of Eyes«, which sees the band, formed during the pandemic, take the next step in their discography. The tracks are somewhere between post-punk and psychedelic rock. The timbre of Thom Yorke’s voice instinctively gives the album a familiar character. The guitar riffs of the eponymous song »Wall Of Eyes« give the melodies a campfire atmosphere. They create introspective sonic arrangements that run like a thread through the entire album. As the ultimate in psychedelia, the trio is supported by the London Contemporary Orchestra, which, in combination with the already sensitive, almost dark post-punk, defies all expectations.