Pauline Oliveros and the Long, Subtle Revolution of Listening

30.05.2022
Pauline Oliveros with Buchla
Composer, musician, tape music pioneer, feminist and »deep listening« inventor Pauline Oliveros has subverted conventions by the dozen during her career—and turned avant-garde music into a social practice again.

Not all revolutions are quick and noisy; some upheavals are quiet and subtle. The one initiated by Pauline Oliveros falls into the latter category, or at least most of the times it did. The composer, musician, theorist and lecturer for avant-garde music may have preached sonic awareness, the contemplation of every sound no matter how quiet and seemingly insignificant; she coined concepts such as »deep listening« and »sonic meditation«, but her work in and about music was also decidedly concerned with questions of community, togetherness and, at times, political aspects. Oliveros, who died at the end of 2016, was not only a pioneer of tape music whose work influenced the development of early synthesiser systems, an accordion innovator and improviser, a pioneer of feminist interventions in a deeply male-dominated music world and an artist who left us with an impressive discography. She should also be remembered as a genial yet determined radical who repeatedly challenged the status quo both inside and outside of music.

Buy at HHV

Pauline Oliveros was born in Texas on the 30th of May 1932. Her father was absent, music a constant presence at home—her mother and grandmother gave piano lessons professionally. At the age of nine Oliveros picked up the accordion for the first time. In the 1940s, the instrument was very popular in the USA, but used in contexts that apparently had very little to do with the avant-garde music she was to make with it throughout her career—as a teenager she played at rodeos as a member of large ensembles. She learned other instruments like the piano, the violin, and the tuba and absorbed all the music she could get her hands on, or rather that she could hear on the radio. She was, however, not only interested in classical music, pop or jazz, but also listened intently to the hissing and beeping of the radio itself, all the sonic by-products of the technology that are otherwise ignored at best. This was to become one of the central leitmotifs of her later work.

Discovering the Marginal

Oliveros already knew at the age of 16 that she would become a composer. As a musician, she played classical and popular music in ensembles and orchestras, but felt little connection with the music. »I was, really, at heart a maverick,« she said in a late interview. This also became apparent soon after she graduated from school. In 1949, she enrolled at the Moores School of Music in Houston and five years later transferred to San Francisco State College. There she apprenticed with Robert Erickson, who encouraged her to improvise —a practice she took up with fellow students Terry Riley and Loren Rush. »Terry, Loren and I did free improvisation together when there was no such thing happening except for Ornette Coleman and Cecil Taylor,« she recalled.

Oliveros did not limit herself to acoustic experiments with others, however, and became an extracurricular autodidact in sound research. Her first recording device had been given to her by her mother when she was still a teenager, and in 1953 she bought a tape recorder. She recorded the sounds of everyday life and listened to them again and again—as a kind of homework for herself, as a way of sharpening her awareness of all the sounds she hadn’t noticed when she first heard them. Even before she came into contact with her later friend John Cage and got to know his groundbreaking composition »4′33«, she discovered for herself that real silence does not exist and that the human brain only fades out what is classified as unimportant. Her entire future career was to be built on the desire to bring the supposedly marginal back into the centre.

She was, however, not only interested in classical music, pop or jazz, but also listened intently to the hissing and beeping of the radio itself, all the sonic by-products of the technology that are otherwise ignored at best. This was to become one of the central leitmotifs of her later work.

At the same time Oliveros continued to be interested in working with tape and, after finishing her studies in 1956, began to concentrate more on electronic experiments. Her breakthrough, however, came in 1962 with an unusual composition for voice, which likely inspired György Ligeti to conduct similar experiments in the following years: he was on the jury for the Gaudeamus International Composers Award, which she received for the piece »Sound Patterns«. Instead of working with a conventional text, a mixed choir sings phonetic sounds such as shhhs and ks, joined by the click of tongues and other mouth noises. The result is reminiscent of the electronic music Oliveros was exploring at the same time in pieces like »Time Perspectives«. As a member and later director of the San Francisco Tape Music Center, she and others such as Morton Subotnick created an alternative platform for these early experiments with electronic music in the USA, while, among other things, also laying the conceptual foundations for the development of the Buchla synthesiser.

Against Convention

Oliveros made many friends with other composers at this time, who would go on to accompany her for a long time, such as the later Deep Listening Band member Stuart Dempster. While she obviously felt respected by her colleagues, collaborated with them even beyond her work in the SFTMC and, for example, played the accordion at the premiere of Terry Riley’s minimal masterpiece »In C«, she was always made to feel that as a woman—and an openly lesbian one at that—she was alone in her field and not accepted by everyone. Alvin Lucier remembered his first meeting with Oliveros in 1965, when she performed a composition dedicated to David Tudor at a concert: »During Pauline’s piece, some guy in the audience began shouting in protest at which point Pauline simply raised the volume nearest the protester, quieting him immediately.«

It’s not Oliveros’ only musical intervention against machismo: her piece »Bye Bye Butterfly«, written the same year, bids farewell, in her words, »not only to the music of the 19th century but also to the system of polite morality of that age and its attendant institutionalised oppression of the female sex.« For the piece, she worked with excerpts of an aria from Giacomo Puccini’s »Madame Butterfly«, oscillators and other hardware. The result is basically an early form of noise music, created in real time and prefiguring sampling; employing a turntable before the term turntablism even existed. Illbient avant la lettre, in a sense—an innovative break with the conventions that she sought to criticise.

Pauline Oliveros
Pauline Oliveros (1932-2016)

That Oliveros saw a connection between the obsolete criteria for composed music and the marginalisation of women in US society as a whole and the music world in particular. This was also proven by her groundbreaking 1970 essay »And Don’t Call Them ‘Lady’ Composers«. »Women have been taught to despise activity outside of the domestic realm as unfeminine, just as men have been taught to despise domestic duties,« it says. These lines resonate with some of the tenets of Marxist-inspired second-wave feminism, which declared the personal to be political. At the same time, however, the text also pleads for a rethinking and more openness in relation to contemporary music, more inclusivity not only in regards to gender relations behind and on stage, but equally to the audience.

Retreat without Defeat

At this point, Oliveros was already director at the Center for Music Experiment at the University of California in San Diego. This is also where she met Lester Ingber, a scientist in the field of theoretical physics—and a karate master. The two collaborated on different levels and Oliveros attained a black belt in the Japanese martial art himself before she began to take an interest in Tai Chi as well. It is not surprising that sensory perception and corporeal aspects of listening to and making music became more and more important for her work in the following years. The late 1960s, however, also marked a time when she appeared less frequently as a performer. Beginning with the assassination of John F. Kennedy and ending with the Vietnam War and the widespread protests against it, Oliveros felt »the temper of the times«, as she would later say. »I began to retreat. I didn’t want to play concerts. I began to turn inward.«

Yet she also turned even inward listening into a social practice. She started a group in 1969 with other women that would later give itself the name ♀ Ensemble and practised what Oliveros herself called Sonic Meditation. The exercises were based on text scores by her that sometimes contain little more than a few instructions that at first seem esoteric. »Take a walk at night. Walk so silently that the bottoms of your feet become ears«, reads one of them. While the exploration of meditative practices is nowadays usually foregrounded and Oliveros’ definition of music as a »healing force« may, from today’s perspective, be reminiscent of a certain Mindfulness rhetoric, the Sonic Meditations were less focused on achieving transcendence than on creating a relation to concrete matter: they were designed not as an escape from the world, but to heighten perception of it and the social structures within it. Oliveros’ retreat was by no means an admission of defeat.

The title »Deep Listening« is not only a pun by the Oliveros—known for her sometimes absurd yet heartfelt humour—that refers to the recording situation, but also became a philosophy in itself.

»The Universe improvises«, she once said, and gradually over the 1970s and especially the 1980s she accordingly began to return to improvisation in her musical practice, integrating environmental sounds whenever possible. In an interview she recalled playing alone on the accordion at a concert in a church when fire brigade sirens started howling outside after the first three quarters of the set. She adapted her playing to the wailing sounds resounding through the nave and had to explain to her audience afterwards that none of this had been planned. Just as the Sonic Meditations were to be understood as both physical and communal exercises, as a performer she successively entered into dialogue with the world around her.

Deep Listening: It’s for Anyone!

This dialogue intensified in a gradual process that began with her move to Upstate New York and her—temporal—departure from the world of academia, followed by the establishment of the Pauline Oliveros Foundation, a kind of para-academic institution open to all art forms. »I don’t think of it as a university!,« she emphasised in a later interview. »I think of it as community.« It is only logical, then, that despite a few standalone releases in the 1980s, her work continued to be characterised by collaborations. In the writer Ione, she found not only a creative ally with whom to rethink music theatre, but also a partner for life. And then, finally, in October 1988, she descended into a cistern with her old university friend Stuart Dempster and Peter »Panaiotis« Ward to take the 45-second reverberation time of the subterranean space as a starting point for their joint improvisations.

Or rather: as a starting point for what is best described by the title of the resulting groundbreaking album, comprising edited recordings from the sessions: »Deep Listening«. The title is not only a pun by the Oliveros—known for her sometimes absurd yet heartfelt humour—that refers to the recording situation, but also became a philosophy in itself. The foundation for this had already been laid by her first tape experiments in the early 1950s, and the concept behind it can be summed up in many different ways. The simplest would probably be to highlight the difference between hearing and listening, unconscious perception and aware reception. The Deep Listening Retreats initiated by Oliveros in 1991 showed all the more that deep listening was, however, by no means conceived as a dry academic theory, but as a social practice. It is one that focuses on inclusion: when asked who the events were aimed at, she replied tersely, »Anyone!«

Therefore, Oliveros’ musical work cannot be decoupled from social and also political issues. Until the end of her life, she was active as a teacher inside and outside universities, as an artistic collaborator and composer, but above all as an enabler: she brought people together and taught them to listen not only to the world around them, but also to each other. She was striving not only for a democratisation of what is being heard, but also of those who listen. This, after all, was the core of Oliveros’ long, subtle revolution: she slowly shifted the focus from a male-coded cult of genius and the rigid structures of high-culture and academic music to active, participatory listening and musical practices, opening the gates of avant-garde concepts to a wider audience—and also the ears of some people, who started listening to things they had previously considered to be marginal.

Pauline Oliveros und die leise, subtile Revolution des Hörens

30.05.2022
Pauline Oliveros on Buchla
Die Komponistin, Musikerin, Tape-Pionierin, Feministin und »Deep Listening«-Erfinderin Pauline Oliveros hat über ihre Karriere hinweg reihenweise Konventionen unterlaufen – und Avantgarde-Musik wieder zur sozialen Praxis gemacht.

Nicht alle Revolutionen fallen  kurz und hitzig aus – manche Umwälzungen laufen leise und subtil ab. Die von Pauline Oliveros angestoßene war so eine. Meistens zumindest. Denn so sehr die Komponistin, Musikerin, Theoretikerin und Dozentin für Avantgarde-Musik das genaue Hinhören, die Kontemplation von jedem noch so stillen und nebensächlich scheinendem Ton predigte und auch wenn sie auf den ersten Blick inwendig wirkende Konzepte von »Deep Listening« und »Sonic Meditation« prägte: Ihr ging es bei ihrer Arbeit in und über Musik dezidiert um Fragen der Gemeinschaft, des Miteinanders und bisweilen also um politische Aspekte. Die Ende 2016 verstorbene Oliveros war nicht nur Pionierin der Tape-Musik, Ideengeberin bei der Entwicklung früher Synthesizer-Systeme, Akkordeon-Innovatorin und -Improvisatorin, Vorreiterin feministischer Interventionen in einer zutiefst männlich geprägten Musikwelt und Produzentin einer stattlichen Diskografie. Vor allem sollte sie auch als freundliche, aber bestimmte Umstürzlerin in Erinnerung bleiben, die immer wieder den Status quo infrage stellte.

Im HHV Shop kaufen

Pauline Oliveros wird am 30. Mai 1932 in Texas geboren. Der Vater ist abwesend, das Haus mit Musik erfüllt – ihre Mutter und Großmutter geben beruflich Klavierunterricht. Der Funke springt über und mit neun Jahren schnallt sich Oliveros erstmals ein Akkordeon um. In den 1940er-Jahren ist das Instrument populär und findet dementsprechend in Kontexten Verwendung, die augenscheinlich nichts mit der avantgardistischen Musik zu tun haben, die sie im Laufe ihrer Karriere damit machen soll: als Teenager spielt sie etwa als Mitglied eines 100-köpfigen Ensembles bei Rodeos auf. Sie lernt noch weitere Instrumente – Klavier, Geige, Tuba – und saugt alle Musik auf, die sie nur in die Finger bekommen kann, oder besser gesagt, die das heimische Radio in ihr Zimmer liefert. Wobei sie sich eben nicht ausschließlich für klassische Musik, Pop oder Jazz interessiert, sondern auch das Rauschen und Fiepsen des Geräts als solchem, all die klanglichen Nebenprodukte der Technologie. Das, was sonst bestenfalls ignoriert wird. Dem zu lauschen soll eines der Leitmotive ihres späteren Schaffens werden.

Die Entdeckung des Nebensächlichen

Dass Pauline Oliveros Komponistin werden wird, ist ihr bereits im Alter von 16 Jahren klar. Als Musikerin spielt sie zwar klassische und populäre Musik in Ensembles und Orchestern, das allerdings reicht ihr nicht. »Im Grunde war ich immer eine Eigenbrötlerin«, sagte sie dazu in einem späten Interview. Das zeigt sich auch bald nach dem Schulabschluss. Im Jahr 1949 schreibt sie sich in der Moores School of Music in Houston ein und wechselt fünf Jahre später ans San Francisco State College. Dort geht sie bei Robert Erickson in die Lehre, der sie zur Improvisation ermutigt – eine Praxis, die sie mit ihren Kommilitonen Terry Riley und Loren Rush aufnimmt. »Wir haben gemeinsam frei improvisiert, als das abgesehen von Ornette Coleman und Cecil Taylor noch niemand sonst tat«, erinnerte sie sich.

Oliveros beschränkt sich aber nicht allein auf akustische Experimente mit anderen und wird zur außerschulischen Autodidaktin in Sachen Klangforschung. Ihr erstes Aufnahmegerät hatte sie noch als Teenagerin von ihrer Mutter geschenkt bekommen, im Jahr 1953 legt sie sich einen Tape-Recorder zu. Sie nimmt den Sound  des Alltags auf und hört ihn sich wieder und wieder an – als eine Art Hausaufgabe für sich selbst, als Schärfung ihres Bewusstseins für all die Geräusche, die ihr beim ersten Hören nicht aufgefallen waren. Noch bevor sie in Kontakt mit ihrem späteren Freund John Cage kommt und dessen bahnbrechende Komposition »4′33″« kennenlernt, entdeckt sie für sich, dass reine Stille nicht existiert und das menschliche Hirn nur eben das ausblendet, was als unwichtig eingeordnet wird. Ihre gesamte weitere Karriere soll auf dem Wunsch aufbauen, das vermeintlich Nebensächliche wieder ins Zentrum zu rücken.

Wobei sie sich eben nicht ausschließlich für klassische Musik, Pop oder Jazz interessiert, sondern auch das Rauschen und Fiepsen des Geräts als solchem, all die klanglichen Nebenprodukte der Technologie. Das, was sonst bestenfalls ignoriert wird.

Zugleich interessiert sie sich weiterhin für die Arbeit mit Tape und beginnt sich nach Ende ihres Studiums im Jahr 1956 vermehrt  auf elektronische Experimente zu konzentrieren. Ihren ersten Erfolg kann sie im Jahr 1962 allerdings mit einer ungewöhnlichen Komposition für Stimme verzeichnen, die György Ligeti wohl zu ähnlich gelagerten Experimenten in den Folgejahren inspirierte – er sitzt in der Jury des Gaudeamus International Composers Award, den sie für das Stück »Sound Patterns« erhält. Statt wie konventionell mit einem Text zu arbeiten, singt ein gemischter Chor phonetische Klänge wie Shhhs und Ks, dazu gesellen sich Zungenschnalzen und andere Mundgeräusche. Das Ergebnis erinnert an die elektronische Musik, mit der sich Oliveros zeitgleich in Stücken wie »Time Perspectives« befasst. Für diese frühen Experimente mit elektronischer Musik in den USA schafft sie als frühes Mitglied und späterer Direktorin des San Francisco Tape Music Center mit anderen wie etwa Morton Subotnick eine alternative Plattform, in der unter anderem die konzeptuellen Grundlagen für die Entwicklung des Buchla-Synthesizers gelegt werden.

Gegen die Konventionen

Oliveros schließt zu dieser Zeit viele Freundschaften mit anderen Komponisten, die sie – wie etwa das spätere Deep-Listening-Band-Mitglied Stuart Dempster – lange begleiten sollen. Sie fühlt sich offensichtlich von ihren Kollegen respektiert, kollaboriert auch über die Arbeit im SFTMC hinaus mit ihnen zusammen und spielt etwa bei der Uraufführung von Terry Rileys Minimal-Meisterwerk »In C« das Akkordeon. Doch bekommt sie immer wieder zu spüren, dass sie als Frau – zudem noch eine offen lesbisch lebende – allein auf weiter Flur ist und nicht alle sie akzeptieren. Alvin Lucier erinnert sich mit Jahrzehnten Abstand an sein erstes Treffen mit Oliveros im Jahr 1965, die auf im Rahmen eines Konzerts ein David Tudor gewidmetes Stück aufführte. »Während ihres Stücks begann ein Typ im Publikum aus Protest zu schreien, woraufhin sie einfach die Lautstärke hochregelte und ihn so zum Verstummen brachte

Es ist nicht die einzige musikalische Intervention Oliveros‘ gegen Machismus: Ihr im selben Jahr entstandenes Stück »Bye Bye Butterfly« verabschiedet sich, in ihren Worten, »nicht nur von der Musik des 19. Jahrhunderts, sondern ebenso vom System der vornehmen Sittlichkeit dieser Zeit und der dazugehörigen, institutionalisierten Unterdrückung des weiblichen Geschlechts.« Für das Stück arbeitet sie mit Passagen einer Arie aus Giacomo Puccinis »Madame Butterfly«, Oszillatoren und anderer Hardware. Das Resultat ist im Grunde eine frühe Form von Noise-Musik, die in Echtzeit entsteht und auf eine Vorform von Sampling zurückgreift, einen Plattenspieler einsetzt, bevor der Begriff Turntablism überhaupt existierte. Illbient avant la lettre, vielleicht, in jedem Fall ein innovativer Bruch mit den musikalischen und gesellschaftlichen Konventionen, die sie damit kritisieren will.

Pauline Oliveros
Pauline Oliveros

Dass Oliveros einen Zusammenhang zwischen der Vorherrschaft obsoleter Qualitätskriterien für komponierte Musik und der Marginalisierung von Frauen in der US-amerikanischen Gesellschaft im Gesamten sowie der Musikwelt im Speziellen erkennt, beweist auch ihr bahnbrechendes Essay »And Don’t Call Them ›Lady‹ Composers« aus dem Jahr 1970. »Frauen wurde beigebracht, alle Aktivitäten außerhalb des Haushalts als unweiblich zu ächten, genauso wie Männern eingetrichtert wurde, jede Form von Hausarbeit zu verachten«, heißt es darin. In diesen Zeilen schwingen einige Grundsätze der marxistisch inspirierten zweiten Welle des Feminismus mit, die das Persönliche zum Politischen ernannte. Zugleich jedoch plädiert der Text aber auch für ein Umdenken und mehr Offenheit in Bezug auf zeitgenössische Musik, mehr Inklusivität nicht nur hinsichtlich der Geschlechterverhältnisse hinter und auf der Bühne, sondern genauso des Publikums.

Rückzug – und doch keine Flucht

Oliveros ist zu dieser Zeit bereits Direktorin am Center for Music Experiment an der University of California in San Diego und trifft dort auf Lester Ingber, Wissenschaftler im Bereich der Theoretischen Physik – und Karate-Meister. Die beiden kollaborieren auf verschiedenen Ebenen. Oliveros erlangt selbst einen schwarzen Gürtel in der japanischen Kampfsportart und beginnt bald, sich auch für Tai Chi zu interessieren. Es verwundert daher nicht, dass die sensorische Wahrnehmung und körperliche Aspekte des Hörens und Machens von Musik in den Folgejahren immer mehr in den Fokus ihrer Arbeit rücken. Die späten 1960er-Jahre markieren allerdings auch eine Zeit, in der sie als Performerin seltener in Erscheinung tritt. Angefangen mit dem Attentat auf John F. Kennedy bis hin zum Vietnamkrieg und den weitreichenden Protesten dagegen spürt Oliveros »die Unruhe der Zeit«, wie sie später sagen sollte. »Ich fing an, mich zurückzuziehen. Ich wollte keine Konzerte spielen. Ich wandte mich nach innen. «

Doch macht sie selbst das inwendige Hören zu einer sozialen Praxis. Sie startet im Jahr 1969 mit anderen Frauen eine Gruppe, die sich später den Namen ♀ Ensemble geben sollte, und das praktizierte, was Oliveros selbst als »Sonic Meditations« bezeichnete. Die Übungen basieren auf von ihr verfassten Textkompositionen, die bisweilen kaum mehr als ein paar zuerst esoterisch anmutende Anweisungen enthalten. »Take a walk at night. Walk so silently that the bottoms of your feet become ears«, lautet beispielsweise eine von ihnen. Derweil die Auseinandersetzung mit meditativen Praktiken in der Rezeption meistens in den Vordergrund gestellt wird und Oliveros‘ Definition von Musik als »heilender Kraft« aus heutiger Perspektive an Mindfulness-Rhetorik erinnern mag, sind die Sonic Meditations weniger auf Transzendenz als vielmehr auf die Materie ausgerichtet – sie sind nicht etwa als Flucht vor der Welt, sondern zur Wahrnehmungssteigerung in ihr und den sozialen Gefügen darin gegenüber angelegt.

»Deep Listening« ist nicht nur ein Wortspiel der für ihren bisweilen absurden und doch herzlichen Humor bekannten Oliveros, das die unterirdische Aufnahmesituation beschreibt. Es wird auch zu einer handfesten Philosophie.

»Das Universum improvisiert«, sagte Oliveros einmal, und nach und nach beginnt sie über die 1970er- und insbesondere die 1980er-Jahre in ihrer musikalischen Praxis zur Improvisation zurückzukehren und dabei Umgebungsklänge zu integrieren. Als sie beispielsweise einem Konzert in einer Kirche allein auf dem Akkordeon spielt, heulen nach den ersten drei Vierteln des Sets draußen Feuerwehrsirenen auf. Sie passt ihr Spiel den durch das Kirchenschiff schallenden Heultönen an und muss danach ihrem Publikum erklären, dass nichts davon geplant war. So wie die Sonic Meditations als körperliche und gleichermaßen gemeinschaftliche Übungen zu verstehen waren, so tritt sie als Performerin sukzessive in den Dialog mit der Welt um sie herum.

Deep Listening – It’s for Anyone!

Dieser Dialog intensiviert sich in einem graduellen Prozess, der seinen Anfang mit ihrem Umzug nach Upstate New York und ihrem – einstwilligen – Abschied von der Hochschulwelt findet, auf den mit der Pauline Oliveros Foundation die Gründung einer Art para-akademischen, für alle Kunstformen offenen Institution folgt. »Ich sehe sie aber nicht als Universität an«, unterstrich sie im Nachhinein. »Sondern als Gemeinschaft.« Es ist also nur folgerichtig, dass ihr Arbeitsalltag trotz einiger eigenständigen Veröffentlichungen in den 1980er-Jahren weiterhin von Kollaborationen geprägt ist. In der Schriftstellerin Ione findet sie nicht nur eine kreative Verbündete, mit der sie das Musiktheater neu denken soll, sondern ebenso eine Partnerin auf Lebenszeit. Und dann schließlich steigt sie gemeinsam mit ihrem alten Studienfreund Stuart Dempster und Peter »Panaiotis« Ward im Oktober 1988 in eine Zisterne hinab, um gemeinsam die 45-sekündige Nachhallzeit der unterirdischen Räumlichkeiten für gemeinsame Improvisationen auszunutzen.

Besser gesagt: Und um zuzuhören – statt nur zu hören. So zumindest könnte sich der Titel des dabei entstandenen bahnbrechenden Albums mit bearbeiteten Aufnahmen aus den Sessions der erklären lassen: »Deep Listening« ist nicht nur ein Wortspiel der für ihren bisweilen absurden und doch herzlichen Humor bekannten Oliveros, das die unterirdische Aufnahmesituation beschreibt. Es wird auch zu einer handfesten Philosophie. Den Grundstein dafür hatten bereits ihre ersten Tape-Experimente Anfang  der 1950er-Jahre gelegt, zusammenfassen lässt sich das dahinterstehende Konzept auf viele verschiedene Arten. Die einfachste wäre wohl, den Unterschied zwischen hearing und listening, dem bloßen unbewussten Hören und dem bewussten Zuhören zum Ausgangspunkt zu nehmen. Wobei die im Jahr 1991 von Oliveros initiierten Deep Listening Retreats umso mehr zeigen, dass dies eben nicht als knochentrockene akademische Theorie, sondern als lebendige soziale Praxis gedacht war. Es ist eine, die auf die Inklusion setzt. Auf die Frage hin, an wen sich die Veranstaltungen denn richten würden, entgegnete sie knapp: »It’s for anyone!«

Reviews zum Künstler

Pauline Oliveros‘ musikalisches Schaffen ist deshalb  nicht von sozialen und auch politischen Fragen zu entkoppeln. Bis an ihr Lebensende war sie innerhalb und außerhalb von Hochschulen als Lehrerin, als künstlerische Kollaborateurin und Komponistin, vor allem aber als Ermöglicherin aktiv: Sie brachte Menschen zusammen und ihnen bei, nicht nur auf die Welt um sie herum, sondern auch einander zuzuhören. Sie strebte nicht nur eine Demokratisierung des Gehörten, sondern auch der (Zu-)Hörenden an. Das schließlich war der Kern ihrer leisen, subtilen Revolution: Sie verschob sachte den Fokus von einem männlich kodierten Geniekult und den eingerosteten Strukturen hochkultureller und akademischer Musik hin zu aktiven Hör- und Musikpraktiken, öffnete die Tore avantgardistischer Ideen für ein breiteres Publikum – und nicht manchen Menschen darunter unwiderruflich die Ohren für all das, was ihnen bisher entgangen war.