12 releases to look out for on Record Store Day x Black Friday 2023

02.11.2023
We’ve combed through the list of releases announced exclusively for Record Store Day x Black Friday 2023, and put together a selection of twelve records that we’ve identified as potential highlights.
13th Floor Elevators
Bull Of The Woods
Culture Factory • 2023 • from 32.99€

When this album was released in 1969, probably only the five members of the US rock band knew that it would be their last. A year earlier, while they were working on »Bull Of The Woods« in the studio, they realised that the band had reached its zenith. Hardly a good omen for the 13th Floor Elevators, but the record created in those studio sessions reached absolute classic status in the rock genre. Black and white vinyl edition.

Wencke Riede
Charles Mingus
Incarnations
Candid • 2023 • from 31.99€

Charles Mingus struck gold in 1960. The band leader had been invited to record some sessions for the newly formed Candid label. The complete artistic freedom given to Mingus allowed him to experiment with unusual ensemble combinations. The result was three high-calibre albums that established the double bass player in the pantheon of jazz. 63 years later, Candid has unearthed several unreleased recordings of these sessions

Michael Zangerl
De La Soul
3 Feet High And Rising
Chrysalis • 2023 • from 76.99€

Three Kids, De La Soul, their first record, or: the most critical, some say, because Prince Paul, the producer, helped himself to the buffet of music history. From Steely Dan to Johnny Cash to Kraftwerk, everything was there and it was the beginning of everything: »3 Feet High and Rising«! Then there were stories from the street and nonsense in your head that you didn't even have to make up when you were 15 in the eighties, you just had to let it happen. Incidentally, the record companies thought the same thing years later when they had to remove every single sample. Now, for Record Store Day x Black Friday 2023, the whole thing is being released as a limited edition 7-inch box set.

Christoph Benkeser
Gil Scott-Heron & Brian Jackson
Winter In America
Culture Factory • 2023 • from 38.99€

The best of many collaborations between musician and poet Gil Scott-Heron and keyboardist and flautist Brian Jackson. Blues, soul and jazzy vibes in minimalist arrangements form the basis of Scott-Heron's commentary on the social reality of African-Americans in 1974. The album's influence on hip-hop and neo-soul was huge. First re-release in almost 20 years, black and white vinyl with inside-out effect, gatefold cover with OBI strip and printed inner sleeve

Albert Koch
Jesus Lizard
Blue
Real Gone Music • 2023 • from 49.99€

Formed in Chicago in 1987, The Jesus Lizard have been known for their relentless noise rock ever since. They also prove this with their sixth studio album, »Blue«, released in 1998, on which they mercilessly turn their back on the mainstream. What may have been too uncommercial, too weird and too loud back then is now the very magic that is inherent in this record. Limited re-release as a blue vinyl edition, exclusive to Record Store Day x Black Friday 2023.

Wencke Riede
Joni Mitchell
Court And Spark Demos
RhIno • 2023 • from 32.29€

»Court and Spark« is the most commercially successful album by one of the most influential musicians of our time. Now several previously unreleased demos made in the lead up to the 1974 album are being released. But why listen to demos when the actual album is... well, because they are closer and more intimate in their rawness! If you like Joni Mitchell without the pomp, you'll find what you're looking for here.

Pippo Kuhzart
Galt MacDermot
Ghetto Suite
Tidal Waves Music • 1972 • from 31.99€

Pushing 50, Galt MacDermot would have been well placed to call it a day; the hippies from Hair had already brought a good chunk of money to his composer's account. But MacDermot didn't decide to throw all his money into highjinks, but instead chose to say, »Enough with musicals, now it's time for some jazz!«. So he jotted down some notes and in the studio came up with »Black is Beautiful«. Later, half the East Coast kissed his feet for it. That's probably why »Ghetto Suite« is one of his most expensive records on Discogs. Tidal waves are now pulling sharks' teeth.

Christoph Benkeser
Meat Puppets
Forbidden Places
Real Gone Music • 2023 • from 49.99€

Their best album was »Forbidden Places«, which is why this fifth Meat Puppet record was unjustly overlooked back in 1991, when leather jacket moustaches and cowboy boots were less fashionable and the kids smelled more of teen spirit than fragile masculinity. The dad-rock vibes of »Forbidden Places« certainly didn't come from the major-label move that made Meat Puppets the musical neighbours of ZZ Top, their favourite band. It was simply always there. And that's OK, because somebody has to be able to afford the opulent new edition on Real Gone Music.

Christoph Benkeser
Mike James Kirkland
Hang On In There
Ubiquity • 1972 • from 29.99€

Mike James Kirkland grew up in Mississippi, and sang in a gospel choir. Then came the late sixties and the records of Curtis Mayfield, which prompted him to pack his bags and move to California. This is the starting point for »Hang On In There«, which the man with the illustrious name of Mike James Kirkland recorded with his brother in 1972. It sounds like a cross between Gil Scott-Heron's preaching and Marvin Gaye's string-drenched missionary music. No wonder John Legend got wind of it one day.

Christoph Benkeser
Mogwai
My Father My King
Rock Action • 2001 • from 22.79€

One of the longest singles in music history, »My Father My King« is over 20 minutes long. It is a reinterpretation of the traditional Jewish prayer of supplication »Avinu Malkeinu« by Scottish post-rock band Mogwai. Three guitars between quiet passages and epic widescreen sound, bursts of noise, feedback and distortion. File under: Lou Reeds »Metal Machine Music«. Single-sided 12-inch white vinyl and first re-release since the 2001 release, limited to 2,000 copies.

Albert Koch
War
World Is A Ghetto
Rhino • 1973 • from 124.99€

I'm a passionate critic of the idea that the music world was once cooler than it is now. However, War seriously puts me on the defensive. »World Is Ghetto« was America's biggest selling album of 1973. With its socially critical lyrics, life-affirming funk and psychedelic jazz, War invited people to dance. If, according to Antonio Gramsci, politics is like a pitched battle, I can only hope to share a trench with War. The re-release on RSD is commemorating its 50th anniversary with a collector's edition.

Michael Zangerl
Various Artists
Light In The Attic & Friends
Light In The Attic • 2023 • from 56.99€

One of the best-known reissue labels of the last ten years is, for once, not releasing a reissue. Instead, »Light In The Attic« delivers a beautifully presented disc with 20 unreleased cover versions. Soul man Charles Bradley covers Sugarman Sixto Rodriguez, while avant-garde great Leslie Winer covers the great folk musician Tim Buckley. Unlikely bedfellows, lovingly presented on »Light In The Attic & Friends« in coloured vinyl and with big, fat liner notes.

Pippo Kuhzart

All these and more RSD Black Friday releases can be found in our webshop

Go to the Webshop

12 Releases nach denen du beim Record Store Day x Black Friday 2023 Ausschau halten solltest

02.11.2023
Wir haben uns durch die Liste der exklusiv zum Record Store Day x Black Friday 2023 angekündigten Releases gewühlt und euch eine Auswahl von zwölf Schallplatten zusammengestellt, die wir als mögliche Highlights entlarvt haben.

13th Floor Elevators
Bull Of The Woods
Culture Factory • 2023 • ab 32.99€

Dass dieses Album das letzte der US-amerikanischen Rockband werden würde, war zum Zeitpunkt des Releases 1969 wahrscheinlich nur den fünf Mitgliedern bewusst. Denn diese merkten schon ein Jahr zuvor, während sie im Studio an »Bull Of The Woods« arbeiteten, dass die Peak-Time ihres Band-Daseins geschehen war. Kein gutes Omen für die 13th Floor Elevators, dafür aber für das, was sie trotz dessen produzierten – die Platte hat absoluten Klassiker-Status im Rock Genre. Black and White Vinyl Edition.

Wencke Riede
Charles Mingus
Incarnations
Candid • 2023 • ab 31.99€

1960 stieß Charles Mingus auf Gold. Das neu gegründete Label Candid hatte den Bandleader eingeladen, einige Sessions aufzunehmen. Dank völliger künstlerischer Freiheit konnte Mingus ungewöhnliche Ensemblekombinationen ausprobieren. So entstanden drei hochkarätige Alben, die den Kontrabassisten im Pantheon des Jazz etablieren sollten. 63 Jahre später gräbt Candid unveröffentlichte Aufnahmen dieser Sessions aus.

Michael Zangerl
De La Soul
3 Feet High And Rising
Chrysalis • 2023 • ab 76.99€

Drei Kids, De La Soul, ihre erste Platte, oder: die kritischste, sagen manche, weil sich Prince Paul, der Produzent, ganz unbekümmert am Buffet der Musikgeschichte bedient, von Steely Dan über Cash bis Kraftwerk, alles war da und der Anfang von allem: »3 Feet High and Rising«! Dazu kamen Geschichten von der Straße und Blödsinn in der Birne, den musste man mit 15 in den Achtzigern nicht erfinden, nur zulassen. Das dachten sich übrigens auch die Plattenfirmen Jahre später, als sie jedes einzelne Sample clearen mussten. Zum Record Store Day x Black Friday 2023 kommt das ganze nun in einer limitierten 7inch-Box heraus.

Christoph Benkeser
Gil Scott-Heron & Brian Jackson
Winter In America
Culture Factory • 2023 • ab 37.99€

Das beste von nicht wenigen gemeinsamen Alben des Musiker-Poeten Gil Scott-Heron mit dem Keyboarder und Flötisten Brian Jackson. Blues, Soul und jazzy Vibes in minimalistischen Arrangements sind Basis für Scott-Herons Kommentare zur gesellschaftlichen Realität der Afroamerikaner des Jahres 1974. Der Einfluss des Albums auf Hip-Hop und Neo-Soul: gewaltig. Erste Reissue seit fast 20 Jahren, schwarzweißes Vinyl mit Inside-Out-Effekt, Gatefold-Cover mit OBI-Strip und bedruckte Innenhülle

Albert Koch
Jesus Lizard
Blue
Real Gone Music • 2023 • ab 49.99€

1987 in Chicago gegründet, sind The Jesus Lizard seither für ihren erbarmungslosen Noise-Rock bekannt. Das beweisen sie auch mit ihrem 1998 erschienenen sechsten Studioalbum »Blue«, mit dem sie sich gnadenlos vom Mainstream abwenden. Was damals vielleicht zu unkommerziell, zu schräg und zu laut war, ist heute genau der Zauber, der dieser Platte innewohnt. Limitierte Neuauflage als Blue-Vinyl-Edition, exklusiv beim Record Store Day x Black Friday 2023.

Wencke Riede
Joni Mitchell
Court And Spark Demos
RhIno • 2023 • ab 33.99€

»Court and Spark« ist das kommerziell erfolgreichste Album einer der einflussreichsten Musiker:innen unserer Zeit. Jetzt erscheinen bisher unveröffentlichte Demos, die im Vorfeld des Albums von 1974 entstanden sind. Warum sich Demos anhören, wenn das fertige Album… na, weil sie in ihrer Rohheit näher und intimer sind! Wer Joni Mitchell ohne Pomp mag, wird hier fündig.

Pippo Kuhzart
Galt MacDermot
Ghetto Suite
Tidal Waves Music • 1972 • ab 31.99€

Mit Ende 40 hätte Galt MacDermot es gut sein lassen können, die Hippies von Hair hatten ihm einen ordentlichen Batzen vom Komponistenkonto abgezogen. Aber MacDermot gab nicht alles für die gute Laune aus, sondern sagte: Genug Musical, jetzt Jazz! Also machte er sich ein paar Notizen, und im Studio hieß es dann: »Black is Beautiful«. Dafür hat ihm später die halbe Ostküste die Füße geküsst. Wahrscheinlich ist »Ghetto Suite« deshalb eine seiner teuersten Platten bei Discogs. Tidal Waves zieht jetzt den Haien die Zähne.

Christoph Benkeser
Meat Puppets
Forbidden Places
Real Gone Music • 2023 • ab 49.99€

Ihr bestes Album sei »Forbidden Places« gewesen, weshalb diese fünfte Platte von Meat Puppet damals zu Unrecht übersehen wurde, 1991, als Lederjackenschnurrbärte und Cowboystiefel-Gangs noch nicht so angesagt waren und die Kids eher nach Teen Spirit als nach zerbrechlicher Männlichkeit rochen. Die Dadrock-Vibes von »Forbidden Places« kamen jedenfalls nicht vom Major-Label-Umzug, der Meat Puppets zu musikalischen Nachbarn von ZZ Top, ihren Lieblingen, machte. Er war einfach schon immer da. Und das ist ja okay so, irgendwer muss sich ja die opulente Neuauflage bei Real Gone Music leisten können.

Christoph Benkeser
Mike James Kirkland
Hang On In There
Ubiquity • 1972 • ab 29.99€

Mike James Kirkland wuchs in Mississippi auf, sang in einer Gospelgruppe, irgendwann kamen die späten Sechziger und die Curtis Mayfield-Platten, für die man schon mal die Koffer packte und nach Kalifornien zog. Das ist die Ausgangslage für »Hang On In There«, das der Mann mit dem klangvollen Namen Mike James Kirkland 1972 mit seinem Bruder aufnahm. Sie klingt wie ein Querschnitt aus Gil Scott-Herons Predigt und Marvin Gayes streicherschmachtenden Missionarstellungsmusik. Kein Wunder, dass John Legend eines Tages davon Wind bekam.

Christoph Benkeser
Mogwai
My Father My King
Rock Action • 2001 • ab 22.79€

Eine der längsten Singles der Musikgeschichte. »My Father My King« läuft über 20 Minuten. Es ist die Umdeutung des traditionellen jüdischen Bittgebets »Avinu Malkeinu« von der schottischen Post-Rock-Band Mogwai. Drei Gitarren zwischen leisen Passagen und epischem Breitwand-Sound, Noise-Ausbrüchen, Feedback und Verzerrungen. File under: Lou Reeds »Metal Machine Music«. Einseitig bespielte Vinyl 12" weißem Vinyl und erste Reissue seit der Veröffentlichung 2001, limitiert auf 2.000 Exemplare.

Albert Koch
War
World Is A Ghetto
Rhino • 1973 • ab 112.49€

Ich bin ein passionierter Kritiker der Vorstellung, dass die Musikwelt früher cooler war. Die Band War bringt mich allerdings ernsthaft in die Defensive. 1973 war »World Is A Ghetto« in den USA das meist-verkaufte Album. Mit sozialkritischen Texten, lebensbejahendem Funk und psychedelischen Jazz laden War zum Tanz. Wenn Politik nach Antonio Gramsci wie ein Stellungskrieg ist, kann man nur hoffen, sich mit War einen Graben zu teilen. Ihr 50-Jähriges gedenkt der RSD-Reissue mit einer Sammleredition.

Michael Zangerl
Various Artists
Light In The Attic & Friends
Light In The Attic • 2023 • ab 56.99€

Eines der bekanntesten Reissue-Labels der letzten zehn Jahre veröffentlicht mal keine Reissue. Stattdessen liefert Light In The Attic eine schön aufgemachte Platte mit 20 unveröffentlichten Coverversionen. Soulman Charles Bradley covert Sugarman Sixto Rodriguez, Avantgarde-Größe Leslie Winer den großen Folker Tim Buckley. Unwahrscheinliche Kombinationen, die auf »Light In The Attic & Friends« in farbigem Vinyl und mit dicken, fetten Liner Notes liebevoll aufbereitet sind.

Pippo Kuhzart