Music Review | posted 16.07.2012
Hot Chip
In Our Heads
Domino, 2012
Text Maximilian Theisen , Translation Julia Frohn
Your Rating:
7.0
User (1)
6.5
Editorial
Cover Hot Chip - In Our Heads

In comparison to its predecessor, »One Life Stand«, »In Our Heads« definitely comes out badly. All the tracks are similar, the sound-experiments are much more well-behaved, and catchy tunes in the manner of »I Feel Better« or »One Life Stand« are nowhere to found. What I used to like about Hot Chip so much were the surprises – like the steel pan appearing at the end of »Slush«, changing and dominating the whole experience of listening. Unfortunately, things like that hardly ever happen on »In Our Heads« – it says quite a lot about the record that I keep talking about the previous albums, really. Still, the Londoners remain somewhat true to their sound: the first track, »Motion Sickness«, positions the listener between synth-sounds from the 80s, disco-grooves from the 70s and timeless singing. Tempo-wise, most of the tracks move in a DJ-friendly manner, somewhere between 120 and 135. All in all, this album seems to be aiming for the numerous »Indie«-dancefloors of this world. If you look at »In Our Heads« on its own, it sure is a solid, danceable Hot Chip record. Unfortunately, the predecessors have created too high expectations for it to really blow me away.

You can find »In Our Heads« by Hot Chip at hhv.de: 2LP CD 2LP+7inch
Related Articles
Music Review | posted 15.05.2015
Hot Chip
Why Make Sense?
On »Why Make Sense?«, Hot Chip’s sixth record, a lot remains unchanged. But not quite everything.
Music Review | posted 15.11.2011
Real Estate
Days
One of the indie-highlights of the year? Real Estate are just drifting along and naturally carry us with them.
Music Review | posted 06.01.2012
Peaking Lights
936
Having already been released in the U.S. the spring of 2011, one of last year’s top-notch records is finally arriving in Europe.
Music Review | posted 13.06.2012
The Magnetic Fields
Love At The Bottom Of The Sea
Stephen Merrit returns to the roots of his Magnetic Fields with »Love At The Bottom Of The Sea«
Music Review | posted 01.06.2012
Lower Dens
Nootropics
This album creates its own world and makes one forget that there is a world at all.
Music Review | posted 27.07.2012
Dirty Projectors
Swing Lo Magellan
With »Swing Lo Magellan«, David Longstreth and his Dirty Projectors are going for a new kind of comprehensibility.
Music Review | posted 31.08.2012
Animal Collective
Centipede Hz
Animal Collective can’t really do mediocre records. At least that seemed to be the case until »Centipede Hz«.
Music Review
Hozan Yamamoto & Yu Imai
Akuma Ga Kitarite Fue Wo Fuku
The soundtrack to the 1979 film »Akuma Ga Kitarite Fue Wo Fuku« composed by Hozan Yamamoto and Yu Imai has now been re-released.
Music Review
Jolly Mare
Epsilon
Mediterranean summer music: You have to imagine the sea of Jolly Mare on »Epsilon« as a cheerful one.
Music Review
The Arpeggio Jazz Ensemble
Le-Le
On the threshold of acid jazz, »Le-Le«, by The Arpeggio Jazz Ensemble from Philadelphia, was released in 1987. Now comes a reissue.
Music Review
Venetian Snares
Rossz Csillag Alatt Született
The finally rereleased LP “Rossz Csillag Alatt Született” is and remains Venetian Snares’ most ambitious album.
Music Review
Park Hye Jin
Before I Die
»Before I Die«, the debut of the South Korean musician Park Hye Jin, released on Ninja Tune, follows a sophisticated architecture.
Music Review
Xique-Xique
Na Lagoa
»Na Lagoa«, into the lagoon, is where the Brazilian duo Xique-Xique go on their now released debut album.
Music Review
Tülay German & François Rabbath
Tülay German & François Rabbath
On the first of their two joint albums, Tülay German & Francois Rabbath explored Turkish folklore. The result from 1980 still sounds timeless today.
Music Review
Sarah Davachi
Antiphonals
Milky shimmering pearls: Canadian musician Sarah Davachi has released a great new album with »Antiphonals«.
Music Review
Ian Carr
Belladonna
»Belladonna«, Ian Carr’s gem from 1972, has now been reissued. Jazz lovers should get their hands on it.
Music Review
Arpanet
Inertial Frame
With »Inertial Frame«, the third and last album by Gerald Donald’s project Arpanet, released in 2006, is now being reissued. The past catches up with the future.
Music Review
Al-Dos Band
Doing Our Thing With Pride
Recorded in 1976, never released until now, Kalita brings »Doing Our Thing With Pride« by the elegantly sparkling Al-Dos Band to life.
Music Review
The Pro-Teens
I Flip My Life Every Time I Fly
Is Melbourne the secret capital of retro-funk? With »I Flip My Life Every Time I Fly«, a band called The Pro-Teens is preparing to confirm this assumption.
Music Review
DJ Seinfeld
Mirrors
»Mirrors« is the name of the second album of the Swedish producer DJ Seinfeld. And compared to previous music, the mirrors are well cleaned.
Music Review
Sorcerer
Kids World
»Kids World,« the new album from California based musician Daniel Saxon Judd aka Sorcerer is out on Growing Bin.
Music Review
Sofie Birch & Johan Carøe
Repair Techniques
»Repair Techniques« is a classic Sofie Birch album, but not only thanks to Johan Carøe also much more than that. Her collaboration on STROOM~ impresses with small gestures.
Music Review
Leo Acosta
Acosta
Another musical archaeological excavation has succeeded the label Mad About with »Acosta«, the last album of Leo Acosta released in 1970.
Music Review
Li Yilei
之/OF
More than just the usual pandemic record: on »之/OF« for the Berlin label Métron, Li Yilei masterfully expresses a precarious mood in small vignettes.
Music Review
Ebi (Susumu Yokota)
Space Teddy Collection II
More great tracks by Japanese producer Susumu Yokota, who passed away in 2015, are out now as »Space Teddy Collection II«.
Music Review
Joy Orbison
Still Slipping Vol.1
With »Still Slipping Vol.1« Joy Orbison dares for the first time with a release beyond 25 minutes and introduces house music to the mixtape format.
Music Review
Devendra Banhart & Noah Georgeson
Refuge
Get down and listen inside: Devendra Banhart and Noah Georgeson have recorded a consistently spiritual album with »Refuge«.
Music Review
Lingua Ignota
Sinner Get Ready
Round three of Lingua Ignota’s reckoning with the tormentor who subjugated her for years and is representative for all power-hungry assholes.
Music Review
Various Artists
Habibi Funk: An Eclectic Selection Part 2
Berlin-based label Habibi Funk presents »An Eclectic Selection Part 2«, a new compilation of overlooked music from the Arab world.
Music Review
VC-118A
Spiritual Machines
With »Spiritual Machines«, Dutchman Samuel van Dijk once again presents a first-class album as VC-118A.
Music Review
Moin
Moot!
Together with Valentina Magaletti, the duo Raime has not only reaniminated its project Moin for the LP »Moot!«, but also immediately expanded it.
Music Review
Humans In A Pool
Humans In A Pool
The Viennese group Takeshi’s Cashew celebrate the chaos of our time and the exuberance of life with »Humans In A Pool«.
Music Review
The Wooden Glass & Billy Wooten
Live
The bomb, to say the least: The Wooden Glass and Billy Wooten’s »Live,« recorded in 1972, has now been reissued.
Music Review
Art Blakey And The Jazz Messengers
Chippin In
»Chippin In,« the last recording by Art Blakey and his Jazz Messengers from 1990, has now been reissued on Tidal Waves.
Music Review
Leslie Winer
When I Hit You You'll Feel It
With »When I Hit You You’ll Feel It«, the thrilling musical work of the American artist Leslie Winer is finally extensively honored.
Music Review
Hiroshi Suzuki
Cat
The album »Cat« by Japanese trombonist Hiroshi Suzuki enjoys an almost cult status among collectors of jazz rarities. Now it has been reissued.
Music Review
MKS
Musical Keyboard System
MKS, »Musical Keyboard System«, was the name of the short-lived project of Frenchman Nicolas Aubard. Four tracks from 1989 have now been reissued.
Music Review
Various Artists
And Felt Like…
The compilation »And Felt Like…« is another highlight in the label history of Knekelhuis.
Music Review
The Same
Sync Or Swim
The apparently so precisely measured 1980s must nevertheless be supplemented with the component »Sync Or Swim« by The Same from 1981.
Music Review
Mário Rui Silva
Stories From Another Time 1982-1988
»Stories From Another Time 1982-1988« bundles songs with brittle nonchalance by Angolan-born guitarist Mário Rui Silva.
Music Review
Sylvia
Sweet Stuff
Sylvia Robinson not only kicked hip-hop into high gear, she also made music of her own. Her album »Sweet Stuff« from 1975 has now been reissued.
Music Review
µ-Ziq
Scurlage
Some things are new on »Scurlage«, the first album by Mike Paradinas aka µ-Ziq in eight years.
Music Review
soFa, Houschyar & Okay Temiz
Şelale
A Belgian, a German and a Turk meet… what starts like a bad joke is actually just good music.
Music Review
Jim Jones & Harry Fraud
The Fraud Department
Splendidly unaffectedly produced and unexpectedly socio-political: »The Fraud Department« by Jim Jones & Harry Fraud is a real surprise.
Music Review
Sandro Brugnolini
Utopia
Great cinema, even without film: Sonor Music Editions presents a new edition of »Utopia« by Italian composer Sandro Brugnolini from 1972.
Music Review
Patrice Rushen
Straight from the Heart
More than »Men In Black,«: Patrice Rushen defined R&B as we know it today on 1982’s »Straight From The Heart«.
Music Review
Darkside
Spiral
“Spiral,” the second album from Nicholas Jaar’s and Dave Harrington’s Darkside project, massages the soul where other music can’t even reach anymore.
Music Review
Various Artists
UK Electronics 1988-1994
Pretty cool tracks here: The compilation »UK Electronics 1988-1994« almost the best of the rarest of the electronic underground scene together.