Aigners Inventur: März & April 2023

02.03.2023
What is a sure sign of having fallen into insignificance? Who makes the most contemporary R&B? Which record is a sure candidate for this year’s best of list? And which is surely a contender for the decade’s best of list? Our columnist distributes praise and blame.
Gorillaz
Cracker Island
Warner • 2023 • from 30.99€

Regrettably, one of the surest signs of having become a footnote in the current discourse of pop and rap is when your album is released on vinyl relatively simultaneously with the release date. The new Gorillaz album is so far away from what made Gorillaz albums stand out during the first decade in all their megalomaniac calculation: adding a new chapter to contemporary pop music at the very least, if not writing a new book. On »Cracker Island«, Damon Albarn searches in vain for his edge and astonishingly resigns himself to the fact that his bland song writing and boilerplate melodies will no longer appeal to anyone under the age of 30. This is more human than it is dramatic, but does less justice to the Gorillaz' origin story claim than ever before.   

Florian Aigner
Lil Yachty
Let's Start Here
Universal • 2023 • from 38.99€

Lil Yachty has completely misjudged things as well. He obviously hasn't gotten over the early ridicule and gloating over his mumbling minimalism, and has now reached the obligatory ARRRRRRTSY phase. On »Let's Start Here«, that means white-washed Post Malone guitars, algorithmic crooning and a pop understanding stuck in 2014, somewhere between Tame Impala and Imagine Dragons. Ouch.  

Florian Aigner
Holodec
All Dogs Come From Wolves
Scorpio Red • 2023 • from 19.59€

Speaking of which, Kelman Duran gives Holodec every possible freedom for his album début on Scorpio Red. »All Dogs Come From Wolves« sounds like Winding-Refn's L.A. without the neon filter, an unpredictable mix of screened AI ambient, disembodied R&B, beats to study to – feints and noirish club music sketches. An early highlight of the year.   

Florian Aigner
Kelela
Raven
Warp • 2023 • from 31.99€

By contrast, on »Raven«, Kelela shows how to systematically clubify your sound and still stay true to your own core strengths, the snobbish alternative to the last Beyoncé album. »Raven« goes several steps further than »Renaissance«, relying not only on the club visions of LSDXOXO or Nguzunguzu, but also giving OCA's spooky hauntology a prominent place on an album bursting with ideas. This is the definition of R&B in 2023.   

Florian Aigner
Khotin
Release
Ghostly International • 2023 • from 26.99€

Khotin's long prepared departure from functional dance music, on the other hand, seems somewhat more conventional. Fortunately, »Release Spirit« never loses itself in too exalted auteur gestures, a large majority of the pieces could have existed at any time as B2 on an early Khotin 12" and, with a little skill, this might even be warm-up fodder for romantics. First and foremost, however, a dissertation on how to make it out of the club and into the kitchen on time. 

Florian Aigner
Oceanic
Choral Feeling
Nous'klaer Audio • 2023 • from 24.99€

Oceanic has made perhaps the best club album of the year so far, especially since »Choral Feeling« ends up on the dancefloor rather by chance than design and uses means that are often a hindrance: voices, lots of voices. Oceanic arranges the vocal contributions of close friends into an unusually maximalist wall of sound, which nonetheless sounds unusually fragile and transfers hyperpop production techniques into the ecstatic logic of house. 

Florian Aigner
Tolouse Low Trax
Leave Me Alone
Bureau B • 2023 • from 28.99€

Tolouse Low Trax not only cultivates the gruffness of his no-longer-so-new home town of Paris in the title of his next LP, but »Leave Me Alone« is also rhythmically more French than its predecessors. Contemporary rap shines through as a source of inspiration more clearly here than on many of Tolouse Low Trax's previous projects, but Warp-era quotes are also sepia-toned with the matter-of-factness of a musician who experienced it firsthand. Detached and impossible to criticise, as always. 

Florian Aigner
S.S.P.S.
The Life & Times Of Gigi Black
Nation • 2023 • from 84.99€

The machines sound even rustier on »The Life & Times Of GiGi Black«, a monstrous 4LP package on the Traxx' Nation label. For me, the mass has already been read after one or two minutes, because rarely has anyone sounded so convincingly like Suicide between the first and second albums as S.S.P.S. do here. It gets a bit more acidic and kick drum-heavy later on, but it's been a long time since I've heard such a consistently brutal album that Jamal Moss didn't produce. 

Florian Aigner
Valentina Magaletti & Laila Sakini
CUPO
Magaletti Sakini • 2023 •

Well, they did it. Valentina Magaletti and Laila Sakini are finally working as a duo and »CUPO« multiplies the best sides of both. Magaletti drums, delays, stumbles, reverbs, lurches, while Sakini breathes, strums, rubs his hands, freezes, sweats. Easily the hit of the year. 

Florian Aigner
Nicolini
Sopratutto
South Of North • 2023 • from 25.99€

Also phenomenal and cleverly eyeing the replay button at under 20 minutes playtime: Nicolini's second LP for South Of North, which following the Lynch intro sends a cheeky electroclashy 4x4 hit into the running with the title track »Sopratutto«, only to then work off dancehall patterns as wildly as we usually only know it from Equiknoxx.   

Florian Aigner
Adela Mede
Szabadság
Night School • 2023 • from 23.99€

On »Szabadság«, Adela Mede mainly starts out with cucina povera recipes, but then breaks out of the fairytale forest with the thoroughly brute hit potential of Spolu, only to take refuge again in ritualistic folk whisperings. Great in itself, but I'm as done with this as I am with spelt bread. 

Florian Aigner
Skins
Never Cursed
O___o? • 2023 • from 24.99€

Oooooh, there's something new out on Dawuna. This time a largely instrumental, piano-heavy and in some way 2023 stoner version of a Mo'Wax tape, with the corresponding aesthetic updates of course. Skins oscillated between Sri Lanka, Toronto and London for »Never Cursed« and now you can finish writing your own narrative for this really good record.  

Florian Aigner
Joseba Agirrezabalaga & Mikel Vega
Lepok
Urpa I Musell • 2023 • from 26.99€

Joseba Agirrezabalaga and Mikel Vega sound a bit as if Jon Collin had once sat on Sean McCann's veranda instead of under a bridge. The blues meets post-rock dissonance; the contrasting guitar droning repeatedly collapses into pure harmonic bliss for a few seconds and then dissolves again just as quickly. »Leopok« is edging in the extreme form, which is exactly why it is so hard to capture in a snippet or review. 

Florian Aigner
Kassel Jaeger
Shifted In Dreams
Shelter Press • 2023 • from 26.99€

»Shifted In Dreams« is also difficult to describe without falling back on clichés. My first association was to William Basinski with a no-loft aura, but does that really help anyone? Kassel Jaeger relies too little on the effect of singular loops for that anyway, but still acknowledges their shattering effect in all these droney molasses and so repeatedly sets beguiling punchlines in an otherwise very hermetic album.   

Florian Aigner
Japan Blues
Japan Blues Meets The Dengie Hundred
DDS • 2023 • from 31.99€

The first Japan Blues album still holds me spellbound; every time I listen to it, it's different. After listening to »Meets The Dengie Hundred« eight times, it's clear that album number two will also remain incredible, literally. In particular the 20-minute B-side sounds like nothing I've ever heard before, even though the individual elements can be clearly named. Hit of the decade, probably.   

Florian Aigner
Romance & Dean Hurley
River Of Dreams
Ecstatic • 2023 • from 30.99€

The second collaborative record by Dean Hurley and Romance is excellent for coming back to earth in the follow-up, because its reference points are so clear. This is not only because of Hurley's well-documented working relationship with David Lynch and Romance's unabashedly beautiful solo work. »River Of Dreams« cries out for secondary use for film school graduation projects and is actually so much better than such a fate would suggest.   

Florian Aigner
Bill Callahan
YTI⅃AƎЯ
Drag City • 2023 • from 40.99€

Finally, the annual serving of dadcore homeliness, again expertly and sarcastically offered up by Bill Calllahan. »YTILAER« is totally ok, typical Callahan: shirt-sleeved, transparent, quintessentially American and yet emotionally complex enough not to feel patronising. At least as 30 plus as at the beginning, but in contrast to Cracker Days, receding hairlines are accepted with dignity.   

Florian Aigner

Alle Schallplatten aus
Aigners Inventur

Zum Webshop

Aigners Inventur: März & April 2023

02.03.2023
Was ist ein sicheres Zeichen dafür, in die Belanglosigkeit gefallen zu sein? Wer macht den zeitgeistigsten R&B? Welche Platte ist ein sicherer Kandidat für die Jahresbestenliste? Welche sogar für die Jahrzehntbestenliste? Unser Kolumnist lobt und tadelt.
Gorillaz
Cracker Island
Warner • 2023 • ab 30.99€

Es ist leider eines der sichersten Anzeichen, zu einer Fußnote im aktuellen Pop- und Rap-Diskurs geworden zu sein, wenn dein Album relativ pünktlich zum Release-Date auch auf Vinyl erscheint. Das neue Gorillaz-Album ist soweit weg von dem, was Gorillaz-Alben, in all ihrem megalomanischen Kalkül die ersten 10 Jahre ausgezeichnet hatte: kontemporärer Popmusik zumindest ein neues Kapitel hinzuzufügen, wenn schon nicht ein neues Buch zu schreiben. Auf »Cracker Island« sucht Damon Albarn vergeblich nach seiner Edge und findet sich erstaunlich selbstverständlich damit ab mit biederem Songwriting und standardisierten Melodien niemanden unter 30 mehr abzuholen. Das ist mehr menschlich als dramatisch, wird dem Anspruch an die Origin Story der Gorillaz aber weniger gerecht als je zuvor.  

Florian Aigner
Lil Yachty
Let's Start Here
Universal • 2023 • ab 38.99€

Komplett verkalkuliert hat sich auch Lil Yachty, der frühen Spott und Häme für seinen vernuschelten Minimalismus offensichtlich nicht verwunden hat, und jetzt die obligatorische KÜÜÜÜNSCHTLER-Phase erreicht hat. Das heißt auf »Let’s Start Here« konkret: white gewashte Post-Malone-Gitarren, algorithmisiertes Crooning und ein 2014 hängengebliebenes Pop-Verständnis, irgendwo zwischen Tame Impala und Imagine Dragons. Aua. 

Florian Aigner
Kelela
Raven
Warp • 2023 • ab 31.99€

Wie man seinen Sound systematisch clubavantiger macht und dennoch den eigenen Kernkompetenzen treu bleibt, zeigt hingegen Kelela auf »Raven«, der snobbistischen Alternative zum letzten Beyoncé-Album. »Raven« geht noch mehrere Schritte weiter als »Renaissance«, verlässt sich produktionstechnisch nicht nur auf die Club-Visionen von LSDXOXO oder Nguzunguzu, sondern räumt der spukigen Hauntology von OCA auf einem vor ideenplatzenden Album gleich mehrfach prominent Platz ein. Viel besser kann man R&B 2023 nicht ausdefinieren.  

Florian Aigner
Holodec
All Dogs Come From Wolves
Scorpio Red • 2023 • ab 22.39€

Apropos: Kelman Duran lässt Holodec für sein Album Debüt auf Scorpio Red jede erdenkliche Freiheit. »All Dogs Come From Wolves« klingt wie Winding-Refns L.A. ohne den Neon-Filter, eine unvorhersehbare Mischung aus gescrewtem AI-Ambient, entkörperlichtem R&B, beats to study to - Finten und noirigen Clubmusik-Skizzen. Ein frühes Highlight des Jahres.  

Florian Aigner
Khotin
Release
Ghostly International • 2023 • ab 27.99€

Etwas konventioneller wirkt dagegen Khotins lange vorbereitete Abkehr von funktionaler Tanzmusik. »Release Spirit« verliert sich dabei glücklicherweise nie in zu exaltierten Auteursgesten, ein Großteil der Stücke hätte zu jedem Zeitpunkt auch als B2 auf einer frühen Khotin-12" existieren können und mit etwas Geschick, ist das vielleicht sogar noch Warm-Up-Futter für Romantiker:innen. In erster Linie aber eine Diplomarbeit darüber, wie man es rechtzeitig aus dem Club in die Küche schafft.

Florian Aigner
Oceanic
Choral Feeling
Nous'klaer Audio • 2023 • ab 24.99€

Vielleicht das bisher beste Club-Album des Jahres hat derweil Oceanic gemacht, vor allem deswegen weil »Choral Feeling« eher zufällig dort landet und mit Mitteln, die hierfür eigentlich oft eher hinderlich sind: Stimmen, jede Menge Stimmen. Oceanic arrangiert die Vokalbeiträge von engen Freund:innen zu einer ungewohnt maximalistischen Wall Of Sound, die dennoch ungewöhnlich fragil klingt und Hyperpop-Produktionstechniken in die ekstatische Logik von House überführt.

Florian Aigner
Tolouse Low Trax
Leave Me Alone
Bureau B • 2023 • ab 28.99€

Tolouse Low Trax kultiviert die Schroffheit seiner nicht mehr ganz so neuen Heimat Paris nicht nur im Titel seiner nächsten LP, auch rhythmisch ist »Leave Me Alone« deutlich französischer als seine Vorgänger. Kontemporärer Rap scheint hier als Inspirationsquelle deutlicher durch als auf vielen vorherigen Tolouse Low Trax-Projekten, aber auch Warp-Ära-Zitate werden hier mit der Selbstverständlichkeit eines Musikers, der halt dabei war, sepiafarben überstrichen. Abgeklärt unkritisierbar, wie immer.

Florian Aigner
S.S.P.S.
The Life & Times Of Gigi Black
Nation • 2023 • ab 84.99€

Noch rostiger klingen die Maschinen auf »The Life & Times Of GiGi Black«, einem monströsen 4LP-Pack auf Traxx’ Nation Label. Für mich ist da nach ein, zwei Minuten die Messe schon gelesen, weil selten jemand so überzeugend nach Suicide zwischen dem ersten und zweiten Album klang wie S.S.P.S. hier. Es wird später etwas säuriger und kickdrum-lastiger, aber lange kein so konsequent brutales Album gehört, das nicht von Jamal Moss produziert wurde

Florian Aigner
Valentina Magaletti & Laila Sakini
CUPO
Magaletti Sakini • 2023 •

Well, they did it. Valentina Magaletti und Laila Sakini arbeiten endlich als Duo und »CUPO« multipliziert die besten Seiten beider. Magaletti trommelt, verzögert, stolpert, reverbt, schlingert, Sakini haucht, klimpert, reibt sich die Hände, friert, schwitzt. Jahresbestenlistenshit, easily.

Florian Aigner
Nicolini
Sopratutto
South Of North • 2023 • ab 25.99€

Auch phänomenal und mit unter 20 Minuten Spielzeit clever auf Rewinds schielend: Nicolinis zweite LP für South Of North, die nach Lynch-Intro mit dem Titeltrack »Sopratutto« einen frech electroclashigen 4x4 Hit ins Rennen schickt, nur um sich im Anschluss dermaßen vogelwild an Dancehall-Patterns abzuarbeiten wie man das sonst eigentlich nur von Equiknoxx kennt.  

Florian Aigner
Adela Mede
Szabadság
Night School • 2023 • ab 23.99€

Adela Mede macht auf »Szabadság« zunächst vor allem Cucina Povera-Dinge, bricht dann aber mit der durchaus brachialen Hittigkeit  von Spolu aus dem Märchenwald aus, nur um sich im Anschluss wieder ganz tief in ritualistische Folkverhuschungen zu flüchten. An sich super, ich bin damit aber so durch wie mit Dinkelbrot.

Florian Aigner
Skins
Never Cursed
O___o? • 2023 • ab 24.99€

Uuuuuh, was Neues auf dem Dawuna Label. Dieses Mal weitgehend instrumental, piano-lastig und irgendwie schon auch die 2023er Stoner-Version eines Mo’Wax Tapes, natürlich mit den dementsprechenden ästhetischen Updates. Skins pendelte für »Never Cursed« zwischen Sri Lanka, Toronto und London und ihr schreibt euch jetzt gefälligst euer Narrativ für diese wirklich gute Platte selbst zu Ende.  

Florian Aigner
Joseba Agirrezabalaga & Mikel Vega
Lepok
Urpa I Musell • 2023 • ab 26.99€

Joseba Agirrezabalaga und Mikel Vega klingen ein bißchen so als hätte sich Jon Collin mal nicht unter eine Brücke, sondern auf Sean McCanns Veranda gesetzt. Der Blues trifft hier auf postrockige Dissonanz, das kontrastierende Gitarrengedudel fällt immer wieder für einige Sekunden zu purer harmonischer Bliss zusammen und löst sich genau so schnell wieder auf. »Leopok« ist Edging in Extremform und genau deswegen auch in Snippet- oder Reviewform kaum zu erfassen.

Florian Aigner
Kassel Jaeger
Shifted In Dreams
Shelter Press • 2023 • ab 26.99€

Auch »Shifted In Dreams« lässt sich schwer klischeefrei besprechen. Meine erste Assoziation war William Basinski ohne Loft-Aura, aber wem hilft das? Kassel Jaeger verlässt sich dafür ohnehin zu wenig auf die Wirkung singulärer Loops, erkennt aber deren erschütternde Wirkung in all dieser dronigen Molasse und setzt so immer wieder betörende Pointen in einem sonst so hermetischen Album.  

Florian Aigner
Japan Blues
Japan Blues Meets The Dengie Hundred
DDS • 2023 • ab 31.99€

Das erste Japan Blues-Album beschäftigt mich bis heute, jeder einzelne Hördurchgang ist anders. Nach achtmal »Meets The Dengie Hundred« ist klar: auch Album Nummer Zwei wird unfassbar bleiben, wortwörtlich. Insbesondere die 20-minütige B-Seite klingt wie nichts, was ich je gehört habe und das, obwohl die einzelnen Elemente eigentlich klar zuzuordnen sind. Jahrzehntbestenlistenshit, wahrscheinlich.  

Florian Aigner
Romance & Dean Hurley
River Of Dreams
Ecstatic • 2023 • ab 30.99€

Zum klarkommen eignet sich im Anschluss die zweite Kollaboplatte von Dean Hurley und Romance hervorragend, weil hier die Referenzpunkte so klar sind, nicht nur auf Grund Hurleys wohldokumentierter Arbeitsbeziehung zu David Lynch und Romances ungeniert schönen Soloarbeiten. »River Of Dreams« schreit nach Zweitverwertung für Film School Abschlussarbeiten und ist eigentlich so viel besser als dieses Schicksal.  

Florian Aigner
Bill Callahan
YTI⅃AƎЯ
Drag City • 2023 • ab 35.99€

Zum Schluss die jährliche Portion an Dadcoregemütlichkeit, wieder fachmännisch sarkastisch angeboten von Bill Calllahan. »YTILAER« ist total okayer _mid_ Callahan, hemdsärmelig transparent, uramerikanisch und trotzdem emotional komplex genug um sich nicht bevormundet zu fühlen. Mindestens so Ü30 wie zu Beginn also, aber wandernde Haaransätze werden hier im Gegensatz zu Cracker Days würdevoll hingenommen.  

Florian Aigner

Alle Schallplatten aus
Aigners Inventur

Zum Webshop