Records Revisited: The Cinematic Orchestra – Every Day (2002)

28.05.2022
The Cinematic Orchestra - Every Day (Records Revisited)
With their second album, The Cinematic Orchestra formed the perfect match of name and music. »Everyday« builds cinematic shots through revelling jazz that hasn’t lost any of its magic 20 years later.

»An awakening bass wipes the sleep from its eyelids. Stretches in the morning light and warms the strings. The first melody of the day chimes as the city opens its eyes.« 20 years ago, with these words I tiptoed into my article about The Cinematic Orchestra’s album »Everyday« for the Goon Magazine. Without knowing it, I had pinpointed what would only become apparent a year later: That »Everyday« was based on sketches that had emerged from the musical scoring of the 1929 film »Man With A Movie Camera«.

Buy at HHV
Cinematic Orchestra, The
Everyday
since 26.99€

Jason Swinscoe and his project The Cinematic Orchestra were commissioned back in 2000 to provide live musical scoring for the groundbreaking silent film by Russian director Dziga Vertov at the Porto Film Festival. At that time, however, the result was meant to be a one-off venture. It was not until early 2003, almost a year after the release of »Everyday«, that the soundtrack and DVD were to be released.

Riding The Coltrane Vibe

What is surprisingly consistent about this coincidence of my associations and the origin of the music on »Everyday« is that Dziga Vertov’s film (without me knowing it at the time) begins precisely with such a scene of an awakening city. Thus, Jason Swinscoe had already achieved his goal with me: »There is film music which you can take away from the film, which exists on its own and it still has an idea of a story, an ieda of emotions and feelings,« as he told Planet Interview in 2000.

Despite the identical nucleus of »Everyday« and the follow-up soundtrack album »Man With A Movie Camera«, both works retain their uniqueness and thus raison d’être. One does not cannibalize the other, is not a second-rate knock-off. During my interview with Jason Swinscoe in 2002, the head of TCO kept coming back to John Coltrane.

The exceptional saxophonist and jazz composer had performed the standard »My Favorite Things« multiple times over the many decades of his music career, but with leaving himself »open to a thousand ways to recreate the song’s structures,« as Swinscoe explained. Live recordings often differed in significant ways. Coltrane, however, always kept the soul of the piece alive. »It’s all that Coltrane vibe,« Swinscoe enthusiastically proclaimed TCO’s principle over the landline phone. The music was 60s. The sound was contemporary. The principle was jazz.

The Color Brings The Artwork To Life

»Everyday« and »Man With A Movie Camera« thus form a kindred spirit but maintain independence. They are connected by dynamic brushstrokes and movements that are also central to Dziga Vertov’s film. The fluidity of the cinematic, the tracking shot, the visualization of movement and emotion flow through their veins. In the concrete finishes, however, they remain individual works.

In doing so, Jason Swinscoe followed a principle that he knew from his art studies and his love for conceptual art of the 1960s and 1970s. »In music, as in painting, creation never begins with the detail but with the primary layer,« Swinscoe described his approach. »The foundational colour, which gives the work its soul. Which has the ability to touch the observer.«

Die Musik war 60er. Der Sound war Gegenwart. Das Prinzip war Jazz.

Not only did this primary color, based on Vertov’s camera movements, provide Swinscoe and his collaborators with the freedom as well as direction to work out the details for their respective conceptual approaches (soundtrack vs. studio album). »Man With A Movie Camera« ran more epic, orchestral arcs, while »Everyday« in part leaned more closely to song structure. The latter is supported in no small degree by the great vocalists Fontella Bass and Roots Manuva, who added extra soul to some of the songs.

Not only did this primary color, based on Vertov’s camera movements, provide Swinscoe and his collaborators with the freedom as well as direction to work out the details for their respective conceptual approaches (soundtrack vs. studio album). »Man With A Movie Camera« ran more epic, orchestral arcs, while »Everyday« in part leaned more closely to song structure. The latter is supported in no small degree by the great vocalists Fontella Bass and Roots Manuva, who added extra soul to some of the songs.

Records Revisited: The Cinematic Orchestra – Every Day (2002)

28.05.2022
The Cinematic Orchestra - Every Day (Records Revisited)
Mit ihrem zweiten Album erreichten The Cinematic Orchestra Deckungsgleichheit mit ihrem Namen. »Everyday« formt Kamerafahrten durch schwelgenden Jazz, der auch 20 Jahre später nichts von seiner Magie verloren hat.

»Ein erwachender Bass reibt sich den Schlaf aus den Lidern. Streckt sich im Morgenlicht und wärmt die Saiten. Die erste Melodie des Tages erklingt, während die Stadt die Augen öffnet«. So tippelte ich vor 20 Jahren in einem Text zum Album »Everyday« von The Cinematic Orchestra. Ohne es zu wissen, hatte ich damit eingefangen, was ein Jahr später erst Klarheit werden sollte: Dass »Everyday« auf Skizzen basiert, die aus der musikalischen Vertonung des 1929 entstandenen Films »Man With A Movie Camera«, entstanden waren.

Im HHV Shop kaufen
Cinematic Orchestra, The
Everyday
ab 26.99€

Jason Swinscoe und sein Projekt The Cinematic Orchestra wurden zwar bereits im Jahr 2000 beauftragt, den wegweisenden Stummfilm des russischen Regisseurs Dziga Vertov auf dem Porto Filmfestival musikalisch live zu begleiten. Das Ergebnis war jedoch zunächst ein einmaliges Unterfangen. Und erst Anfang 2003, ein knappes Jahr nach Erscheinen von »Everyday«, sollte der Soundtrack nebst DVD erscheinen.

Dem Coltrane-Vibe auf der Spur

Überraschend stimmig an dieser Koinzidenz meiner Assoziationen und der Entstehung der Musik auf »Everyday« ist, dass Dziga Vertovs Film (ohne dass ich es zum damaligen Zeitpunkt wusste) genau mit solch einer Szene einer erwachenden Stadt beginnt. Jason Swinscoe hatte damit bereits sein Ziel bei mir erreicht: »Es gibt Filmmusik, die auch ohne den Film eigenständig existieren kann. Die die Idee einer Geschichte, einer Emotion und eines Gefühls weiter in sich trägt«, wie er im Jahr 2000 dem Planet Interview zu Protokoll gab.

Trotz des identischen Nukleus von »Everyday« und dem nachfolgenden Soundtrack »Man With A Movie Camera« bewahren beide Werke ihre Einzigartigkeit und damit ihre Daseinsberechtigung. Das eine kannibalisiert nicht das andere, ist kein zweitrangiger Abklatsch. Während meines Interviews mit Jason Swinscoe im Jahr 2002, kommt der Kopf des The Cinematic Orchestra immer wieder auf John Coltrane zu sprechen.

Die Musik war 60er. Der Sound war Gegenwart. Das Prinzip war Jazz.

Der Ausnahmesaxofonist und Jazzkomponist hatte über die vielen Jahrzehnte seiner Musikkarriere immer wieder den Standard »My Favorite Things« performt und sich »tausend Wege offen gelassen, die Strukturen des Songs neu zu kreieren«, wie Swinscoe erklärte. Die existierenden Live-Aufnahmen unterschieden sich häufig in wesentlichen Punkten. John Coltrane erhielt jedoch immer die Seele des Stückes am Leben. »It’s all that Coltrane vibe«, verlautbarte Swinscoe übers Festnetztelefon enthusiastisch das Prinzip von The Cinematic Orchestra. Die Musik war 60er. Der Sound war Gegenwart. Das Prinzip war Jazz.

Die Farbe macht das Werk

»Everyday« und »Man With A Movie Camera« formen damit eine Seelenverwandtschaft, die Eigenständigkeit bewahrt. Sie verbinden die dynamischen Pinselstriche und Bewegungen, die auch in Dziga Vertovs Film im Mittelpunkt stehen. Die Fluidität des Cineastischen, der Kamerafahrt, der Visualisierung von Bewegung und Emotion fließen durch ihre Adern. In den konkreten Ausfertigungen bleiben sie jedoch individuell.

Jason Swinscoe folgte damit einem Prinzip, dass er aus seinem Kunststudium und seiner Liebe zur konzeptionellen Kunst der 1960er und 1970er kannte. »In der Musik wie in der Malerei beginnt die Kreation nie mit dem Detail sondern der ersten Fläche«, beschrieb Swinscoe seinen Ansatz. »Der Gesamtfarbe, welche dem Werk die Seele verleiht. Die die Fähigkeit hat, den Betrachter zu berühren«.

Reviews zum Künstler

Nicht nur bot diese Gesamtfarbe, die sich an den Kamerafahrten Vertovs orientierte, Jason Swinscoe und seinen Mitstreitern die Freiheit und Orientierung, die Details der jeweiligen konzeptuellen Ansätze (Soundtrack vs. Studioalbum) unterschiedlich auszuarbeiten. »Man With A Movie Camera« spannte epischere, orchestrale Bögen, während »Everyday« häufig formal enger an der Songstruktur verlief. Letzteres wurde nicht zuletzt durch die großartigen Vokalist*innen Fontella Bass und Roots Manuva getragen, die einigen der Songs zusätzliche Seele verliehen.

Das Fundament der gefühlsbetonten Gesamtfarbe, auf der sich dann die Details der Musiker austoben können, macht die Musik des The Cinematic Orchestra auch absolut zugänglich, ohne ins Beliebige zu kippen. Denn bei all dem theoretischen und jazzhistorischen Background, bleibt »Everyday« vor allem eins: ein hoch emotionales Album, das berührt, verführt, ummantelt und überwältigt.