Aigner’s Inventory: May & June2023

04.05.2023
Now, when we can speak of spring without consternation, and less horny than before: Aigner’s Inventory. Just slip into the crack between the sofa cushions and discover opinions about new albums from Yves Tumor, Fever Ray, Ron Morelli, Alva Noto and others.
Fever Ray
Radical Romantics
Rabid • 2023 • from 34.99€

Factoring in Dean Blunt's continued focus on low key guitar song writing, Fever Ray is perhaps the 10's foremost remaining pillar, not only soaking up every electronic micro-trend but pointedly translating them into avant-pop contexts. »Radical Romantics« isn't as explicitly horny as its predecessor, but sweats its way through every human emotion after a very Knife-ish opening, including a parent-revenge fantasy that really packs a punch in its explicitness. Visionary as always. 

Florian Aigner
Yves Tumor
Praise A Lord Who Chews But Which Does Not Consume; (Or Simply, Hot Between Worlds)
Warp • 2023 • from 29.99€

Half a decade ago, Yves Tumor was actually supposed to play the role of the more upbeat little brother, but they emancipated themselves from Dean Blunt's shadow no later than when they made their first record for Warp. With emphasis. »Praise A Lord Who Chews But Which Does Not Consume« is also completely unabashed in its embrace of unsexy alt-rock tropes, yet interpreted with a confidence almost reminiscent of Prince; a rock star understanding that aspires to fill stadiums. Yves Tumor have been going this path without me since 2017 due to my own blockade for all things operetta. But: maximum recognition for a singular musical identity.

Florian Aigner
Joanne Robertson
Blue Car
AD93 • 2023 • from 23.99€

This is the penultimate Dean Blunt teaser for today, I promise. A few weeks ago, another of Joanne Robertson's modest collections of sketches was released via AD93. »Blue Car« is little more than voice and guitar and disarmingly transparent. Anyone who still has space on their shelves between Grouper, Maxine Funke and Jonnine will know what to do. 

Pippo Kuhzart
Honour
Hbk Vol.2: Everytin Na Double
All The Rest Have Died • 2023 • from 29.99€

Whether Dean Blunt is a member of Honour or not has still not been ultimately established, but it would be the final accolade. Following the first volume, which we previously reviewed somewhat hysterically here, the second volume of »Hbk« has now been released on vinyl as well, an ambient trap sonata with hallucinatory vocal contributions, upbeat triplets and Just Blaze horns. Possibly the album of the year. 

Florian Aigner
Mc Yallah
Yallah Beibe
Hakuna Kulala • 2023 • from 26.99€

When it comes to rap, there's not much happening on the physical recordings that would have caught my attention, but not only does the manic production work by Debmaster, Scotch Rolex and ChrisMan make »Yallah Beibe« a real banger, it also lives from the breathlessly executed flow conjugation of MC Yallah himself. As if »Boy In Da Corner« and »Fantastic Damage« had taken a hotel room back in the day. 

Florian Aigner
Shackleton & Scotch Rolex 
Death By Tickling
Silver Triplet • 2023 •

Scotch Rolex also collaborates with Shackleton for the duration of the album on »Death By Tickling«. Here, the grime and trap influences are more noticeable in the form of some concise editing work. From the outside at least, Scotch Rolex comes across like an executive producer for Shackleton's typically sprawling productions, and as much as I love them: Shacki in 5-minute format was just a little too rare in the last ten years.

Florian Aigner
Holy Tongue
Deliverance And Spiritual Warfare
Amidah • 2023 • from 21.99€

Al Wooton and Valentina Magaletti continue to work at chordal speed under the name of Holy Tongue and, after three fantastic EPs, immediately follow up with another inspired album. »Deliverance And Spiritual Warfare« not only sounds like a combative hotstepper in the title, but dub in all its forms of the last five decades runs as a leitmotif through the album that still achieves to sound extremely contemporary. It is remarkable how stringent it is. ESG fun stands on equal footing with basic channel seriousness and traditional echo chamber madness. 

Florian Aigner
Froid Dub
Deep Blue Bass
Delodio • 2023 • from 24.99€

Froid Dub approach – yes – dub with tunnel vision and MPC aesthetics. »Deep Blue Bass« moves trunk rattling from Miami to London. It sounds like a 4k remaster of one of those half-forgotten Blakamix records from the mid-nineties, partly because it mixes synth-pop melodies into the classic Kingston connection.

Florian Aigner
Froid Dub
Deep Blue Bass
Delodio • 2023 • from 24.99€

Froid Dub approach – yes – dub with tunnel vision and MPC aesthetics. »Deep Blue Bass« moves trunk rattling from Miami to London. It sounds like a 4k remaster of one of those half-forgotten Blakamix records from the mid-nineties, partly because it mixes synth-pop melodies into the classic Kingston connection.

Florian Aigner
Dijit 
The Room
Youth • 2023 •

I still listen twice as hard to albums on Youth because Lyster simply knows what he's doing. Dijit's »The Room« is one of the less immediate albums on the label, a companion archive collection to Dijit's more rigorously sequenced 2020 album »Hyperattention«. While on the first listen it's mainly the ultimate Mo'Wax chillaxer Hasheesh that sticks, »The Room« gradually slides deeper into the crack between the sofa cushions, only to end the day's hangout with celebrating Saga and rave actionism. 

Florian Aigner
Jonquera (of Pilotwings)
La Croix Des Cros
Bamboo Shows • 2023 • from 31.99€

Jonquera, meanwhile, draws less on the 90s than Dijit did on his third, again very trippy solo album. »La Croix Des Crocs« follows the tension of ambitious late seventies soundtracks, baroque and humid, dusty and dehydrated, somehow »Sorcerer« and »The Proposition« at the same time. With stumbling half-time beats and mumbling in between. Vibes aplenty.

Florian Aigner
DJ Trystero
Castillo
Incienso • 2023 • from 31.99€

»Castillo«, on the other hand, is not a strictly narrative record. DJ Trystero casually strings together pumping house, dark bass drum techno, 808 sensibilities and beatless floaters here for Incienso. Common denominator: a diligence that could be called Japanese, if it weren't such a grossly overused cliché.

Florian Aigner
Sockethead 
Yas
Orila • 2023 •

Sockethead's album for Youth is still out of reach two and a half years later. The recently released »Yas«, on the other hand, is totally haptic. A hyper-reduced techno album, unpretentious, with clear links to Actress' more functional moments, impressively produced and certainly a bigger deal were it not for the shadow cast by this über-début.

Florian Aigner
Ron Morelli
Heart Stopper
L.I.E.S. • 2023 • from 34.99€

»Heart Stopper« works on two planes of reference. First, of course, as a nod to the history of Twin Cities' house and techno, which has always remained the mission statement for L.I.E.S., even on the most desolate of releases. But above all, Heart Stopper, as the two hundredth catalogue number in its categorical commitment to the sound of the first twenty, is also a tongue-in-cheek gesture that Ron Morelli offers to himself. At the latest, you realise that someone still enjoys doing his job when he treats himself to a piano house stomper with »Time Stands Still«. Florian Aigner

Florian Aigner
Finn 
Everything Is Alright
2 B Real • 2023 •

What I always keep forgetting for 4 to 5 years about house in general (or, in the best case, from Omar-S to Omar-S-V.Ö.) is what a blast it is. The reminder this year comes from Finn from Manchester, who offers a perfectly unpretentious euphoric peak set with »Everything Is Alright«; UK breaks, diva vocals and New Jersey gospel included. An enormous blast. 

Florian Aigner
Andrea
Due In Color
Ilian Tape • 2023 • from 28.99€

After several well-smoked and decelerated releases, Ilian Tape give Andrea a completely free hand tempo-wise on »Due In Color«. D&B and breaks remain the framework for an album that couldn't be more in keeping with the label's philosophy with its timelessness. 

Florian Aigner
DJ Danifox 
Ansiedade 
Príncipe • 2023 •

New material from Tia Maria Produções is always guaranteed to drive my pulse into three digit range without even being heard. As always on Príncipe, »Ansiedade« is another of those albums that makes my heart pump like crazy with its incomparable drum programming and melancholic synths. Despite all its nervous energy, the album chooses an almost jazzy emotionality as its leitmotif. 

Florian Aigner
Alva Noto
Kinder Der Sonne
Noton • 2023 • from 28.99€

It's impossible to discuss Alva Noto's soundtrack to the play »Accomplices« without touching on Ryuichi Sakamoto's passing. While Sakamoto did not collaborate on these ambient miniatures, it's hard not to misinterpret Noto's elegant arrangements and sense of pathos in minimalism as a requiem for his long-time collaborator. If you still manage to make it through »Children of the Sun« without getting goose pimples or shedding a tear, you should truly have someone look at your heart. 

Florian Aigner

Alle Schallplatten aus
Aigners Inventur

Zum Webshop

Aigners Inventur: Mai & Juni 2023

04.05.2023
Selbst jetzt, wo man ohne Betroffenheit von Frühling sprechen kann, weniger horny als zuvor: Aigners Inventur. Rutscht lediglich in die Sofaritze und findet dort Meinungen zu neuen Alben von u.a. Yves Tumor, Fever Ray, Ron Morelli, Alva Noto.
Fever Ray
Radical Romantics
Rabid • 2023 • ab 34.99€

Unter Berücksichtigung von Dean Blunts anhaltendem Fokus auf low key Gitarren-Songwriting ist Fever Ray vielleicht die wichtigste verbliebene Säule der 10er, die nicht nur jeden elektronischen Mikrotrend aufsaugt, sondern pointiert in Avant-Pop-Kontexte übersetzt. »Radical Romantics« ist nicht mehr so explizit horny wie der Vorgänger, aber schwitzt sich nach sehr Knife-igem Auftakt durch jede menschliche Emotion, inklusive einer Parent-Revenge-Fantasie, die es in ihrer Deutlichkeit wirklich in sich hat. Visionär, wie immer.  

Florian Aigner
Yves Tumor
Praise A Lord Who Chews But Which Does Not Consume; (Or Simply, Hot Between Worlds)
Warp • 2023 • ab 29.99€

Yves Tumor sollten vor einer halben Dekade eigentlich die Rolle des aufgekratzeren kleinen Bruders spielen, aus Dean Blunts Schatten emanzipierten sie sich aber spätestens mit der ersten Platte für Warp. Mit Nachdruck. Auch »Praise A Lord Who Chews But Which Does Not Consume« ist vollkommen ungeniert in seiner Umarmung unsexier Alt-Rock-Tropen, interpretiert werden, diese aber mit einem fast schon an Prince erinnernden Selbstbewusstsein, einem Rockstarverständnis, das Stadien fühlen will. Meiner eigenen Blockade für all things Operette geschuldet, gehen Yves Tumor diesen Weg zwar seit 2017 ohne mich. Aber: maximale Anerkennung für eine singuläre musikalische Identität.

Florian Aigner
Joanne Robertson
Blue Car
AD93 • 2023 • ab 23.99€

Über AD93 erschien wieder eine dieser bescheidenen Skizzen-Sammlungen von Joanne Robertson. »Blue Car« ist wenig mehr als Stimme und Gitarre und entwaffnend transparent. Wer zwischen Grouper, Maxine Funke und Jonnine noch Platz im Regal hat, weiß was zu tun ist. 

Florian Aigner
Honour
Hbk Vol.2: Everytin Na Double
All The Rest Have Died • 2023 • ab 29.99€

Ob Dean Blunt Teil von Honour ist oder nicht, ist immer noch nicht final geklärt, es wäre aber der finale Ritterschlag. Nach dem hier ebenfalls schon hysterisch besprochenen ersten Teil, ist mittlerweile auch der zweite Teil von »Hbk« auf Vinyl erschienen, eine Ambient-Trap-Sonate mit halluzinatorischen Vocal-Beiträgen, aufgekratzten Triplets und Just Blaze-Bläsern. Album des Jahres, möglicherweise.

Florian Aigner
Mc Yallah
Yallah Beibe
Hakuna Kulala • 2023 • ab 26.99€

Rapmäßig ist auf physischen Tonträgern wieder wenig passiert, was mich tangiert hätte, aber »Yallah Beibe« böllert nicht nur auf Grund der manischen Produktionsarbeit von Debmaster, Scotch Rolex und ChrisMan, sondern lebt gleichermaßen von der atemlos-durchexerzierten Flow-Konjugation von MC Yallah selbst. Als hätten »Boy In Da Corner« und »Fantastic Damage« sich damals ein Hotelzimmer genommen.

Florian Aigner
Shackleton & Scotch Rolex 
Death By Tickling
Silver Triplet • 2023 •

Scotch Rolex arbeitet auf »Death By Tickling« außerdem auf Albumlänge mit Shackleton zusammen, die Grime- und Trap-Einflüsse sind hier eher in Form konziser Edit-Arbeit zu spüren. Scotch Rolex wirkt hier zumindest von außen betrachtet wie ein Executive Producer für Shackletons typischerweise ausufernde Produktionen und so sehr ich diese liebe: Shacki im 5-Minuten-Format gab es die letzten zehn Jahre einfach zu selten.

Florian Aigner
Holy Tongue
Deliverance And Spiritual Warfare
Amidah • 2023 • ab 21.99€

Al Wooton und Valentina Magaletti arbeiten als Holy Tongue im Akkordtempo weiter und schieben nach drei fantastischen EPs direkt noch ein inspiriertes Album hinter. »Deliverance And Spiritual Warfare« klingt nicht nur im Titel wie ein kämpferischer Stepper, Dub zieht sich in allen Formen der letzten fünf Jahrzehnte als roter Faden durch ein trotzdem sehr kontemporär klingendes Album. Bemerkenswert ist hier vor allem auch wie stringent das alles ist, ESG-Fun steht gleichberechtigt neben Basic Channel-Seriosität und traditioneller Echo Chamber-Madness.

Florian Aigner
Froid Dub
Deep Blue Bass
Delodio • 2023 • ab 24.99€

Froid Dub nähern sich - ääääääh - Dub mit Tunnelblick und MPC-Ästhetik. »Deep Blue Bass« verlegt Trunkrattling von Miami nach London. Das klingt dann wie ein 4k-Remaster einer dieser halb vergessenen Blakamix-Platten aus den Mitneunzigern, auch weil sich hier in die klassische Kingston-Verbundenheit auch Synthpop-Melodien mischen.

Florian Aigner
Shelter
Eight Colliding Dancers
Protopost • 2023 • ab 21.99€

Auch Shelters »Eight Colliding Dancers« schuldet Lee Perrys Mixing Desk einiges, entscheidet sich im Pressetext aber für Hassell, Craig Leon, Singh und Chaurasia als Referenz. Fair, aber angesichts der viertweltlichen Marktsättigung der letzten Jahre vielleicht auch eine reduktive Liste für ein ziemlich selbstsicheres Album.

Florian Aigner
Dijit 
The Room
Youth • 2023 •

Alben auf Youth höre ich nach wie vor doppelt so konzentriert, weil Lyster einfach weiß, was er tut. Dijits »The Room« ist eines der weniger immediaten (wie übersetzt man das eigentlich?) Alben des Labels, eine begleitende Archivsammlung zu Dijits strenger sequenziertem 2020er Album »Hyperattention«. Während beim ersten Durchgang vor allem der ultimative Mo’Wax-Schluffi Hasheesh - again: ääääh - hängenbleibt, rutscht »The Room« nach und nach tiefer in die Sofaritze, nur um mit Saga feixend den Hangout mit Rave-Aktionismus zu beenden.

Florian Aigner
Jonquera (of Pilotwings)
La Croix Des Cros
Bamboo Shows • 2023 • ab 31.99€

Jonquera bedient sich derweil auf seinem dritten, wieder sehr trippigen Soloalbum weniger bei den 90ern als Dijit. »La Croix Des Crocs« verfolgt den Spannungsbogen ambitionierter Spätsiebziger-Soundtracks, barock und humid, staubig und dehydriert, irgendwie gleichzeitig »Sorcerer« und »The Proposition«. Dazwischen stolpernde Halftime-Beats und Genuschel. Vibes, plenty.

Florian Aigner
DJ Trystero
Castillo
Incienso • 2023 • ab 31.99€

»Castillo« hingegen ist keine streng narrative Platte, DJ Trystero reiht hier für Incienso zwanglos pumpenden House, dunklen Bassdrum-Techno, 808-Befindlichkeiten und beatlose Floater aneinander. Gemeinsamer Nenner: eine Sorgfalt, die man japanisch nennen könnte, wäre das nicht ein arg überstrapaziertes Klischee.

Florian Aigner
Sockethead 
Yas
Orila • 2023 •

Socketheads Album für Youth bleibt auch zweieinhalb Jahre später unfassbar. Das nun erschienene »Yas« hingegen ist komplett haptisch. Ein hyperreduziertes Techno-Album, unprätentiös, mit klaren Anknüpfungspunkten an die funktionaleren Momente von Actress, beeindruckend produziert und sicher eine größere Sache, wäre da nicht der Schatten dieses Über-Debüts.

Florian Aigner
Ron Morelli
Heart Stopper
L.I.E.S. • 2023 • ab 34.99€

»Heart Stopper« funktioniert auf zwei Referenzebenen. Zunächst natürlich als Verneigung vor der House und Techno-Geschichte der Twin Cities, die immer Mission Statement für L.I.E.S. geblieben ist, selbst bei den wüstesten Veröffentlichungen. Vor allem aber ist Heart Stopper als zweihundertste Katalognummer in seinem kategorischen Bekenntnis zum Sound der ersten zwanzig auch ein augenzwinkerndes Geschenk, das sich Ron Morelli hier selbst macht. Und spätestens, wenn er sich mit »Time Stands Still« auch noch einen Piano-House-Stomper gönnt, merkt man, dass hier jemand immer noch Spaß an seinem Job hat.

Florian Aigner
Finn 
Everything Is Alright
2 B Real • 2023 •

Überhaupt House: vergesse ich immer wieder 4-5 Jahre lang (oder, best case, von Omar-S zu Omar-S-V.Ö.), was das einfach für ein Riesenspaß ist. Der Reminder kommt dieses Jahr von Finn aus Manchester, der mit »Everything Is Alright« ein perfekt unprätentiös euphorisches Peakset anbietet, UK-Breaks, Diva-Vocals und New Jersey Gospel inklusive. Big, big Fun. 

Florian Aigner
Andrea
Due In Color
Ilian Tape • 2023 • ab 28.99€

Ilian Tape lassen, nach einigen gut durchgeräucherten und entschleunigten Releases, Andrea auf »Due In Color« tempomäßig komplett freie Hand, D&B und Breaks bleiben die Klammer für ein Album, das in seiner Zeitlosigkeit der Labelphilosophie nicht besser entsprechen könnte.  

Florian Aigner
DJ Danifox 
Ansiedade 
Príncipe • 2023 •

Neues von Tia Maria Produções treibt meinen Puls immer schon ungehört in den dreistelligen Bereich, »Ansiedade« ist mit seinem - wie immer auf Príncipe - unvergleichbaren Drumprogramming und diesen melancholischen Synths dann direkt wieder ein kammerflimmerndes Album, das trotz seiner nervösen Energie eine fast jazzige Emotionalität als Leitmotiv wählt. 

Florian Aigner
Alva Noto
Kinder Der Sonne
Noton • 2023 • ab 28.99€

Man kann Alva Notos Soundtrack zum Theaterstück »Komplizen« nicht besprechen, ohne Ryuichi Sakamotos Tod zu streifen. Sakamoto arbeitete an diesen Ambient-Miniaturen zwar nicht mit, es ist aber schwer, Notos elegante Arrangements und sein Sinn für das Pathos im Minimalismus hier nicht gleichzeitig auch als Requiem für seinen langjährigen Kollaborateur fehlzudeuten. Wer es trotzdem ohne Gänsehaut oder Träne(n) durch »Kinder der Sonne«  schafft: einmal in der Kardiologie anrufen, bitte.

Florian Aigner

Alle Schallplatten aus
Aigners Inventur

Zum Webshop