Aigners Inventory: May & June 2022

05.05.2022
Aigners Inventur Mai & Juni 2022
Our columnist Florian Aigner has listened through current longplayers, experienced polyrhythmic headfucks, discovered his inner Kurt Vile, and incidentally debunked the Pizza Margerita of electronic music.
Future 2 I Never Liked You
Future
I NEVER LIKED YOU
Epic • 2022

Reviewing a new Future album in 2022 is like taking a trip back to the Stone Age and into the present at the same time. Future's views of the world remain stone-age, borne of an era in which ignorance was the highest good in the rap game and any self-knowledge was drowned in armoured self-affirmation and a handful of benzos. Currently, the consistently all caps »I NEVER LIKED YOU« remains because Future is still the blueprint for new rap. Together with Young Thug, Future has fathered thousands of illegitimate sons and his sense of melody and melancholy is still what dominates the game, even if the great innovation of the 2010s has clearly lost its momentum.

Florian Aigner
Pusha T – It’s Almost Dry
Pusha T
It’s Almost Dry
Def Jam • 2022

It's interesting to see how Pusha T copes with the inevitable midlife crisis; on »It's Almost Dry« he concentrates entirely on the groundbreaking era that has long since ceased to define his daily life. Content-wise, of course, this has already been perfectly memefied. However, It's Almost Dry is still a strong 40-something work mainly because of Pusha T's almost constant use of samples of Kanye West and Pharrell Williams, including a surprising DJ Shadow reminiscence.

Sebastian Hinz
Billy Woods & Preservation
Aethiopes
Backwoodz Studioz • 2022 • since 16.99€

Production-wise, »Aethiopes« by Billy Woods is absolutely sensational. Known primarily as a Ka collaborator, Preservation flips here from moody ass RZA soul to Art Ensemble Of Chicago-esque free jazz sessions. Remarkably unpredictable instrumentals that would make for a pretty insane album on their own, but completely blow you away when combined with Billy Woods' fellow zero-def juxisms.

Florian Aigner
Vince Staples
Ramona Park Broke My Heart
Motown • 2022 • since 17.99€

Vince Staples' beat selection on »Ramona Park Broke My Heart« is very subtle in contrast to Billy Woods & Preservation's Aethiopes. Currently, Vince Staples' wish list quite clearly consists of keeping Quik and Mustard as landmarks and reducing their West Coast funk by another 50%. This gives Staples' raps a lot of weight, a decision that is only logical since he is one of the five best storytellers in rap at the moment.

Florian Aigner
Alabaster DePlume
Gold Black Vinyl Edition
International Anthem • 2022 • since 28.99€

Arseholes would write about Alabaster DePlume that his music is so unassailable that he should actually mind-produce the next three Bonobo albums (LOL, sorry, did it again!). But hey, try making pretty perfect weirdopop, pretty perfect jazz and pretty perfect beat sketches without appearing strung out in any way. »GOLD« is perhaps the definitive Alabaster DePlume album and still a touch too weird and free-spirited to end up in the next Audi spot.

Florian Aigner
Claire Rousay And More Eaze
Never Stop Texting Me
Orange Milk • 2022 • since 20.99€

As a music journalist, you constantly arrive at those points that demonstrate your pop-cultural detachment with maximum brutality, after which you frantically shed your own boomerishness with pseudo-euphoric reviews for the next big thing. Claire Rousay, also acknowledged here as a solo artist, has made a hypermodern pop album with More Eaze: like the Tiktok version of a 808 and Heartbreaks produced by SOPHIE. And I … simply end up feeling as old as the hills.

Florian Aigner
Anadol
Felicita
Pingipung • 2022 • since 24.99€

But don't despair! For ageing snobs, there's hardly a more gratifying album than Anadol's new LP, because the reference points here are timeless: classic Turkish breaks, foggy krautrock, British-dubby post-punk, spiritual jazz. So far, so safe. What makes »Felicita« completely unrivalled though is an ability to not stick to any genre for longer than a fleeting moment. An absolutely wild record that can nevertheless rest on its laurels.

Florian Aigner
Rat Heart Ensemble
A Blues
Shotta Tapes • 2022

Tom Boogizm made an album last year that I, at least, saved as an instant classic after just one listen. Since then, endless amounts of new material from Rat Heart have been released through Robbing Lobsters From Mobsters or with Sockethead and Michael J Blood, in madlib mania and frequency. Boogizm now switches from tape to vinyl for the second time as Rat Heart Ensemble, and A Blues must have a special place on it. More stringy than before, in large parts hardly percussive, Tom Boogizm gets even closer to fragile private press pop, floats through interludes and, as always, intuitively does everything better than everyone else.

Florian Aigner
Fumu
Enter The Anima
YOUTH • 2022 • since 25.99€

Also routinely better than the rest: releases on YOUTH, Andrew Lyster's label on which Fumu has now released a full-length album following singles and a CD-only collection. »Enter The Anima« scoops up every microgenre of the last five years, tears Kelman Duran's ambient Dembow to pieces, touches drill via Warp, and uses industrial as a distraction manoeuvre to achieve instinctive funkiness despite all the screwed-up rhythm.

Florian Aigner
Gav & Jord - Writings Ov Tomato
Gav & Jord (Equiknoxx)
Writings Ov Tomato
MAL • 2022 • since 24.99€

Actually, I really shouldn’t be talking about Equiknoxx releases out of fear of hyperbole and ridiculous bias, but holy shit, the riddim factory Gavsborg and Time Cow, appearing here as Gav & Jord, comply so well with the plea from their early promoter Jon K to put only their most abstruse ideas into action on »Writing Ov Tomato«. As good as the last song-oriented Equiknoxx album was, this is the long-awaited sequel to the first two albums on DDS. Next level, I repeat myself.

Sebastian Hinz
Batu
Opal Black Vinyl Edition
Timedance • 2022 • since 22.99€

Batu, too, has long been unassailable as a Timedance curator and highly selective producer, and the step to album format in the case of »Opal« is a correspondingly well-considered one. With just over half an hour of playing time and 11 tracks, Opal is formally not an album for the hall, rather Batu's harsh sound design flows into a lucid sequencing in which the drum and song-like contributions set the accents, but do not determine the narrative. Best Objekt album since the last Objekt album.

Florian Aigner
S.O.N.S
The Escape
S.O.N.S • 2022 • since 27.99€

S.O.N.S. has meanwhile discarded the artificial scarcity strategy of his first releases and in doing so allows for a more comprehensive appreciation of »The Escape«, which is also brilliantly arranged. According to the press release, this is once again music for an imaginary film. But the way the repetitive genius of Pan Sonic meets Carl Craig Arpeggi, Amen Breaks infest harmony-addicted deep house and skipping burialisms leverage classic electro make it really quite a nice piece of work.

Florian Aigner
Dopplereffekt - Neurotelepathy
Dopplereffekt
Neurotelepathy
Leisure System • 2022 • since 25.99€

Speaking of classic electro: Dopplereffekt still do it best in the post-Drexciya era. Of course, »Neurotelepathy« doesn't quite reach the level of Gesamtkunstwerk, but the good old Detroit 808 formula remains the pizza margherita of electronic music.

Florian Aigner
B. C. Slumber
Slumber Assistant
Southern Exposure • 2022 • since 19.99€

After so much noise, B.C. Slumber’s »Slumber Assistant« mainly ends up competing with the narcoleptic effect of podcasts and does well. Difficult to judge such an openly functional album according to conventional criteria, but you can definitely look for lamer slumber-inducing aids.

Florian Aigner
Ensemble Nist-Nah
Elders
Black Truffle • 2022 • since 24.99€

Will Guthrie and his Ensemble Nist-Nah lace into this calm, gamelan freak-outs with the looseness of jazz, a polyrhythmic headfuck through Black Truffle, you know the drill.

Florian Aigner
Treasury Of Puppies
Mitt Stora Nu
Discreet Music • 2022 • since 21.99€

Here comes something compelling from Gothenburg again, and of course from the realm of Förlag For Fri music. »Mitt Stora Nu« is the second album by Treasury Of Puppies, a self-confident step away from the murmuring introversion of the debut, including a snot'n'roll hit. In between, Lo Fi Folk, ice cold synths and Scandinavian existentialism.

Florian Aigner
Kurt Vile
(watch my moves) Black Vinyl Edition
Verve • 2022 • since 26.99€

After so much pretentious shit, now the full dadcore cosiness. The new Kurt Vile album is called »(watch my moves)«, contains as always the most unpretentious song writing and Kurt Vile – as already observed by P4K – in his current Lou Reed-like brashness simply seems like the Dalai-Lama version of Bruce Springsteen. I don't know how you get to be so completely yourself, but when I grow up, I wanna be like Kurt Vile.

Florian Aigner

Die Schallplatten von Aigners Inventur bei HHV Records

Zum Webshop

Aigners Inventur: Mai & Juni 2022

05.05.2022
Aigners Inventur Mai & Juni 2022
Unser Kolumnist vom Dienst hat sich durch aktuelle Longplayer gehört, polyrhythmische Headfucks erlebt, seinen inneren Kurt Vile entdeckt, und ganz nebenbei die Pizza Margerita der elektronischen Musik entlarvt.
Future 2 I Never Liked You
Future
I Never Liked You

Ein neues Future-Album im Jahr 2022 zu besprechen ist gleichzeitig ein Trip in die Steinzeit und die Gegenwart. Steinzeitig bleiben Futures Weltansichten, getragen von einer Ära, in der Ignoranz das höchste Gut im Rapgame war und jede Selbsterkenntnis in gepanzerter Selbstaffirmation und einer handvoll Benzos ertränkt wurde. Gegenwärtig bleibt das durchgehend all capsige »I NEVER LIKED YOU« weil Future immer noch die Blaupause ist für den Rap der letzten Jahre. Gemeinsam mit Young Thug hat Future tausende uneheliche Söhne gezeugt, sein Melodie- und Melancholieverständnis ist das, das auch in diesem Jahr das Spiel immer noch dominiert, auch wenn die große Innovationskraft der Mittzehner hier deutlich an Fahrt verloren hat.

Florian Aigner
Pusha T – It’s Almost Dry
Pusha T
It’s Almost Dry

Interessant auch wie Pusha T die unvermeidliche Midlife-Crisis managet und sich auf »It’s Almost Dry« inhaltlich komplett auf die seinen Alltag längst nicht mehr bestimmende Schneepflug-Ära konzentriert. Content-mäßig ist das natürlich bereits perfekt memefiziert worden. Aber »It’s Almost Dry« ist vor allem deswegen ein starkes Ü40er-Werk, weil Pusha T hier fast durchgängig Ausnahme-Beats von Kanye West und Pharrell Williams gepickt hat, inklusive einer überraschenden DJ Shadow-Reminiszenz.

Sebastian Hinz
Billy Woods & Preservation
Aethiopes
Backwoodz Studioz • 2022 • ab 16.99€

Produktionsmäßig ist auch »Aethiopes« von Billy Woods absolut sensationell. Der vor allem als Ka-Kollaborateur bekannte Preservation flippt hier von moody ass RZA-Soul bis zu Art Ensemble Of Chicago mäßigen Free-Jazz-Sessions wirklich  bemerkenswert unvorhersehbare Instrumentals, die für sich schon ein ziemlich wahnwitziges Album wären, in Kombination mit Billy Woods Mitnuller-Def-Juxismen aber vollkommen überwältigen, in a good way.

Florian Aigner
Vince Staples
Ramona Park Broke My Heart
Motown • 2022 • ab 17.99€

Vince Staples' Beatselektion auf »Ramona Park Broke My Heart« ist im Kontrast zu Billy Woods & Preservations »Aethiopes« sehr dezent. Vince Staples' Wunschzettel besteht offensichtlich aktuell darin Quik und Mustard als Orientierungsgrößen beizubehalten und deren Westküstenfunk nochmals um 50% zu reduzieren. Das gibt Staples' Raps besonders viel Gewicht, eine Entscheidung, die als einer der aktuell fünf besten Geschichtenerzählern im Rap nur konsequent ist.

Florian Aigner
Alabaster DePlume
Gold Black Vinyl Edition
International Anthem • 2022 • ab 28.99€

Arschlöcher würden über Alabaster De Plume schreiben, dass seine Musik so unangreifbar ist, dass er eigentlich die nächsten drei Bonobo-Alben (LOL, sorry, did it again!) geistproduzieren müsste. Aber ey, macht ihr doch mal ohne in irgendeiner Form angestrengt zu wirken ziemlich perfekten Weirdopop, ziemlich perfekten Jazz und ziemlich perfekte Beatskizzen. »GOLD« ist vielleicht das definitive Alabaster DePlume-Album und immer eine Spur zu seltsam und frei im Kopf um im nächsten Audi Spot zu landen.

Florian Aigner
Claire Rousay And More Eaze
Never Stop Texting Me
Orange Milk • 2022 • ab 20.99€

Als Musikjournalist gibt es ja immer wieder diese Punkte, an denen man seine popkulturelle Abgehängtheit mit maximaler Brutalität vorgeführt bekommt, um dann krampfhaft die eigene Boomerhaftigkeit mit pseudoeuphorischen Reviews für das nächste große Ding abzulegen. Claire Rousay, als Solokünstlerin hier auch bereits gewürdigt, hat mit More Eaze ein hypermodernes Popalbum gemacht, so etwas wie die Tiktok-Version eines von SOPHIE. produzierten »808 and Heartbreaks« und ich… fühle mich einfach nur steinalt.

Florian Aigner
Anadol
Felicita
Pingipung • 2022 • ab 24.99€

Aber kein Problem! Für alternde Snobs gibt es kaum ein dankbareres Album als die neue Platte von Anadol, weil die Bezugspunkte hier zeitlos sind: klassische türkische Breaks, vernebelter Krautrock, britisch-dubbiger Post-Punk, Spiritual Jazz. So weit, so safe, aber was »Felicita« komplett konkurrenzlos macht, ist eine kaum zu Papier bringende Fähigkeit, keinem Genre länger als für einen flüchtigen Moment verpflichtet zu bleiben. Eine absolut wilde Platte, die aber trotzdem vollkommen in sich ruht.

Florian Aigner
Rat Heart Ensemble
A Blues
Shotta Tapes • 2022

Tom Boogizm hat letztes Jahr ein Album gemacht, das zumindest ich nach nur einem Durchgang bereits als Instant Classic abgespeichert habe. Seither gab es via Robbing Lobsters From Mobsters oder mit Sockethead und Michael J Blood nochmal endlos mehr Material von Rat Heart, in madlibscher Manie und Frequenz. Wenn Boogizm nun als Rat Heart Ensemble zum zweiten Mal von Tape zu Vinyl wechselt, muss A Blues also schon rein physisch eine Sonderstellung zukommen. Stringenter als zuvor, in weiten Teilen kaum perkussiv, tastet sich Tom Boogizm hier noch mehr an fragilen Private Press Pop heran, floatet durch Interludes und macht wie immer intuitiv alles besser als alle anderen.

Florian Aigner
Fumu
Enter The Anima
YOUTH • 2022 • ab 25.99€

Ebenfalls routiniert besser als der Rest: Veröffentlichungen auf YOUTH, Andrew Lysters Label, auf dem Fumu nach Singles und einer CD-Only-Sammlung nun ein echtes Album veröffentlicht hat. »Enter The Anima« rafft jedes Microgenre der letzten fünf Jahre, zerrupft Kelman Durans Ambient-Dembow, streift Drill via Warp, benutzt Industrial als Ablenkungsmanöver für eine, bei all der gescrewten Rhythmik, immer instinktiven Funkiness.

Florian Aigner
Gav & Jord - Writings Ov Tomato
Gav & Jord (Equiknoxx)
Writings Ov Tomato
MAL • 2022 • ab 24.99€

Eigentlich sollte ich aus Hyperbelgefahr und lächerlicher Befangenheit gar nicht mehr über Equiknoxx-Releases sprechen, aber heiliges Kanonenrohr, die hier als Gav & Jord operierende Riddimfabrik Gavsborg und Time Cow kommen auf »Writing Ov Tomato« der Bitte ihres frühen Förderes Jon K, nur ihre abstrusesten Ideen umzusetzen, aber dermaßen nach. So gut das letzte, songorientierte Equiknoxx-Album war, das hier ist das langersehnte Sequel zu den ersten beiden Alben auf DDS. Next Level, ich wiederhole mich.

Sebastian Hinz
Batu
Opal Black Vinyl Edition
Timedance • 2022 • ab 22.99€

Auch Batu ist als Timedance-Kurator und sehr selektiver Produzent längst unfrontbar, der Schritt zum Albumformat ist im Falle von »Opal« ein dementsprechend wohlüberlegter. Mit gerade einmal einer guten halben Stunde Spielzeit bei 11 Titeln ist »Opal« schon formal kein Album für den Flur, vielmehr fließt hier Batus harsches Sounddesign in eine luzide Sequenzierung, in der dann die drum- und songorientierten Beiträge die Akzente setzen, aber das Narrativ nicht bestimmen. Bestes Objekt Album seit dem letzten Objekt Album.

Florian Aigner
S.O.N.S
The Escape
S.O.N.S • 2022 • ab 27.99€

S.O.N.S. hat die künstliche Verknappungsstrategie seiner ersten Releases mittlerweile abgelegt und ermöglicht so auch eine umfassendere Wertschätzung für das ebenfalls brillant arrangierte »The Escape«. Laut Pressetext ist das mal wieder Musik für einen imaginären Film, so weit, so smh. Wie hier aber das repetitive Genie von Pan Sonic auf Carl Craig Arpeggi trifft, Amen Breaks harmoniesüchtigen Deep House durchseuchen und skippende Burialismen klassischen Electro aushebeln, ist schon ganz ganz sauberes Handwerk.

Florian Aigner
Dopplereffekt - Neurotelepathy
Dopplereffekt
Neurotelepathy
Leisure System • 2022 • ab 25.99€

Apropos klassischer Electro: Dopplereffekt machen das in der Post-Drexciya-Ära immer noch mit am besten. »Neurotelepathy« erreicht natürlich nicht ganz das Level von Gesamtkunstwerk, aber die gute alte Detroit'sche 808-Formel bleiben einfach die Pizza Margerita der elektronischen Musik.

Florian Aigner
B. C. Slumber
Slumber Assistant
Southern Exposure • 2022 • ab 19.99€

Nach so viel Geballer konkurriert B.C. Slumbers »Slumber Assistant« vor allem mit der narkoleptischen Wirkung von Podcasts und schlägt sich wacker. Schwierig ein so offen funktionales Album nach herkömmlichen Kriterien zu beurteilen, aber man kann sich definitiv läppschere Schlafhilfen suchen.

Florian Aigner
Ensemble Nist-Nah
Elders
Black Truffle • 2022 • ab 24.99€

Will Guthrie klöppelt mit seinem Ensemble Nist-Nah in diese Ruhe rein, Gamelan Freakouts mit der Looseness von Jazz, ein polyrhythmischer Headfuck via Black Truffle, ihr wisst Bescheid.

Florian Aigner
Treasury Of Puppies
Mitt Stora Nu
Discreet Music • 2022 • ab 21.99€

Auch wieder zwingendes gibt es aus Göteborg, natürlich aus dem Umfeld von Förlag For Fri Musik. »Mitt Stora Nu« ist das zweite Album von Treasury Of Puppies, ein selbstbewusster Schritt weg von der murmelnden Introvertiertheit des Debüts, Rotz n Roll Hit inklusive. Dazwischen Lo Fi Folk, eiskalte Synths und skandinavischer Existentialismus.

Florian Aigner
Kurt Vile
(watch my moves) Black Vinyl Edition
Verve • 2022 • ab 26.99€

Nach so viel hochtrabendem Scheiß noch die volle dadcore Gemütlichkeit. Das neue Kurt Vile-Album hört auf den Namen »(watch my moves)«, enthällt wie immer unprätentiösestes Songwriting und Kurt Vile wirkt - wie bereits von P4K beobachtet - in seiner aktuellen Lou Reed’schen Schnoddrigkeit einfach wie die Dalai-Lama-Version von Bruce Springsteen. Keine Ahnung wie man so vollkommen bei sich ankommen kann, aber wenn ich groß bin, werde ich Kurt Vile.

Florian Aigner

Die Schallplatten von Aigners Inventur bei HHV Records

Zum Webshop