12 Releases you Should Look out for on Record Store Day 2024

Text: Editorial staff
12.03.2024
Record Store Day. More than 500 releases. It’s a matter of separating the wheat from the chaff. Fortunately, there is an indomitable music editorial team that takes on this task. Here are the highlights of RSD 2024: some melancholy, some clattering and plenty of rarities.
Boogie Down Productions
Edutainment
Get On Down • 1990 • from 49.99€

Ein Hip-Hop-Duo aus New York, das sich Mitte der 1980er-Jahre zwischen den Blocks der Bronx gründete und Gangsta-Rap kreierte, der vom Leben auf der Straße, von Kriminalität, Gewalt und Drogen erzählt. Es sind Geschichten, die von Boogie Down Productions auf »Edutainment« in Beats gepackt sind und zum Zuhören und Mitnicken einladen. Ein Oldtimer des East Coast Gangsta Rap eben. Beim Record Store Day 2024 als Opaque Black und Canary Yellow Vinyl Edition.

Wencke Riede
Corviria
Descriptive
Redi Edizioni Musicali • 1980 • from 37.99€

Those of you who enjoyed the melancholic mood on »Psyco Analysis« can look forward to a healthy dose of mysterious, abstract and dark sounds on Corviria's second album, »Descriptive«, first released in 1980. From the eerie »The Chase« to the feather-light »Soft Music« and the literally comical »Funny March«, the album covers the full gamut of emotions. Now, 44 years after its original release, it's being reissued on vinyl for the first time.

Franziska Nistler
Greg Foat / Gigi Masin
The Fish Factory Sessions
Strut • 2024 • from 31.99€

The last time Greg Foat and Gigi Masin went for a dive, they ended up on my personal best-of-2023. »Dolphin« was aquatic Ambient Jazz, unpretentious and deeply moving for it. Immersed in coral reefs and sea mammals, the duo got caught by London’s Fish Factory Studios. They performed alternative takes of »Dolphin«’s songs, bathed in other sounds. »The Fish Factory Sessions« promise oceanic feelings and azure worlds. Colored Vinyl Edition.

Michael Zangerl
Half Japanese
Our Solar System
Fire • 1984 • from 35.99€

For me, the music Half Japanese makes is great in an often unfathomable way, and the same goes for the album »Our Solar System«, first released on Iridescence Records in 1984. What's impressive is the urgency, the immediacy of the 19 songs here. The band around the brothers David and Jad Fair just starts hammering away every time. This earned them the reputation of being »unheard of« early on. Which is not true. There's something hidden behind the banging. Something like uniqueness. Can you hear it too? 40th anniversary edition on black vinyl.

Sebastian Hinz
John Hartford
Morning Bugle
Real Gone Music • 2024 • from 93.99€

John Hartford became known as the composer of the song »Gentle On My Mind«. But the musician, who died in 2001, created an extensive oeuvre as an interpreter of his own and traditional songs, between lovingly cultivated tradition and a slightly detached hippie attitude. »Morning Bugle« combines both with a great deal of humour and sometimes breathtaking virtuosity. Hartford is accompanied by bluegrass guitarist Norman Blake and jazz legend Dave Holland on bass.

Andreas Schnell
Lil Uzi Vert
Luv Is Rage
Atlantic Records • 2016 • from 49.99€

Lil Uzi Vert was as fresh-faced as a baby when he released »Luv Is Rage«. Today, the US rapper has lost his they/them pronouns but gained as many followers as he has tattoos on his face. And for good reason: everyone's pumped »7AM« at least once, and there's no need to overthink it. It's still fun, though. After all, it's 808 trap shining like ten carats under a flying fringe. The 2016 mixtape will be available on vinyl LP via Atlantic Records for Record Store Day 2024.

Christoph Benkeser
Mike Welch
Renovations
Nunorthern Soul • 1981 • from 23.99€

You wake up on a Saturday or a Wednesday and the sun asks: Is today a good day? Depends on whether I have anything on, you'll whisper—and feed the espresso machine first. Then you put on »Renovations«, Mike Welch's privately pressed 1981 country club record, and think: My God, how may feelings can you possibly have in this one life? So many that you stand naked on your balcony and wave to your neighbours while taking a deep breath. Re-released on NuNorthern Soul as a black vinyl LP with heavy card insert.

Christoph Benkeser
Pat Thomas / Lalo Schifrin
Desafinado
Poppydisc • 2024 • from 36.99€

Chicago's Patricia Thomas was not quite 25 when she lent her warm, crystal-clear soul voice to the 12 tracks on the Bossa Nova cover classic »Desafinado«. The great thing about them: The tracks are partly titled in Portuguese, but all sung in English. A Grammy nomination and several reissues of the LP followed, but then Thomas and her special, wonderful album quickly faded into the background. Who cares whether we're sitting on the steps of Selarón staircase in Rio de Janeiro on a warm summer evening night or lounging in the jazz clubs on Chicago's South Side, as long as Thomas makes us dream. Coloured vinyl edition for Record Store Day 2024.

Nathanael Stute
Prince Far I
Cry Tuff Chants
On-U Sound • 2024 • from 50.99€

There are many photos of Prince Far I with a fat Junior-style spliff in the corner of his mouth. It doesn't explain everything, but it explains quite a lot. The rastaman was a kind of emissary for King Tubby—one who could talk to himself for hours into a microphone, which you can only understand if you listen to reggae. So, one thing you need to understand, you don't need a daily ration of Snoop for this. But it can't hurt for gaining a better understanding of »Cry Tuff Chants«. Limited reissue of 1,000 copies on On-U Sound.

Christoph Benkeser
Pucho & His Latin Soul Brothers
Yaina
Ubiquity • 1971 • from 31.99€

Mick Jagger finds this record as refreshing as a blood transfusion for a baby—and not just because Pucho and his Latin Soul Brothers have recorded the silkiest cover version ever of »You Can't Always Get What You Want«. But because the cover exudes such wonderfully unreasonable 1970s vibes. And anyone who was never there has fond memories of it. There have been several reissues of »Yaina« over the years. Ubiquity is releasing another reissue just in time for Record Store Day.

Christoph Benkeser
Sorrow
Sleep Now Forever
Night School • 2024 • from 35.99€

Sorrow's second and final album is being released on vinyl for the first time. »Sleep Now Forever« brings forth beautiful melodies. They expand out and gently caress Rose McDowall's vocals. Nineties folk rock that sounds timeless and catchy. Vinyl double LP, remastered, first time on vinyl.

Wencke Riede
Yusef Lateef
Atlantis Lullaby: The Concert from Avignon
Elemental • 2024 • from 49.99€

Yusef Lateef is often considered to be the Jazz head that played World music before World music was a thing. He preferred to speak of »autophysiopsychic music«. Sounds cerebral? It is. But not only. »Autophysio-« stands for full body commitment. All flutes, no flukes. Now, you can observe this on a previously unpublished live recording from 1972. »Atlantis Lullaby«, a quartet with Kenny Barron, Bob Cunningham, and Albert »Tootie« Heath, offers ballads, Blues, and Jazz. 180-gram vinyl edition.

Michael Zangerl

12 Releases nach denen du beim Record Store Day 2024 Ausschau halten solltest

Text: Redaktion
12.03.2024
Record Store Day. Mehr als 500 Releases. Da gilt es, die Spreu vom Weizen zu trennen. Zum Glück gibt es eine unbeugsame Musikredaktion, die sich dieser Aufgabe annimmt. Hier sind die Highlights des RSD 2024: Melancholisches, Schepperndes und jede Menge Raritäten.
Boogie Down Productions
Edutainment
Get On Down • 1990 • ab 49.99€

Ein Hip-Hop-Duo aus New York, das sich Mitte der 1980er-Jahre zwischen den Blocks der Bronx gründete und Gangsta-Rap kreierte, der vom Leben auf der Straße, von Kriminalität, Gewalt und Drogen erzählt. Es sind Geschichten, die von Boogie Down Productions auf »Edutainment« in Beats gepackt sind und zum Zuhören und Mitnicken einladen. Ein Oldtimer des East Coast Gangsta Rap eben. Beim Record Store Day 2024 als Opaque Black und Canary Yellow Vinyl Edition.

Wencke Riede
Corviria
Descriptive
Redi Edizioni Musicali • 1980 • ab 37.99€

Diejenigen, die die melancholische Stimmung von »Psyco Analysis« genossen haben, dürfen sich auch bei der erstmals 1980 veröffentlichten, zweiten Platte »Descriptive« von Corviria auf eine ordentliche Dosis mysteriöser, abstrakter und düsterer Klänge freuen. Vom unheimlichen »The Chase« über den federleichten Song »Soft Music« bis hin zum im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes drolligen »Funny March«, klappert die Platte die volle Bandbreite an Emotionen ab. 44 Jahre nach ihrem ursprünglichen Erscheinen nun erstmals wieder auf Vinyl gepresst.

Franziska Nistler
Greg Foat / Gigi Masin
The Fish Factory Sessions
Strut • 2024 • ab 31.99€

Als Greg Foat und Gigi Masin zum letzten Mal auf Tauchgang gingen, haben sie es auf meine Jahresendliste geschafft. »Dolphin« war aquatischer Ambient-Jazz, unprätentiös und daher zutiefst rührend. Von Korallenriffen und Meeressäugern bezaubert, ist das Duo der Londoner Fish Factory Studios in die Netze gegangen. Sie performten alternative Takes von »Dolphin«-Songs. »The Fish Factory Sessions« versprechen ozeanische Gefühle und tiefblaue Welten. Farbiges Vinvl.

Michael Zangerl
Half Japanese
Our Solar System
Fire • 1984 • ab 35.99€

Die Musik von Half Japanese ist für mich auf oft unergründliche Weise großartig, und das gilt auch für das 1984 erstmals bei Iridescence Records erschienene Album »Our Solar System«. Was beeindruckt, ist die Dringlichkeit, die Unmittelbarkeit der 19 Songs hier. Die Band um die Brüder David und Jad Fair scheppert immer gleich los. Das hatte ihnen früh den Ruf der »Unerhörbarkeit« eingebracht. Was nicht stimmt. Hinter dem Scheppern liegt etwas verborgen. So etwas wie Einmaligkeit. Hörst du's auch? 40th Anniversary Edition on Black Vinyl.

Sebastian Hinz
John Hartford
Morning Bugle
Real Gone Music • 2024 • ab 93.99€

John Hartford wurde als Komponist des Songs »Gentle On My Mind« bekannt. Doch vor allem als Interpret eigener und traditioneller Songs schuf der 2001 verstorbene Musiker ein umfangreiches Werk zwischen liebevoll gepflegter Tradition und leicht verstrahlter Hippie-Attitüde. »Morning Bugle« verbindet beides mit viel Humor und teilweise atemberaubender Virtuosität. Begleitet wird Hartford von Bluegrass-Gitarrist Norman Blake und Jazz-Legende Dave Holland am Bass.

Andreas Schnell
Lil Uzi Vert
Luv Is Rage
Atlantic Records • 2016 • ab 49.99€

Lil Uzi Vert war beim Release von »Luv Is Rage« noch so unbeschrieben wie sein Gesicht - heute hat der US-Rapper they/them seine Pronomen verloren, aber so viele Follower wie Face Tats. Aus gutem Grund: »7AM« hat jeder schon mal gepumpt, da muss man die tiefsitzende Unvernunft nicht erst durch die Fußgängerzone kutschieren. Macht trotzdem Spaß. Ist schließlich 808-Trap, der wie zehn Karat unter der fliegenden Stirnfranse glänzt. Zum Record Store Day 2024 gibt es das Mixtape von 2016 als Vinyl LP via Atlantic Records.

Christoph Benkeser
Mike Welch
Renovations
Nunorthern Soul • 1981 • ab 23.99€

Du wachst auf, es ist Samstag oder Mittwoch und die Sonne fragt: Ist das ein guter Tag? Kommt drauf an, ob man was zu tun hat, wirst du flüstern – und erstmal die Espressomaschine füttern. Um als nächstes »Renovations«, diese Countryclub-Platte von Mike Welch, 1981 nur in einer privaten Pressung erschienen, aufzulegen und dir zu denken: Meine Güte, wie sehr kann man dieses Leben eigentlich fühlen? So sehr, dass man sich nackt auf den Balkon stellt und durchatmend den Nachbarn zuwinkt. Neuauflage als Black Vinyl LP mit Heavy Card Insert auf NuNorthern Soul.

Christoph Benkeser
Pat Thomas / Lalo Schifrin
Desafinado
Poppydisc • 2024 • ab 36.99€

Die Chicagoerin Patricia Thomas ist noch keine 25 Jahre alt, als sie den 12 Titeln des Bossa-Nova-Cover-Klassikers »Desafinado« mit ihrer warmen, glasklaren Soulstimme ihren Klang verleiht. Das Besondere: Die Titel tragen zum Teil portugiesische Namen, sind aber alle auf Englisch gesungen. Eine Grammy-Nominierung und mehrere Wiederveröffentlichungen der LP folgen, dann wird es schnell still um Thomas und ihr besonderes, wunderbares Album. Sitzen wir hier in einer warmen Sommernacht auf den Stufen der Selarón-Treppe in Rio de Janeiro oder in den Jazz-Lokalen der Chicagoer South Side? Who cares - solange Thomas uns zum Träumen bringt. Colored Vinyl Edition zum Record Store Day 2024.

Nathanael Stute
Prince Far I
Cry Tuff Chants
On-U Sound • 2024 • ab 50.99€

Von Prinz Far I gibt es viele Fotos, die ihn mit einer dicken Juniortüte im Mundwinkel zeigen. Das erklärt zwar nicht alles, aber doch vieles. Der Rastamann war so etwas wie der Abgesandte von King Tubby - einer, der stundenlang Selbstgespräche ins Mikro führen konnte, die man nur versteht, wenn man Reggae hört. Also: versteht. Dazu braucht man zwar keine Tagesration Snoop. Aber zum besseren Verständnis von »Cry Tuff Chants« kann es auch nicht schaden. Auf 1.000 Stück limitierte Neuauflage auf On-U Sound.

Christoph Benkeser
Pucho & His Latin Soul Brothers
Yaina
Ubiquity • 1971 • ab 31.99€

Mick Jagger findet diese Platte so erfrischend wie eine Baby-Blutkur - und das nicht nur, weil Pucho und seine Latin Soul Brothers die seidigste Coverversion von »You Can’t Always Get What You Want« aufgenommen haben. Sondern weil das Cover so wunderbar unvernünftig 1970er-Jahre atmet. Und alle, die nie dabei waren, haben gute Erinnerungen daran. Im Laufe der Jahre gab es zwar schon die eine oder andere Neuauflage von »Yaina«. Pünktlich zum Record Store Day schiebt Ubiquity trotzdem eine Neuauflage hinterher.

Christoph Benkeser
Sorrow
Sleep Now Forever
Night School • 2024 • ab 35.99€

Das zweite und letzte Album der Band Sorrow wird erstmals auf Vinyl aufgelegt. »Sleep Now Forever« bringt wunderschöne Melodien hervor. Sie dehnen sich aus und legen sich behutsam an Rose McDowalls Gesang. Folk-Rock aus den Neunzigern, der zeitlos und eingängig klingt. Vinyl 2LP, remastered, erstmals auf Vinyl.

Wencke Riede
Yusef Lateef
Atlantis Lullaby: The Concert from Avignon
Elemental • 2024 • ab 49.99€

Yusef Lateef gilt als der Jazzmusiker, der Weltmusik spielte, bevor es Weltmusik gab. Er selbst spricht von »autophysiopsychischer Musik«. Klingt verrückt? Ist es auch. Aber nicht nur. »Autophysio-« steht für vollen Körpereinsatz. Den kann man jetzt auf einem erstmals veröffentlichten Livemitschnitt von 1972 erleben. Im Quartett mit Kenny Barron, Bob Cunningham und Albert »Tootie« Heath flötet Lateef, was das Zeug hält. »Atlantis Lullaby« bietet Balladen, Blues und Jazz. Record Store Day Release auf 180g schwerem Vinyl.

Michael Zangerl