Review

Hako Yamasaki

Tobimasu

We Release Whatever The Fuck We Want • 1975

Who is Hako Yamasaki?  As an individual who grew up in western society, there is hardly any shame in not knowing the name of the Japanese artist who sings so movingly on this reissue of her 1975 début album.  But you have to be grateful to the gentlemen of We Release Whatever The Fuck We Want from Geneva, Switzerland, for reissuing »Tobimasu«.   

Hako Yamasaki was an only 18-year-old girl when the original label Elec released these eleven tracks, but on the reissue she sounds as if she had already spent half a lifetime performing on the stages of stuffy concert bars.  Not because there is something worn out about her voice – which more than just a few people reinterpret as a necessary characteristic for artistic credibility in the folk and songwriter business – but because Yamasaki shines vocally on every single number, conveying an emotional depth with a somnambulistic routine that is almost impossible to grasp.  

Whether on »Kazaguruma«, »Hashi Mukou No Ie« or the pathetic »Sayonara No Kane« with its lachrymose electric guitar solo, the singer shoulders every single number reliably and cloaks it in an atmosphere of abandonment, sadness, tragedy.  The grandiose »Sasurai«, which according to a quick Google search can be translated as »wandering alone in a strange country«, more or less sums up the whole record.  The tragedy she conveys with her voice did not stop at Yamasaki’s career either:  When folk and its ilk became more uncool, she was left on the verge of homelessness for a while.

Review

Hako Yamasaki

Tobimasu

We Release Whatever The Fuck We Want • 1975

Wer ist Hako Yamasaki? Es ist als westlich sozialisiertes Individuum wohl keine Schande, den Namen der japanischen Künstlerin, die auf diesem Reissue ihres Debütalbums 1975 so berührend singt, nicht zu kennen. Man muss den Herrschaften von We Release Whatever The Fuck We Want aus dem schweizerischen Genf aber extrem dankbar dafür sein, dass sie »Tobimasu« eine Neuauflage spendiert haben.

Hako Yamasaki war ein 18-jähriges Mädchen, als das ursprüngliche Label Elec diese elf Tracks veröffentlichte, klingt auf diesem Reissue aber, als hätte sie zu diesem Zeitpunkt schon ein halbes Leben auf der Bühne stickiger Konzertbars zugebracht. Nicht etwa, weil ihrer Stimme etwas Verbrauchtes anhaftet – was übrigens nicht Wenige zum notwendigen Charakteristikum für künstlerische Glaubwürdigkeit im Folk- und Songwriter-Geschäft umdeuten –, sondern weil Yamasaki auf jeder einzelnen Nummer gesanglich brilliert, mit einer traumwandlerischen Routine eine emotionale Tiefe vermittelt, die kaum zu fassen ist.

Ob auf »Kazaguruma«, »Hashi Mukou No Ie« oder im pathetischen »Sayonara No Kane« mit larmoyantem E-Gitarrensolo, jede einzelne Nummer schultert die Sängerin zuverlässig und überzieht sie mit einer Atmosphäre der Aufgabe, der Trauer, der Tragik. Auch das grandiose »Sasurai«, das sich laut fixer Google-Suche mit »wandering alone in a strange country« übersetzen lässt und die komplette Platte mehr oder weniger auf den Punkt bringt. Die Tragik, die sie stimmlich transportiert, machte auch vor Yamasakis Karriere nicht Halt: Als Folk und Konsorten uncooler wurden, stand sie zeitweise kurz vor der Obdachlosigkeit.