12 releases to look out for on Record Store Day 2023

04.04.2023
Record Store Day. More than 500 releases. So the wheat has to be separated from the chaff. Luckily we have a die-hard music desk to do exactly that. Here are the highlights from RSD 2023: Windswept, tropical and of course some seriously rare shit.
Ali Farka Toure
Green
World Circuit • 2023 • from 33.99€

Should the day come when the whole world is at peace, Ali Farka Touré will resound from the loudspeakers of cargo bikes. The Malian musician has been releasing the sound that YOUNG PEOPLE might know best from the Filles de Illighadad for almost 60 years. Although they come from the neighbouring country, Niger, the vibe is, at least to Western ears, the same: trance-inducing folk music, both sedating and animating, a beautiful, balancing power that emanates from acoustic guitar, vocals and traditional accompanying instruments. The reissue of this, the green, self-titled album (there were a few of these in the 80s) comes now, digitally remastered from the OG tapes. 

Pippo Kuhzart
Ben Webster
In Hot House
Tidal Waves Music • 1972 • from 34.19€

Ben Webster was one of the big-three of jazz in the roaring twenties. He trumpeted his way into the limelight with Duke Ellington, later inspired Coltrane to bebop rodeo and, as a sideman, tap-danced his way from Holiday to Tatum to Fitzgerald into every role imaginable with a tenor sax in his hands. Anyone who reads his Wikipedia page will find enough material to fill twelve novels. One of them is set in Holland, which is where »In Hot House« comes from. Tidal Waves is putting out the record exclusively – for the first time since a bootleg in 1979. 

Christoph Benkeser
David Byrne
The Complete Score From The Catherine Wheel
Warner Records • 1981 • from 48.99€

David Byrne, co-founder of Talking Heads, swam free of expectations in the early 80s. He had just presented a milestone with his band with »Remain In Light«. So what now? Solo work! And ballet! With »The Catherine Wheel« he wrote the music for a project created by choreographer Twyla Tharp. Synthesisers and effects rush over intricate rhythms, everything skewed, sure, but still danceable. It’s an album not to be underestimated in his oeuvre, every second wonderfully cerebral.  

Björn Bischoff
Celeste
Lately
Polydor • 2019 • from 12.99€

The American-British songwriter Celeste belongs to the not-so-secret insider tips about neo-soul. Her haunting voice, her sound with influences from jazz, blues and R&B are catchy and stick in your head. »Lately«, the title track from an EP released four years ago in the US only, is a perfect example of her strengths, just like her hit »Strange«, which drifts along in a minimalist fashion against the backdrop of a really fine arrangement. Which then clears away any final doubts: Celeste is one of the most exciting and best voices in the genre at the moment.  

Björn Bischoff
El Zigui Y Una Luz
Buenos Dias Juventud
Munster • 1972 • from 26.99€

Now on to the really rare shit. 45 views on YouTube. Last sold: never. They called El Zigui the Dylan of Venezuela, but he never achieved fame. »Buenos Dias Juventud« is an album packed with protest songs. Classic folk-rock, in the broadest sense, US influences combine here very clearly with regional sounds – and the zither. The early 70's ooze from every pore of the album, and it still contains all the strength and desperation that a person has when they believe in something. 

Pippo Kuhzart
Heroin
Discography
Lord302 • 2023 • from 37.99€

»Whereas the music was dominated by fast and noisy guitars and screaming vocals, Heroin's lyrics revolved around disillusionment and pain.« Thanks to Wikipedia, everything you need to know about the screamers from the USA of the early 1990s has been said – before you shoot the collected works into your auditory canals in the form of a crisp catalogue show of a dozen tracks on Southern Lord. 

Christoph Benkeser
Joyce, Nana Vasconcelos, Mauricio Maestro
Visions Of Dawn (Paris 1976 Project)
Far Out • 2009 • from 31.99€

This long-lost masterpiece from the trio around Joyce Moreno (vocals), Nana Vasconcelos (percussion) and Mauricio Maestro (production machine), who plays bass here, is fascinating, hypnotic, poignant, full of clear-as-a-bell brilliance and unfortunately a far too brief insight into a Brazilian scene in complete flux. A psychedelic trip through the world of Caetano Veloso's tropicalismo with clear, as one says today, New Age references and lysergic dreams. 

Lars Fleischmann
Max Romeo
Every Man Ought To Know
Gorgon • 1973 • from 25.99€

Max Romeo should be known as the man who drove the devil from the world in an iron shirt. As well as released super albums, the debut or »War Ina Babylon« come to mind immediately. »Every Man Ought To Know« was released between these two LPs and is now being re-released for the first time. A safe tip not only for Romeo completists, but also for reggae fans in general. 

Pippo Kuhzart
Porridge Radio
7 Seconds / Jealousy (Demo)
Secretly Canadian • 2023 • from 15.99€

All awry, but straight from the heart: British indie band Porridge Radio bring out the tradition of strumming and celebrate a sound so honest it hurts. Expressed in the song »7 Seconds« with the words, »And I miss you but I'll never ever, ever, ever, ever...« and so on. Accompanied by guitar, drum and synthesiser. Loving and living are perplexing to painful activities and Porridge Radio have internalised this completely in their sound. And after those four minutes, so does everyone on the other side of the speakers.  

Björn Bischoff
Suicide
A Way Of Life Rarities
Mute • 2023 • from 23.99€

The duo around the charismatic Alan Vega and nerd Martin Rev is known to have not only been the stencil for DAF, but the inspiration for trillions of bands and projects. Suicide is more influential than pop history would suggest.  That's why these four rarities from the phase when the band's possibly best album was released are so essential: Not only the Springsteen cover clearly shows how Vega and Rev changed the underground scene – and consequently, logically, the big venues as well. 

Lars Fleischmann
White Girl Wasted
Barz Simpson
Daupe! • 2023 • from 20.99€

The Purist and Sonnyjim, two heads from the UK, go to the festival in Croatia, come back to the studio and craft a beat that kicks like MF Doom has ... Wait a minute: »Why don't we just send him the thing?« Doom replies with a 16 inch. The champagne bubbles. The thing ends up at Jay Electronica. When MF wants to license the track for a TV station, Purist and Sonny check it out: »Barz Simpson« can be gold-plated. Two years later, Doom is dead but an album is out. And now: the limited edition 7 inch 

Christoph Benkeser
Yusef Lateef
Detroit Latitude 42° 30' Longitude 83°
ARC • 1969 • from 43.99€

What happens when you put the key to the music archive in the hand of an omniscient man like Gilles Peterson? Warner wanted to find out – and had one of the coolest flute-funk-and-blaxploitation discs of the Woodstock summer lifted with »Yusef Lateef's Detroit: Latitude 42º 30' Longitude 83º«. Released in 1969, the Lateef record sounds as fresh as jazz from the cold store half a century later. No wonder MF Doom already extended the tone arm 25 years ago. 

Christoph Benkeser

12 Releases nach denen du beim Record Store Day 2023 Ausschau halten solltest

06.04.2023
Record Store Day. Mehr als 500 Releases. Da muss die Spreu vom Weizen getrennt werden. Zum Glück gibt es eine unbeugsame Musikredaktion, die diesen Job erledigt. Hier sind die Highlights des RSD 2023: Windschiefes, Tropisches und der wirklich rare Shit.
Ali Farka Toure
Green
World Circuit • 2023 • ab 33.99€

Sollte der Tag kommen, an dem die ganze Welt befriedet ist, Ali Farka Touré wird aus den Lautsprechern der Lastenräder erklingen. Seit fast 60 Jahren veröffentlicht der malische Musiker inzwischen diesen Sound, den JUNGE LEUTE am ehesten von den Filles de Illighadad kennen dürften. Die kommen zwar aus dem Nachbarland, Niger, der Vibe ist aber, zumindest für westliche Ohren, der gleiche: trance-stiftende Folk-Musik, gleichermaßen sedierend wie animierend, eine wunderschöne, ausgleichende Kraft, die hier von einer akustischen Gitarre, Gesang und traditioniellen Begleitinstrumenten ausgeht. Die Reissue dieses, des grünen, selbstbetitelten Albums (davon gab es in den 80ern einige) kommt jetzt, digital von den OG-Tapes remastered.

Pippo Kuhzart
Ben Webster
In Hot House
Tidal Waves Music • 1972 • ab 30.59€

Ben Webster war einer der Big-Three im Jazz der röhrenden Twenties. Er trötete sich bei Duke Ellington ins Rampenlicht, inspirierte später Coltrane zum Bebop-Rodeo und steppte als Sideman von Holiday über Tatum bis hin zu Fitzgerald in jede Rolle, die man mit einem umgeschnallten Tenorsaxophon ausfüllen konnte. Wer seinen Wikipedia-Artikel liest, findet Stoff für zwölf Romane. Einer davon spielt in Holland, wo »In Hot House« herkommt. Tidal Waves legt die Platte exklusiv auf – zum ersten Mal seit einem Fan-Bootleg 1979.

Christoph Benkeser
David Byrne
The Complete Score From The Catherine Wheel
Warner Records • 1981 • ab 44.09€

David Byrne, seines Zeichens Mitgründer der Talking Heads, schwamm sich Anfangs der 80er frei von Erwartungen. Mit seiner Band hatte er mit »Remain In Light« gerade einen Meilenstein vorgelegt. Was nun? Solo-Alben! Und Ballett! Mit »The Catherine Wheel« schrieb er die Musik für ein Projekt der Choreographin Twyla Tharp. Synthesizer und Effekte rauschen über vertrackte Rhythmen, alles windschief, klar, aber tanzbar. Ein nicht zu unterschätzendes Album in seinem Schaffen, jede Sekunde herrlich verkopft. 

Björn Bischoff
Celeste
Lately
Polydor • 2019 • ab 12.99€

Die amerikanisch-britische Songwriterin Celeste gehört zu den nicht mehr ganz so geheimen Geheimtipps des Neo-Souls. Ihre eindringliche Stimme, ihr Sound mit Einflüssen aus Jazz, Blues und R&B gehen ins Ohr und bleiben im Kopf. »Lately«, der Titelstück einer vor vier Jahren nur in den USA erschienenen EP, ist ein perfektes Beispiel für ihre Stärken, ebenso ihr Hit »Strange«, der reduziert vor ganz feinem Arrangement dahinzieht. Was dann auch die letzten Zweifel ausräumt: Celeste gehört zu den derzeit spannendsten und besten Stimmen des Genres. 

Björn Bischoff
El Zigui Y Una Luz
Buenos Dias Juventud
Munster • 1972 • ab 26.99€

Puhu, der wirkliche rare Shit. 45 Aufrufe auf Youtube. Zuletzt verkauft: nie. El Zigui nannten sie wohl den Dylan Venezuelas, zu Ruhm aber kam er nicht. »Buenos Dias Juventud« ist ein Album voller Protest-Songs. Klassischer Folk-Rock, im weitesten Sinne, US-Einflüsse verbinden sich hier sehr deutlich benennbar mit regionalen Sounds – und der Zither. Die frühen 70er strömen dem Album aus jeder Pore, hier steckt noch die ganze Kraft und die ganze Verzweiflung drin, die ein Mensch hat, wenn er an etwas glaubt.

Pippo Kuhzart
Heroin
Discography
Lord302 • 2023 • ab 43.99€

»Während die Musik von schnellen und lärmenden Gitarren und geschrienem Gesang dominiert war, drehten sich die Texte von Heroin um Desillusion und Schmerz.« Dank Wikipedia ist alles gesagt, was man über die Schreihälse aus den USA der frühen 1990er wissen sollte – bevor man sich die gesammelten Werke als knackige Katalogschau von einem Dutzend Tracks auf Southern Lord in die Gehörgänge schießt.

Christoph Benkeser
Joyce, Nana Vasconcelos, Mauricio Maestro
Visions Of Dawn (Paris 1976 Project)
Far Out • 2009 • ab 31.99€

Dieses lange verschollene Meisterwerk des Trios um Joyce Moreno (Gesang), dem Percussionisten Nana Vasconcelos und der Produktionsmaschine Mauricio Maestro, der hier den Bass übernimmt, ist faszinierend, hypnotisch, ergreifend, voll glockenklarer Brillianz und ein leider viel zu kurzer Einblick in eine brasilianische Szene im Umbruch. Ein psychedelischer Trip durch die Welt des Tropicalismo eines Caetano Velosos mit klaren, man sagt heute, New-Age-Bezügen und lysergischen Träumen.

Lars Fleischmann
Max Romeo
Every Man Ought To Know
Gorgon • 1973 • ab 25.99€

Max Romeo sollte man kennen als den Mann, der in einem eisernen Shirt den Teufel vonna der Welt vertrieben hat. Super Alben veröffentlicht auch, das Debüt oder auch »War Ina Babylon« fallen direkt ein. Zwischen diesen beiden LPs erschien »Every Man Ought To Know«, das nun, zum ersten Mal, neu aufgelegt wird. Nicht nur für Romeo-Komplettisten, sondern auch für Reggae-Fans allgemein ein sicherer Tipp.

Pippo Kuhzart
Porridge Radio
7 Seconds / Jealousy (Demo)
Secretly Canadian • 2023 • ab 15.99€

Schief, aber von Herzen: Die britische Indie-Band Porridge Radio holt die Tradition des Geschrammels hervor und zelebriert einen Sound so ehrlich, dass es schmerzt. Im Song »7 Seconds« in die Worte gegossen: »And I miss you but I’ll never ever, ever, ever, ever…« und so weiter. Untermalt von Gitarre, Drums und Synthesizern. Lieben und leben sind verwirrende bis schmerzhafte Tätigkeiten, Porridge Radio haben das in ihrem Sound komplett verinnerlicht. Und nach diesen vier Minuten jeder auf der anderen Seite der Lautsprecher auch. 

Björn Bischoff
Suicide
A Way Of Life Rarities
Mute • 2023 • ab 23.99€

Bekanntermaßen ist das Duo um den charismatischen Alan Vega und dem Nerd Martin Rev nicht nur Schablone für DAF gewesen, sondern Inspiration für Trilliarden an Bands und Projekten. Suicide ist einflussreicher, als die Pop-Geschichtsschreibung das vermuten lassen würde. Deswegen sind diese vier Raritäten aus der Phase des womöglich besten Albums der Band so essentiell: Nicht nur beim Springsteen-Cover hört man deutlich, wie Vega und Rev die Underground-Szene veränderten – und damit in der Folge, logischerweise, auch die großen Bühnen.

Lars Fleischmann
White Girl Wasted
Barz Simpson
Daupe! • 2023 • ab 20.99€

The Purist und Sonnyjim, zwei Heads aus dem UK, fahren aufs Festival nach Kroatien, kommen zurück ins Studio und basteln einen Beat, der kickt, als hätte MF Doom … Moment mal: »Wieso schicken wir ihm das Ding nicht einfach?« Doom antwortet mit einem 16er. Der Schampus perlt. Das Teil landet bei Jay Electronica. Als MF den Track für einen TV-Sender lizenzieren will, checken Purist und Sonny: »Barz Simpson« lässt sich vergolden. Zwei Jahre später ist Doom tot, aber ein Album draußen. Und jetzt: die limitierte 7inch

Christoph Benkeser
Yusef Lateef
Detroit Latitude 42° 30' Longitude 83°
ARC • 1969 • ab 43.99€

Was passiert, wenn man einem Allwissenden wie Gilles Peterson den Schlüssel fürs Musik-Archiv in die Hand steckt? Warner wollte es herausfinden – und ließ mit »Yusef Lateef's Detroit: Latitude 42º 30' Longitude 83º« eines der coolsten Flöten-Funk-und-Blaxploitation-Scheiben des Woodstock-Sommers heben. 1969 erschienen, klingt die Platte von Lateef ein halbes Jahrhundert später so fresh wie Jazz aus der Kühlkammer. Kein Wunder, dass MF Doom den Tonarm schon vor 25 Jahren ausgefahren hat.

Christoph Benkeser