The History of Math Rock in 20 Vinyl records

Math-Rock
At the end of the 1980s, bands began to upset the rock coordinate system. Rock became more unconventional, more arrhythmic, more dissonant. More mathematical? Maybe. In any case, these bands helped break down clichés of what rock should sound like and created a sound that still resonates today.

Another genre that supposedly no one plays: no sooner does the rhythm of an album become confusing than the record belongs to the genre of math rock, thus confounding the range of artists in the genre to this day. All we know for certain is that math rock is characterised by odd and asymmetrical bars as well as dissonances (meaning: noise). Often the type of rhythm changes several times during a song. Which is precisely what led to the name of the genre because the sound feels cerebral. But is that enough to distinguish it from other genres?

Prototypes

Besides jazz, experimental, post-hardcore and indie, it was above all progressive rock that influenced the genre. The most important precursors include the legendary album »Red« by King Crimson from 1974, Black Flag’s »My War« from 1984 or the records of the experimental US band Massacre. And that’s when the overstretched bandwidth opens up. It’s more than just a leap from Black Flag to the avant-sound of Massacre.

From the end of the ’80s, math rock started to emerge as a description of a musical approach that freed itself from the omnipresent pop culture influence and the quirkiness of rock. In ’91, Slint’s »Spiderland« represented the condensed foundation for both math rock and post-rock. While numerous bands soon sought the epic and the force in post-rock, math rock tended to focus more on the interior and the essence. This was also due to the line-up – trios frequently struggled to achieve this sound.

More attitude than genre

In the mid-’90s, music critics classified a large number of albums as math rock – but as quickly as the genre appeared, it disappeared from the landscape again. Most musicians reject the label anyway. Still, records have been released and continue to be released that employ odd beats and dissonances. In most cases, however, these albums are given the labels progressive rock (see The Mars Volta) or experimental rock (see Battles).

However, if you dig through the history of math rock, you will find that these albums share more similarities with each other than with other genres – even if they range from American Football to Converge. A brief history of math rock in twenty albums.


Bastro
Diablo Guapo
Homestead • 1989 • from 22.99€

Something was brewing in Louisville, Kentucky, at the end of the '80s. Back in 1983, some teenagers, at the time between 13 and 16 years of age, had formed the band Squirrel Bait, and recorded two LPs. The band broke up in '87 and two new bands emerged from it. One was called Slint (to be discussed later). The other was called Bastro. Guitarist David Grubbs (later: Gastr del Sol and others) and bassist Clark Johnson recorded the EP »Rode Hard & Put Up Wet« in 1988, with Steve Albini at the controls and a drum machine as the drummer that was soon replaced by John McEntire (later: Tortoise and others), a percussion student at Oberlin College in Ohio. The three then recorded »Diablo Guapo« in 1989, the first of two grandiose albums that formed the basis for the developments of math rock, post-rock and post-hardcore in the nineties. This album could no longer be thought of in familiar categories, was metal, was jazz, was fluffy melody as well as the most beautiful noise. It shook off all that was conventional in rock.

Sebastian Hinz
Slint
Spiderland Remastered Edition
Touch And Go • 1991 • from 28.99€

Guitarist and singer Brian McMahan (later: Palace Brothers) and drummer Britt Walford (later: The Breeders) also played with Squirrel Bait and then formed the band Slint together with guitarist David Pajo (Papa M) and bassist Ethan Buckler. They recorded their first album »Tweez« in '87 (also) with Steve Albini, whose band Big Black was a huge influence anyway. Ethan Buckler then left the band and was replaced by Todd Brashear. In '91 »Spiderland« was released. An indisputable masterpiece of guitar music. The music was only half as wild as Bastro, more accessible and of mystical depth. These seductive guitar melodies paired with syncopated rhythms that were always a little off the mark ignited a pull on listeners who, to this day, don't even suspect that rock music beyond the four-four paradigm is being played here. One day after finishing the recordings for »Spiderland«, Brian McMahan had himself admitted to a psychiatric hospital, where he was diagnosed with depression. It was the end of the band.

Sebastian Hinz
Polvo – Today's Active Lifestyles
Polvo
Today's Active Lifestyles Red & Yellow Vinyl Edition
Merge • 2020 • from 21.99€

Meanwhile, in the small university town of Chapel Hill, North Carolina, Ash Bowie, Dave Brylawski, Steve Popsong and Eddie Watkins met. They had each independently spent the second half of the '80s studying the SST Record catalogue, gaining knowledge that they were about to reshape into a sound of their own as Polvo. »Today's Active Lifestyles« (1993) is their second album and perfectly formulates their sound, which is basically a start-stop pattern. The music sounds simple, as if the musicians in the rehearsal room were constantly standing on each other's feet, bumping into each other, tripping over cables, resulting in the riff they had just played having to be restarted, but played differently, given a different rhythm.

Sebastian Hinz
Breadwinner
Burner
Merge • 1994 • from 14.99€

Despite being in existence for just two years (1990 to 1992), the trio Breadwinner from Richmond, Virginia is considered one of math rock's most definitive bands. They left behind just over twenty minutes of music, gathered on the compilation »Burner«, which begins with »Tourette's«. It immediately becomes clear: the band took hardcore and heavy metal as starting points for a new sound. A sound which is much more complex, exhausting and demanding than, for example, all the varieties of grunge that were popular at the same time. An album like a small (and somewhat belated) big bang for the genre.

Björn Bischoff
Shellac
At Action Park
Touch & Go • 1994 • from 30.99€

One of the major influences on the bands featured here (if not every other college band in the US) was Big Black from Chicago, Illinois. Steve Albini formed the band in 1982 and disbanded it in 1987. He then put his guitar on the sidelines for some time to instead became one of the most sought-after sound engineers (he rejected the word producer) on the planet. In 1992, he formed a new band with Bob Weston (bass) and Todd Trainer (drums): Shellac. Small outfit, minimal rock, odd rhythms, fat grooves. If you didn't understand math rock until then, you will with their 1994 debut »At Action Park«. The album begins with what seems like a slipped slide of the plectrum over the strings (see Polvo). Then bass and drums. Then guitar. Everything perfectly arranged. Not a note too many. A masterpiece.

Sebastian Hinz
Karate
Karate
Numero Group • 1995 • from 24.99€

On their debut, Karate from Boston, Massachusetts were still in their discovery phase, which made the self-titled album so exciting. In the course of their work, Karate moved closer and closer towards jazz, but at the start they still embraced influences from emo and indie. »Trophy« barely scrapes by conventional song structures. In »Every Sister«, on the other hand, the path to the more relaxed realms of jazz rock already shows through. There is no more pleasurable introduction to math rock than this album.

Björn Bischoff
Chavez
Ride The Fader
Matador • 1996 • from 19.59€

Chavez never got the attention they deserved. The band headed by guitarist Matt Sweeney released two albums: »Gone Glimmering« (1995) and »Ride The Fader« (1996). The sound the New Yorkers made was too caught up between the styles of lo-fi, emo-core and math rock to really leave its mark. Nevertheless, it's worth getting into because Matt Sweeney is a devil of a guitarist. Later, he went on to support Bonnie »Prince« Billie, Cat Power, Guided by Voices, Run the Jewels and Billy Corgan on their projects.

Sebastian Hinz
Don Caballero
What Burns Never Returns
Touch & Go • 2007 • from 21.59€

After a two-year hiatus, the instrumental band Don Caballero returned with their third album, »What Burns Never Returns«, on which they had significantly streamlined their sound. While the Melvins were a distant reference for their predecessors, Don Caballero delivers frisky rock music here. Dynamics and edges are still there, but the band from Pittsburgh delves more into experimentation on the eight tracks, opening sideshows here and there to the main themes of the songs. Not a wild album, but wonderfully rapturous and off-kilter songs. And the album that probably best fulfils the genre classification math rock.

Björn Bischoff Sebastian Hinz
American Football
American Football Deluxe Edition
Polyvinyl • 2014 • from 40.99€

Another album with cult status in selected circles. However, these circles could hardly be more different when it comes to American Football's self-titled debut. On one side, there are the friends of intricate and complicated structures and, on the other, the fans of emo rock. The nine songs actually all fit on any college radio station without any trouble. »Stay Home« is the only track that ruffles the conventional structures of emo rock over eight minutes. Otherwise, the record seems almost tame compared to other candidates on this list.

Björn Bischoff
Couch
Fantasy
Kollaps • 1999

The Munich band Couch garnered a smattering of music reviews for their third album »Fantasy«, which were almost brimming over with praise. The major attention failed to materialise, but this was not due to the record. On the surface, it was about indie, electronica, and post-rock, which suggested the comparison to The Notwist, but Couch were even more introverted and fanciful. The songs on »Fantasy« never overtax the listener, but simply flow wonderfully. An album for dreaming and coming down.

Björn Bischoff
June of 44
Anahata
Quarterstick • 1999

Once again, we have to look to Louisville, Kentucky. In the niche between post-rock and math rock, bands like Rodan, Shipping News, The For Carnation and June of 44 can be seen to have formed there since the early '90s. Guitarist Jeff Mueller had his fingers in the pie on all of these projects and then brought in drummer Doug Scharin (also: Codeine, Rex, Enablers), bassist Fred Erskine (also: Hoover) and guitarist Sean Meadows (also: Lungfish, The Sonora Pine). A sensational line-up. In the '90s they recorded three particularly good albums and a fantastic one. The incredible one is called »Anahata« and is more intricate, more fragmented than the others. At the same time, it is inspired by melancholy. The new millennium in sight, the end of an era set to music. They put everything into this album and couldn't add anything more.

Sebastian Hinz
Faraquet
The View from this Tower
Dischord • 2000

Faraquet from Washington, D.C. combined post-hardcore with progressive rock. As a result, many critics considered their only album »The View From This Tower« to be the math rock album of the turn of the millennium. And indeed, on tracks like »Song for Friends to Me« you can hear exactly this tug of emotions during every second. The rhythm constantly wants to make the leap into post-hardcore, but the guitar pulls the thing back into lighter moments every time. Only to culminate in »Conceptual Separation of Self«, which is reminiscent of Slint in its reduced style. A record that draws its best moments precisely from these contrasts.

Björn Bischoff
Surrogat
Rock
Kitty-Yo • 2000 • from 21.99€

Around the turn of the millennium, Surrogat were the most uncompromising rock band in Germany. There was always a bit of megalomania involved. The rock gestures were played larger than life, the claims were formulated in an exaggerated way. At the same time, the music was much more sophisticated, much more cerebral than the chavvy attitude of the trio around Patrick Wagner would suggest. »Rock« was, well, rock by other means, unleashed, but at the same time in a corset, with no straight beat, let alone four-four time. In »Rock«, these refractions just about tipped over into the ironic, but they were later (until the demise of the band in about 2003) unfortunately just ordinary ciphers.

Sebastian Hinz
Converge
Jane Doe Clear Vinyl Edition
Deathwish • 2017 • from 38.99€

With their fourth album »Jane Doe«, Converge achieved a breakthrough beyond metal-core circles and still garnered raised eyebrows here and there. Some critics said the record was too fast, too overdriven, too confused. This was because of Ben Koller's hard drumming, but also because of Jacob Bannon's voice. On tracks like »Fault and Fracture«, Bannon almost goes over the top with his vocals, scolding and barking, but he always adapts to the changes in tempo and beats. Overload for the audience in the form of twelve axed out songs without a pause for breath.

Björn Bischoff
Hella
Hold Your Horse
5 Rue Christine • 2002

You can find higher mathematics in this rock music. It takes some practice to follow the winding integral paths of the Californian band Hella (we don't even want to talk about understanding it here). Their debut album »Hold Your Horse Is« (the semantics of the title alone make no sense) is perhaps something like the holy grail of math rock. The precision and tightness of this music cannot be explained with normal common sense, which is why I will leave it at this point. Spencer Seim (guitar) and Zach Hill (drums) are behind it. The latter was later responsible for beats for Death Grips (aha!) and drummed in El Grupo Nuevo De Omar Rodriguez-Lopez. We'll come to Omar Rodriguez-Lopez in a moment.

Sebastian Hinz
The Mars Volta
De-Loused In The Comatorium
Music On Vinyl • 2014 • from 29.99€

A whirlwind of an album: The Mars Volta processed the death of a close friend on their debut »De-Loused In The Comatorium«. However, this can hardly be understood from the lyrics and the sound. The record is too intricate, too complex, yet also too emotionally charged. With »Televators« there is an almost conventional and calm piece featuring acoustic guitar, but alongside it there is sheer madness, as on » Inertiatic Esp«, in which the band constantly changes direction. The songs burst at regular intervals. Some may call it pulse. In the end, it's a sound that you could scrape off the inside of our skulls.

Björn Bischoff
Deerhoof
Apple O'
Kill Rock Stars • 2010 • from 17.99€

Deerhoof have been around for almost 30 years without having achieved a degree of recognition (at least in Germany) that is commensurate with their work. With »Apple O'« from 2003, they recorded one of the rock albums of the Noughties. Matt Groening, creator of The Simpsons, and Karen O, singer of the Yeah Yeah Yeah's, immediately outed themselves as fans. In the combination of Satomi Matsuzaki (bass, vocals), Greg Saunier (drums), John Dieterich (guitar) and Chris Cohen (guitar), which lasted only three years, they enjoyed their best period between 2002 and 2005 releasing four exceptionally good albums. They brought melody back into math rock without losing their eye for complex rhythms.

Sebastian Hinz
Battles
Mirrored
Warp • 2007 • from 28.99€

Eleven songs that sound as if Pacman's ghost recorded them on shrooms. »Mirrored« by Battles is still a big score today, an album full of sideshows that sometimes gets lost in a rhythm here, sometimes in a melody there and yet loses none of its psychotic power. Accordingly, songs like »Atlas« almost sound like math rock hymns with lines like: »People won't be people when they hear this sound.« The band has never been more playful nor madder than this.

Björn Bischoff
Marnie Stern
In Advance of the Broken Arm
Kill Rock Stars • 2007

»In Advance of the Broken Arm« was the riff from »Vibrational Match«, the first song from guitarist Marnie Stern's 2007 debut. Marie Stern combines her finger tapping based guitar playing (as we know it from Don Caballero's and Battles' Ian Williams), with the melodiousness of Deerhoof, the attitude of nineties riot grrrl bands and the worldliness of New York bohemians. Oh, and Marnie Stern is funny. It's about time for a new album.

Sebastian Hinz
Black Midi
Schlagenheim
Rough Trade • 2019 • from 25.99€

The most recent return of math rock? With their debut, the Brits from black midi have once again infused the presumedly dead sound of experimental, indie, progressive and noise with energy and labelled it math rock. »Schlagenheim« doesn't reveal its greatest moments the first time you listen to it, but steadily builds up as the mind untangles the various sound knots. In these times of so many pleasing sounds, the nine songs come across as delightfully overwhelming.

Björn Bischoff

Die Geschichte des Math-Rock in 20 Schallplatten

Math-Rock
Ende der 1980er Jahre haben Bands begonnen, das Koordinatensystem Rock durcheinanderzubringen. Rock wurde unkonventioneller, aryhthmischer, dissonanter. Mathematischer? Vielleicht. Jedenfalls halfen diese Bands Klischees abzubauen, wie Rock zu klingen hat und schufen einen Sound, der bis heute nachhallt.

Noch so ein Genre, das angeblich niemand bespielt: Kaum wird der Rhythmus eines Albums unübersichtlich, gehört die Platte zum Math-Rock. Was die Bandbreite an Künstlern des Genres bis heute ebenso unübersichtlich macht. Denn es steht lediglich fest, dass Math-Rock sich durch ungerade und asymmetrische Takte sowie Dissonanzen (meint: Lärm) auszeichnet. Oftmals wechselt die Art des Rhythmus während eines Songs gleich mehrmals. Was eben zum Namen des Genres führte, denn der Sound fühlt sich verkopft an. Aber reicht das als Unterscheidungsmerkmal zu anderen Genres?

Prototypen

Neben Jazz, Experimental, Post-Hardcore und Indie beeinflusste vor allem Progressive Rock das Genre. Zu den wichtigsten Vorläufern gehören das legendäre Album »Red« von King Crimson von 1974, Black Flags »My War« von 1984 oder die Platten der experimentellen US-Band Massacre. Und da tut sich bereits die überspannte Bandbreite auf: Von Black Flag hin zum Avant-Sound von Massacre ist es mehr als nur ein Sprung.

Ab Ende der 1980er-Jahre taucht Math-Rock dann als Beschreibung eines musikalischen Ansatzes auf, der sich von Einflüssen aus der großen Popkultur und vom Mackertum des Rocks freimachte. Auf »Spiderland« von Slint fand sich verdichtet dann 1991 die Anlage sowohl für Math-Rock als auch Post-Rock. Während zahlreiche Bands im Post-Rock bald das Epische und die Wucht suchten, richtete sich Math-Rock eher ins Innere und auf die Essenz. Was auch an der Besetzung lag – oftmals mühten sich Trios an diesem Sound ab.

Mehr Haltung als Genre

Mitte der 1990er-Jahre ordnen Musikkritiker eine Vielzahl an Alben dem Math-Rock zu – so schnell wie das Genre auftauchte, verschwindet es aus den Texten jedoch wieder. Die meisten Musiker lehnen die Bezeichnung sowieso ab. In der jüngeren Vergangenheit und in der Gegenwart erschienen und erscheinen nicht weniger Platten, die mit ungeraden Takten und Dissonanzen arbeiten. Allerdings bekommen diese Alben in den meisten Fällen die Label Progressive Rock (siehe The Mars Volta) oder Experimental Rock (siehe Battles) zugeschrieben.

Wer sich jedoch durch die Geschichte des Math-Rock hört, wird viel mehr Gemeinsamkeiten dieser Alben zueinander als zu anderen Genres feststellen. Selbst wenn die Spanne von American Football bis Converge reicht. Eine kurze Geschichte des Math-Rock in zwanzig Alben.

Themenschwerpunkt Mathematik

Mathematik & Musik

Beiträge zu Metriken, Zahlen, Geometrie, Formen, Stochastik, Algorithmen in der Musik und den Personen dahinter.

Zum Themenschwerpunkt

Bastro
Diablo Guapo
Homestead • 1989 • ab 22.99€

Es braute sich etwas zusammen in Louisville, Kentucky, Ende der 1980er Jahre. Schon 1983 hatten einige Teenager, zu dem Zeitpunkt zwischen 13 und 16 Jahre alt, die Band Squirrel Bait gegründet, zwei Schallplatten aufgenommen. Die Band löste sich 1987 auf und daraus entstanden zwei neue Bands. Die eine hieß Slint (über die wird noch zu reden sein). Die andere hieß Bastro. Gitarrist David Grubbs (später: Gastr del Sol u.a.) und Bassist Clark Johnson nahmen 1988 die EP »Rode Hard & Put Up Wet« auf, mit Steve Albini an den Reglern und einer Drum Machine als Schlagzeuger. Die wurde dann bald durch John McEntire (später: Tortoise u.a.) ersetzt, Schlagzeugstudent am Oberlin College in Ohio. Die drei spielten dann 1989 »Diablo Guapo« ein, die erste von zwei grandiosen Alben, welche die Grundlage waren für die Entwicklungen von Math-Rock, Post-Rock, Post-Hardcore in den Neunzigern. Dieses Album konnte nicht mehr in bekannten Kategorien gedacht werden, war Metal, war Jazz, war fluffige Melodie und schönster Krach. Es hat all das Konventionelle im Rock abgeschüttelt.

Sebastian Hinz
Slint
Spiderland Remastered Edition
Touch And Go • 1991 • ab 28.99€

Gitarrist und Sänger Brian McMahan (später: Palace Brothers) und Schlagzeuger Britt Walford (später: The Breeders) spielten ebenfalls bei Squirrel Bait und bildeten zusammen mit dem Gitarristen David Pajo (Papa M) und Bassist Ethan Buckler dann die Band Slint. Ihr erstes Album »Tweez« nahmen sie 1987 (auch) mit Steve Albini auf, dessen Band Big Black eh ein großer Einfluss war. Ethan Buckler verließ die Band und wurde durch Todd Brashear ersetzt. 1991 erschien dann »Spiderland«. Unbestritten ein Meisterwerk der Gitarrenmusik. Die Musik war nur halb so wild wie die Bastro, zugänglicher und von mystischer Tiefe. Diese verführerischen Gitarrenmelodien gepaart mit den synkopischen Rhythmen, also Rhythmen, die immer ein wenig neben der Erwartung liegen, haben einen Sog auf Hörer entfacht, die bis heute nicht mal ahnen, dass hier Rockmusik jenseits der Vierviertelparadigmen gespielt wird. Einen Tag nach Beendigung der Aufnahmen zu »Spiderland« hat sich Brian McMahan in eine Nervenklinik einweisen lassen, wo bei ihm Depression diagnostiziert wurde. Das Ende der Band.

Sebastian Hinz
Polvo – Today's Active Lifestyles
Polvo
Today's Active Lifestyles Red & Yellow Vinyl Edition
Merge • 2020 • ab 21.99€

Währenddessen trafen sich im Universitätsstädtchen Chapel Hill, North Carolina Ash Bowie, Dave Brylawski, Steve Popsong und Eddie Watkins. Sie hatten unabhängig voneinander die zweite Hälfte der Achtziger damit verbracht den Katalog von SST Record zu studieren, ein Wissen, das sie nun als Polvo zu einem eigenen Sound umformen sollten. »Today's Active Lifestyles« (1993) ist ihr zweites Album und formuliert perfekt ihren Sound, der im Prinzip von einem Start-Stopp-Muster geprägt ist. Die Musik klingt schlicht, als würden die Musiker im Proberaum ständig sich auf den Füßen stehen, anrempeln, über Kabel stolpern, was dazu führt, das eben gespielte Riff neu anzusetzen, aber anders gespielt, mit einem anderen Rhythmus versehen.

Sebastian Hinz
Breadwinner
Burner
Merge • 1994 • ab 14.99€

Trotz ihres gerade einmal zweijährigen Bestehens (1990 bis 1992) gilt das Trio Breadwinner aus Richmond, Virginia als eine der definitivsten Bands des Math-Rock. Sie hinterließ etwas mehr als zwanzig Minuten Musik, versammelt auf der Zusammenstellung »Burner«, die mit »Tourette’s« beginnt. Bereits da wird klar: Die Band nahm Hardcore und Heavy Metal als Ausgangspunkte für einen neuen Sound. Der viel komplexer, anstrengender und fordernder ist als etwa alle Spielarten des zeitgleich populären Grunge. Ein Album wie ein kleiner (und etwas verspäteter) Urknall des Genres.

Björn Bischoff
Shellac
At Action Park
Touch & Go • 1994 • ab 30.99€

Eine der größten Einflüsse der hier aufgeführten Bands (wenn nicht jeder zweiten College-Band in den USA) waren Big Black aus Chicago, Illinois. Steve Albini gründete die Band 1982 und legte sie 1987 zu den Akten. Danach legte er seine Gitarre für einige Zeit zur Seite, wurde aber stattdessen einer der gefragtesten Toningenieure (das Wort Produzent lehnte er ab) des Planeten. 1992 gründete er eine zusammen mit Bob Weston (Bass) und Todd Trainer (Schlagzeug) eine neue Band: Shellac. Kleines Outfit, minimaler Rock, ungerade Rhythmen, fette Grooves. Wer bis dahin Math-Rock nicht verstanden hatte, mit ihrem 1994er Debüt »At Action Park«. Das Album beginnt mit einem wie abgerutscht wirkenden Gleiten des Plektrums über die Saiten (siehe Polvo). Dann Bass und Schlagzeug. Dann Gitarre. Alles perfekt arrangiert. Keine Note zu viel. Meisterwerk.

Sebastian Hinz
Karate
Karate
Numero Group • 1995 • ab 24.99€

Auf ihrem Debüt waren Karate aus Boston, Massachussetts noch in der Findungsphase, was das selbstbetitelte Album so spannend machte. Im Laufe ihres Schaffens näherten sich Karate mehr und mehr dem Jazz an, doch zum Start ließen sie noch Einflüsse aus Emo und Indie zu. »Trophy« schrammt knapp an konventionellen Songstrukturen vorbei. In »Every Sister« schlägt hingegen bereits der Weg in die entspannteren Gefilde des Jazz Rock durch. Ein angenehmerer Einstieg in Math-Rock als dieses Album findet sich daher nicht.

Björn Bischoff
Chavez
Ride The Fader
Matador • 1996 • ab 19.59€

Chavez haben nie die verdiente Aufmerksamkeit bekommen. Zwei Alben hat die Band um Gitarrist Matt Sweeney veröffentlicht: »Gone Glimmering« (1995) und »Ride The Fader« (1996). Der Sound der New Yorker war vielleicht zu unentschieden zwischen den Stilen Lo-Fi, Emo-Core und eben Math-Rock, um wirklich prägend zu werden. Trotzdem lohnt die Beschäftigung, denn Matt Sweeney ist der Teufel von einem Gitarristen. Später soll er Bonnie »Prince« Billie, Cat Power, Guided By Voices, Run the Jewels oder Billy Corgan bei ihren Projekten unterstützen.

Sebastian Hinz
Don Caballero
What Burns Never Returns
Touch & Go • 2007 • ab 21.59€

Nach zwei Jahren Pause kehrte die Instrumental-Band Don Caballero mit ihrem dritten Album »What Burns Never Returns« zurück – und hatten ihren Sound deutlich entschlackt. Fielen bei den Vorgängern die Melvins als entfernte Referenz, bieten Don Caballero hier vor allem verspielte Rockmusik. Dynamik und Kante sind noch drin, aber die Band aus Pittsburgh vertieft sich auf den acht Tracks vielmehr in Experimente, macht hier und da Nebenschauplätze zu den Hauptthemen der Songs auf. Kein wildes Album, sondern einfach herrlich entrückte und ungerade Songs. Und das Album, das die Genre-Zuordnung Math-Rock wohl am besten erfüllt.

Björn Bischoff Sebastian Hinz
American Football
American Football Deluxe Edition
Polyvinyl • 2014 • ab 40.99€
Noch so ein Album mit Kultstatus in ausgewählten Kreisen. Jedoch könnten diese Kreise beim selbstbetitelten Debüt von American Football kaum unterschiedlicher sein: Da wären auf der einen Seite eben die Freunde vertrackter und komplizierter Strukturen – und auf der anderen Seite die Fans von Emo Rock. Die neun Songs passen tatsächlich alle ohne Probleme in jedes beliebige College Radio. »Stay Home« plustert lediglich die konventionellen Strukturen des Emo Rock über acht Minuten auf. Ansonsten wirkt die Platte im Vergleich zu anderen Kandidaten dieser Liste fast handzahm. Björn Bischoff
Couch
Fantasy
Kollaps • 1999

Die Münchener Band Couch erntete ein paar Musikkritiken zu ihrem dritten Album »Fantasy«, die vor Lob fast übergingen. Die große Aufmerksamkeit blieb zwar aus, was jedoch nicht an der Schallplatte lag. Vordergründig ging es um Indie, Electronica und Post-Rock, was den Vergleich zu The Notwist nahelegte, allerdings waren Couch noch introvertierter und verspielter. Die Songs auf »Fantasy« überfordern nie, sondern fließen einfach wunderbar dahin. Ein Album zum Träumen und Runterkommen.

Björn Bischoff
June of 44
Anahata
Quarterstick • 1999

Wir müssen mal wieder nach Louisville, Kentucky schauen. In der Nische zwischen Post-Rock und Math-Rock haben sich seit den frühen Neunzigern dort Bands wie Rodan, Shipping News, The For Carnation und June of 44 gegründet. Gitarrist Jeff Mueller hatte in all diesen Projekten seine Finger und holte dann Schlagzeuger Doug Scharin (auch: Codeine, Rex, Enablers), Bassist Fred Erskine (auch: Hoover) und Gitarrist Sean Meadows (auch: Lungfish, The Sonora Pine) hinzu. Ein sensationelles Line-Up. In den Neunzigern haben sie drei sehr gute Alben und ein sensationelles aufgenommen. Das sensationelle heißt »Anahata«, ist vertrackter, zersplitterter als die anderen. Gleichzeitig von Wehmut beseelt. Das neue Jahrtausend in Blickweite, das Ende einer Ära vertont. Sie haben alles in dieses Album gelegt und nichts mehr nachlegen können.

Sebastian Hinz
Faraquet
The View From This Tower
Dischord • 2000

Faraquet aus Washington, D.C. verband Post-Hardcore mit Progressive Rock. Ergebnis: Ihr einziges Album »The View From This Tower« galt um die Jahrtausendwende für viele Kritiker als das Math-Rock-Album. Und tatsächlich lässt sich in Tracks wie »Song for Friends to Me« jede Sekunde genau dieses Spannungsfeld hören. Der Rhythmus will stets in den Post-Hardcore springen, die Gitarre zieht das Ding aber jedes Mal zurück in leichtere Momente. Nur um dann in »Conceptual Separation of Self« zu münden, das in seinem reduzierten Stil an Slint erinnert. Eine Platte, die ihre besten Momente genau aus diesen Gegensätzen zieht.

Björn Bischoff
Surrogat
Rock
Kitty-Yo • 2000 • ab 21.99€

So um die Jahrtausendwende waren Surrogat die kompromissloseste Rockband Deutschlands. Da war auch immer ein bisschen Größenwahn dabei. Die Rockgesten wurden überdimensional groß gespielt, die Ansprüche überhöht formuliert. Gleichzeitig war die Musik viel ausgefuchster, viel verkopfter, als es die prollige Attitüde des Trios um Patrick Wagner vermuten ließ. »Rock« war nämlich dann doch Rock mit anderen Mitteln, entfesselt zwar, aber gleichzeitig im Korsett, mit Verzicht auf einen geraden Takt, Vierviertel schon gar nicht. Diese Brechungen kippen bei »Rock« gerade noch ins Ironische, später (bis zum Ende der Band ca. 2003) sind's dann leider nur noch ordinäre Chiffren.

Sebastian Hinz
Converge
Jane Doe Clear Vinyl Edition
Deathwish • 2017 • ab 38.99€

Mit ihrem vierten Album »Jane Doe« schafften Converge den Durchbruch über Metalcore-Kreise hinaus – und ernteten trotzdem hier wie da hochgezogene Augenbrauen. Zu schnell, zu übersteuert, zu verworren sei die Platte, hieß es in manchen Kritiken. Was an dem harten Drumming von Ben Koller, aber auch an der Stimme von Jacob Bannon lag. In Tracks wie »Fault and Fracture« überschlägt sich Bannon beinahe, dass er seinen Gesang eher keift und bellt. Aber eben stets angepasst auf Änderungen des Tempos und der Takte. Überforderung für das Publikum in Form von zwölf Brettern von Songs ohne Atempause.

Björn Bischoff
Hella
Hold Your Horse
5 Rue Christine • 2002

In diesem Rock steckt nun höhere Mathematik. Es braucht einiges an Übung, um den verschlungenen Integralpfade der kalifornischen Band Hella zu folgen (von Verstehen wollen wir hier gar nicht reden). Ihr Debüt »Hold Your Horse Is« (schon die Semantik des Titels macht keinen Sinn) ist vielleicht so etwas wie der heilige Gral des Math-Rock. Die Präzision und Tightness dieser Musik ist mit normalem Menschenverstand nicht erklärbar, weshalb ich es an dieser Stelle auch sein lasse. Dahinter stecken Spencer Seim (Gitarre) und Zach Hill (Schlagzeug). Letzterer hat dann ein wenig später Beats für Death Grips (aha!) mitverantwortet und in der El Grupo Nuevo De Omar Rodriguez Lopez getrommelt. Zu Omar Rodriguez-Lopez kommen wir gleich noch.

Sebastian Hinz
The Mars Volta
De-Loused In The Comatorium
Music On Vinyl • 2014 • ab 29.99€

Ein Wirbelsturm von einem Album: The Mars Volta verarbeiteten auf ihrem Debüt »De-Loused In The Comatorium« den Tod eines engen Freundes. Allerdings lässt sich dies anhand der Texte und des Sounds kaum nachvollziehen. Zu vertrackt, zu komplex, aber auch zu emotionsgeladen kommt die Platte daher. Mit »Televators« gibt es zwar ein fast schon konventionelles und ruhiges Stück mit Akustikgitarre, doch daneben reiht sich der blanke Wahnsinn wie in »Inertiatic Esp«, in dem die Band ständig die Richtung ändert. Die Songs zerbersten in regelmäßigen Abständen. Manche möge es auch Puls nennen. Schlussendlich ist es wahrscheinlich der Sound, der sich vom Inneren unserer Schädeldecken abkratzen ließe.

Björn Bischoff
Deerhoof
Apple O'
Kill Rock Stars • 2010 • ab 17.99€

Deerhoof haben inzwischen auch beinahe 30 Jahre auf dem Buckel, ohne (zumindest hierzulande) einen ihrem Schaffen gemäßen Bekanntheitsgrad erreicht zu haben. Denn mit »Apple O'« aus dem Jahr 2003 haben sie eines der Rockalben der 2000er Jahre eingespielt. Matt Groening, Erfinder der Simpsons, und Karen O, Sängerin der Yeah Yeah Yeah's, outeten sich gleich als Fans. In der nur drei Jahre währenden Kombination Satomi Matsuzaki (Bass, Gesang), Greg Saunier (Schlagzeug), John Dieterich (Gitarre) und Chris Cohen (Gitarre) hatten sie zwischen 2002 und 2005 ihre beste Zeit mit vier sehr guten Alben. Sie brachten die Melodie zurück in den Math-Rock, ohne den Blick für vertrackte Rhythmen zu verlieren.

Sebastian Hinz
Battles
Mirrored
Warp • 2007 • ab 28.99€

Elf Songs, die sich anhören, als hätte Pacmans Geist auf Pilzen sie eingespielt. »Mirrored« von Battles ist bis heute ein großes Spiel, ein Album voller Nebenschauplätze, das sich mal hier in einem Rhythmus, mal dort in eine Melodie verrennt – und dabei trotzdem nichts von seiner psychotischen Kraft verliert. Entsprechend muten Songs wie »Atlas« fast wie Hymnen des Math-Rock an, wenn dort Zeilen fallen wie: »People won't be people when they hear this sound.« Verspielter und irrer als hier wurde es bei der Band nie.

Björn Bischoff
Marnie Stern
In Advance of the Broken Arm
Kill Rock Stars • 2007

»In Advance of the Broken Arm« war das Riff von »Vibrational Match«, des ersten Songs des Debüts der Gitarristin Marnie Stern aus dem Jahr 2007. Marie Stern kombiniert ihr auf finger tapping basierendes Gitarrenspiel (wie wir es von Don Caballero's und Battles' Ian Williams kennen), mit der Melodiösität von Deerhoof, der Attitüde von Riot Grrrl-Bands der Neunziger und der Weltgewandtheit der New Yorker Bohéme. Ach, und Marnie Stern ist witzig. Wird echt mal wieder Zeit für ein neues Album.

Sebastian Hinz
Black Midi
Schlagenheim
Rough Trade • 2019 • ab 25.99€

Die jüngste Rückkehr des Math-Rock? Die Briten von black midi pumpten mit ihrem Debüt noch einmal Strom durch den eigentlich totgeglaubten Sound aus Experimental, Indie, Progressive und Noise, der bei ihnen ebenfalls das Label Math-Rock bekam. »Schlagenheim« offenbart seine großen Momente nicht beim ersten Hören, sondern baut sich mehr und mehr auf, wenn der Geist die verschiedenen Knoten im Sound entwirrt. In den Zeiten so vieler gefälliger Sounds kommen die neun Songs herrlich überfordernd daher.

Björn Bischoff