Music Review | posted 15.10.2013
Pusha T
My Name Is My Name
Decon, 2013
Text Pippo Kuhzart , Translation Julia Frohn
Your Rating:
7.3
User (7)
8.3
Editorial
Cover Pusha T - My Name Is My Name

I’m tired of reading it myself and still have to write it, too: Pusha T has not tapped his full potential often enough. The last record to fully show his skills was »Hell Hath No Fury« (2006); afterwards, there were only a few songs hinting at his talents. Now he has finally released his first solo record, and I still can’t seem to make peace with my Pusha-Stan-dom. Kelly Rowland? What the hell? Kevin Cossom? Piss off! Chris Brown? Nuff said. And the fact that Pusha opens a track with the words »I sold more dope than I sold records, you niggas sold records, never sold dope« and then has Officer Rawse aka Rick Ross be part of the track is just.. well… let’s say it’s an unfortunate choice. However, those are the only reasons why I’m not running through the city like a madman, why I’m not throwing »Eghck« in everyone’s faces. Because if you take away those initial points of criticism, you have to admit that this record is a full on tackle by Sammy Kuffour which has turned into rap. The first two songs already feature Puhsha rapping with a knife between his toes and his teeth on top of beats which are amongst the best raps of the year. If the Spartans had been driven by »Who I Am«, 100 of them would have been enough to destroy the Persians. In addition, you’ll find K.Dot doing high-noon-flexing, sour and impertinent real-talks combined with The-Dream-Team-vocals, and Pusha twice teaming up with the Neptunes. Those are the moments when I’m utterly filled with euphoria from »Hell Hath No Fury«. No one could ever copy this. And to make sure that »MNIMN« doesn’t just produce broken shinbones and sunken ships, there are a few fun-‘n’-games-tracks, too: Kanye proves in »Hold On« that he can not only design shirts but also sing lullabies for codeine-addicted six-years-olds. »MNIMN« might not be the final record of revelation, but there are four or five tracks that make any of this year’s rap-releases look as if Mommy needs to come and fetch them from kindergarten.

You can find »My Name Is My Name« by Pusha T at hhv.de on CD and Deluxe-Bundle
Related Articles
Music Review | posted 20.01.2012
Gangrene
Vodka & Ayahuasca
On Vodka & Ayahuasca, The Alchemist and Oh No have yet again brewed acoustic hallucinogens into the form of a LP.
Music Review | posted 01.08.2012
The Alchemist
Russian Roulette
He could just lean back and enjoy his life as platinum-producer. Instead, The Alchemist comes forward with his personal »Donuts«.
Music Review | posted 29.11.2012
Roc Marciano
Reloaded
Those in search for an authentic, gimmick-less rap-sound from 2012, will definitely be happy with Roc Marciano.
Music Portrait | posted 14.09.2010
Black Milk
Waiting for the big strike
Doubtless, Black Milk could have chosen a more modest title than Album of the Year for his new album. So what?
Music Review | posted 30.11.2010
Kanye West
My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy
Kanye West returns to his root-skills, places his bets on big Pop-moments and thereby takes one or two steps forward again.
Music Review | posted 10.03.2007
Evidence
The Weatherman LP
Less nostalgia, more willingness to take risks without leaving his own neo-classical niche: hating Evidence has become uncool again.
Music Review | posted 14.06.2007
Pharoahe Monch
Desire
Those who’ve heard the Monch’s flow would buy any album on which he just raps.
Music Review
Sepehr
Survivalism
Sepehr pays his dues to the sound of the hardcore continuum. But his »Survivalism« mini-LP also offers much more than only that.
Music Review
Xochimoki
Temple Of The New Sun
»Temple Of The New Sun« comprises pieces by the project Xochimoki, which in the 1980s dedicated itself to reinterpreting Mesoamerican music forms.
Music Review
Soshi Takeda
Floating Mountains
Soshi Takeda translates the sight of Chinese mountain landscapes to lo-fi house with his »Floating Mountains« album for 100% Silk.
Music Review
Sault
NINE
»NINE« by Sault drenches all whites in hydrochloric acid, sends beautiful greetings from Stax Studios and holds a mass like Yeezus.
Music Review
Cindytalk
Wappinschaw
Once understood, it’s life-changing: »Wappinschaw«, 1994 released highlight of Cindytalk, has now been reissued on Dais Records.
Music Review
Various Artists
Eins Und Zwei Und Drei Und Vier
Kann eine Compilation über die Neue Deutsche Welle noch neue Einblicke ermöglichen? »Eins Und Zwei Und Drei Und Vier« zeigt, ja, das geht.
Music Review
Palmbomen II
Make A Film
Film without music is possible, but meaningless. Palmbomen II thought so and created 24 musical sketches that invite you to »Make A Film«.
Music Review
Various Artists
Back Up: Mexican Tecno Pop 1980-1989
In Mexico, too, synthesizers and drum machines were popular in the eighties. You can listen to them on the compilation »Back Up: Mexican Tecno Pop 1980-1989«.
Music Review
Nala Sinephro
Space 1.8
The most successful example of jazz that holds its own in open dialogue with electronic approaches comes this year from Nala Sinephro and is called »Space 1.8«.
Music Review
Angel Olsen
Aisles
On »Aisles«, Angel Olsen covers songs from the eighties that she heard as a child in the supermarket. A little masterpiece of five songs.
Music Review
Tata Vasquez & His Orchestra
Ecstasy
Tata Vasquez is another musician for whom it is hard to understand why he hasn’t made more records. But we can be very happy with »Ecstasy«.
Music Review
Hiro Kone
Silvercoat The Throng
With the album »Silvercoat The Throng,« Hiro Kone significantly expands their sonic palette without losing their signature style.
Music Review
Flying Lotus
Yasuke O.S.T.
A bit like haiku without words: With the soundtrack to the Netflix series »Yasuke«, Flying Lotus once again shows all its skills.
Music Review
Uman
Chaleur Humaine
Freedom To Spend reissues »Chaleur Humaine«, the 1992 debut by the French sibling duo Uman.
Music Review
Little Simz
Sometimes I Might Be Introvert
Forget Drake! Kanye West anyway! The rap album of these days is called »Sometimes I Might Be Introvert« and comes from Little Simz.
Music Review
Jan Jelinek
The Raw And The Cooked
With »The Raw And The Cooked«, Jan Jelinek has cooked up a nice soup for us. His work, originally composed for SWR, is now available on vinyl record. Delicious!
Music Review
Hozan Yamamoto & Yu Imai
Akuma Ga Kitarite Fue Wo Fuku
The soundtrack to the 1979 film »Akuma Ga Kitarite Fue Wo Fuku« composed by Hozan Yamamoto and Yu Imai has now been re-released.
Music Review
Jolly Mare
Epsilon
Mediterranean summer music: You have to imagine the sea of Jolly Mare on »Epsilon« as a cheerful one.
Music Review
The Arpeggio Jazz Ensemble
Le-Le
On the threshold of acid jazz, »Le-Le«, by The Arpeggio Jazz Ensemble from Philadelphia, was released in 1987. Now comes a reissue.
Music Review
Venetian Snares
Rossz Csillag Alatt Született
The finally rereleased LP “Rossz Csillag Alatt Született” is and remains Venetian Snares’ most ambitious album.
Music Review
Park Hye Jin
Before I Die
»Before I Die«, the debut of the South Korean musician Park Hye Jin, released on Ninja Tune, follows a sophisticated architecture.
Music Review
Xique-Xique
Na Lagoa
»Na Lagoa«, into the lagoon, is where the Brazilian duo Xique-Xique go on their now released debut album.
Music Review
Tülay German & François Rabbath
Tülay German & François Rabbath
On the first of their two joint albums, Tülay German & Francois Rabbath explored Turkish folklore. The result from 1980 still sounds timeless today.
Music Review
Sarah Davachi
Antiphonals
Milky shimmering pearls: Canadian musician Sarah Davachi has released a great new album with »Antiphonals«.
Music Review
Ian Carr
Belladonna
»Belladonna«, Ian Carr’s gem from 1972, has now been reissued. Jazz lovers should get their hands on it.
Music Review
Arpanet
Inertial Frame
With »Inertial Frame«, the third and last album by Gerald Donald’s project Arpanet, released in 2006, is now being reissued. The past catches up with the future.
Music Review
Al-Dos Band
Doing Our Thing With Pride
Recorded in 1976, never released until now, Kalita brings »Doing Our Thing With Pride« by the elegantly sparkling Al-Dos Band to life.
Music Review
The Pro-Teens
I Flip My Life Every Time I Fly
Is Melbourne the secret capital of retro-funk? With »I Flip My Life Every Time I Fly«, a band called The Pro-Teens is preparing to confirm this assumption.
Music Review
DJ Seinfeld
Mirrors
»Mirrors« is the name of the second album of the Swedish producer DJ Seinfeld. And compared to previous music, the mirrors are well cleaned.
Music Review
Sorcerer
Kids World
»Kids World,« the new album from California based musician Daniel Saxon Judd aka Sorcerer is out on Growing Bin.
Music Review
Sofie Birch & Johan Carøe
Repair Techniques
»Repair Techniques« is a classic Sofie Birch album, but not only thanks to Johan Carøe also much more than that. Her collaboration on STROOM~ impresses with small gestures.
Music Review
Leo Acosta
Acosta
Another musical archaeological excavation has succeeded the label Mad About with »Acosta«, the last album of Leo Acosta released in 1970.
Music Review
Li Yilei
之/OF
More than just the usual pandemic record: on »之/OF« for the Berlin label Métron, Li Yilei masterfully expresses a precarious mood in small vignettes.
Music Review
Ebi (Susumu Yokota)
Space Teddy Collection II
More great tracks by Japanese producer Susumu Yokota, who passed away in 2015, are out now as »Space Teddy Collection II«.
Music Review
Joy Orbison
Still Slipping Vol.1
With »Still Slipping Vol.1« Joy Orbison dares for the first time with a release beyond 25 minutes and introduces house music to the mixtape format.
Music Review
Devendra Banhart & Noah Georgeson
Refuge
Get down and listen inside: Devendra Banhart and Noah Georgeson have recorded a consistently spiritual album with »Refuge«.
Music Review
Lingua Ignota
Sinner Get Ready
Round three of Lingua Ignota’s reckoning with the tormentor who subjugated her for years and is representative for all power-hungry assholes.
Music Review
Various Artists
Habibi Funk: An Eclectic Selection Part 2
Berlin-based label Habibi Funk presents »An Eclectic Selection Part 2«, a new compilation of overlooked music from the Arab world.
Music Review
VC-118A
Spiritual Machines
With »Spiritual Machines«, Dutchman Samuel van Dijk once again presents a first-class album as VC-118A.
Music Review
Moin
Moot!
Together with Valentina Magaletti, the duo Raime has not only reaniminated its project Moin for the LP »Moot!«, but also immediately expanded it.
Music Review
Humans In A Pool
Humans In A Pool
The Viennese group Takeshi’s Cashew celebrate the chaos of our time and the exuberance of life with »Humans In A Pool«.