Aigner’s Inventory: July & August 2022

14.07.2022
Aigners Inventur Juli & August 2022
The gut is dub, the brain is jazz, the heart is broken, the legs are endlessly heavy: Aigner’s Inventory is steeped in sepia tones this time, almost forgets the biggest release of the year and heads straight for the midlife crisis.
Kendrick Lamar
Mr. Morale & The Big Steppers
Interscope • 2022 • from 42.99€

Good morning, fellow ageing earthlings: for days on end you think of nothing but the Kendrick drop, make some time – conscious TIME – to listen to »Mr Morale & The Big Steppers« like the novel that every Kendrick Lamar album is, spend a week reading through 30,000 takes and interpretations, only to subsequently fudge this paragraph when putting this column together because you forgot there was a new Kendrick Lamar album. If I were twenty years younger, I could rap along to 80% of this absolute monstrosity of an album by now, and would have censored myself nine times trying to do both parts on »We Cry Together«. At least it makes you realise that every phase of life has its undignified moments.

Florian Aigner
Boldy James & Real Bad Man
Real Bad Boldy
Tuff Kong • 2021 • from 28.99€

Having already made »Electric Circus« with Sterling Toles for non-crochet hats, Boldy James' collaboration with »Real Bad Man« is a much more classic rap album, spiritually located somewhere between three generations of New York street talent, but without being taken over by Griselda's hardliner attitude. His raps are neither as meaningful as Ka's nor as satirically over-pointed as Roc Marciano's, but this is nevertheless the weight class in which Boldy James has firmly made his mark.

Florian Aigner
E L U C I D
I Told Bessie Coke Bootle Clear Vinyl Edition
Backwoodz Studioz • 2022 • from 35.99€

I'm not the only one who thinks Billy Woods is the driving force behind Armand Hammer, but how essential the dynamic between Billy Woods and ELUCID was, especially on last year's stroke of genius »Haram«, can now be seen once again on Elucid's solo album »I Told Bessie«. Knowing the alchemy that connected Raekwon and Ghostface from 1995 - 1997, Elucid doesn't even try to emancipate himself from his partner, but uses Woods as a perfectly dosed sidekick, grounding Elucid's sometimes overbearing, hyperlyric style with nagging bluntness.

Florian Aigner
Moor Mother
Jazz Codes Colored Vinyl Edition
Anti • 2022 • from 26.99€

Moor Mother, meanwhile, continues to bring together the past, present and future of Black music tradition from a metaperspective on a quarterly basis, thinking more discomfortingly and more freely than anyone else, all while talking, as I’m told, about the Jaylen Brunson signing with a grounded matter-of-factness as if she actually is from this planet. »Jazz Codes« is an album on which more ideas come together than in some free jazz discographies, and that is precisely why, once again, far too many people will capitulate far too quickly to this album.

Florian Aigner
Mobbs
Untitled Clear Vinyl Edition
Chrome • 2022 • from 25.64€

MOBBS' »Untitled« has the aura of the single-digit catalogue number about it, but not every Chrome release is an event. Here, MOBBS shreds trill, trap and avant-garde in a very English way into a crewed lump that is de facto a beat tape, but never feels like one. To be honest, it's not quite as next level as rumoured from the Manc bubble, but it's a solid seven and a half.

Florian Aigner
Omar S
Can't Change Record Store Day 2022 Edition
FXHE • 2022 • from 59.99€

Speaking of the Manc bubble: the next double LP pack by Michael J. Blood is simply good. House just doesn't sound that brittle and elegant outside of FXHE, but it has to be said here too in all fairness: the new Omar-S album, once again patronisingly spread over four LPs, still remains – »Can't Change« – in a class of its own if you're willing to frantically close the misogyny tab that opens yet again on track 2.

Florian Aigner
Levon Vincent
Silent Cities
Novel Sound • 2022 • from 19.99€

Levon Vincent was quite a successful Diet Omar S ten years ago but has dug deeper into soundscaping over the last few years and now delivers his surprisingly coherent Lockdown diary with »Silent Cities« despite diverse tempos and timbres. The first Levon Vincent record since »Six Figures« that you really do need.

Florian Aigner
FFT
Clear
Numbers • 2022 • from 23.99€

Josh Thompson, meanwhile, still hasn't made a bad record in the guise of FFT. The album debut for Numbers roots the wildest moments of the preceding singles in an amazingly tangible IDM design. Sometimes, the synth programming is classically warpy, other times it comes in PAN’s tints without ever being cartoonishly deconstructed – a deconstruction that, as one can postulate retrospectively, has killed quite a few vibes in the past decade.

Florian Aigner
Exael
Ice That Melts The Tips
3XL • 2022 • from 24.99€

From the 2022 IDM update to the future of Jungle. Exael chops his way through hectic breaks for the newly founded parent label of Experiences LTD. and lets them crash repeatedly into unreal ambient canyons. As if Sophia Loizou had made a record for The News Cycle. Speaking of 3XL, Motion Ward and West Mineral: the new Pontiac Streator album is also a sensation but is already completely out of stock.

Florian Aigner
Civilistjävel!
Järnnätter
Felt • 2022 • from 22.99€

Fellow music journalist Sebastian Hinz writes of »Järnätter«, the new Civilistjävel! record: »Anyone who has tried to tie their shoelaces while wearing thick woollen mittens will have an inkling of the finesse behind this collection of tracks.« A finesse that already existed on the sometimes crudely numbered EPs for Low Company, but which here results in a thoroughly conjugated album that can quote all the Scandinavian dub techno grandees fluently, but at the same time remains pleasantly idiosyncratic.

Florian Aigner
Felicia Atkinson
Image Langage
Shelter Press • 2022 • from 29.99€

Felicia Atkinson records represent their very own genre at this point, after a rather impressionistic album for Boomkat and her almost shy collaboration with Jefre Cantu-Ledesma, another more opulent statement follows this year: »Image Language« rolls through Felicia Atkinson's real-life moving process and the press text suggests to us the Bohren gang as a reference; a helpful hint in view of the overwhelming elegance of the very present piano. In between, lots of whispering, lots of poetry and that melancholic heaviness that inevitably settles over you with every good Atkinson record.

Florian Aigner
Nick Cave
Seven Psalms
Goliath • 2022 • from 27.99€

If Nick Cave makes twelve more spoken word records, then he will also make one on the level of Félicia Atkinson's »Image Language«. Until that happens, however, »Seven Palms« remains a note in the margin of Cave's discography. These pastorally performed poems lack arrangement and concept; only the instrumental mega mix at the end of the record gives an idea of what could have been possible with a little more compositional ambition. And I usually start crying when Nick Cave simply mentions »Father« and »Loss«...

Florian Aigner
Jac Berrocal, David Fenech, Vincent Epplay
Transcodex
Akuphone • 2022 • from 23.99€

If I want to explain to my grandchild what it was like back in the day of lockdowns and Kalle Lauterbach while sitting in my old rocking chair, the previous record by Berrocal, Fenech, Epplay has a good chance of me glorifying it as the definitive album of the early 2020s. But »Transcodex« is a sensation as well. Alan Vega’s ramblings meet my favourite instrument in the world, the Berrocal trumpet, along with electronic minimalism that seems to stagger even when programmed to 2 and 4, and beat poetry that is in no way after applause: you simply can't do it better than these three.

Florian Aigner
Geier Aus Stahl
Strapazen Und Genesung
Knekelhuis • 2022 • from 23.99€

Another good record on Knekelhuis, this time from Geier Aus Stahl, who, after a few comp contributions, has really taken his time to translate the most boisterous era of Ratinger Hof into the here and now. It is the album playing most openly with its influences that Leonard Prochazka, following grudging roles in Taurus and Jean-Luc, has released so far, but one that really knows how not to get mired in mimicry.

Florian Aigner
Hercules & Love Affair
In Amber
Skint • 2022 • from 25.99€

For a brief while, Andy Butler's new album was not a new Hercules & Love Affair record; the content of »In Amber« was too fractured and fraught for that. Here, Butler disarmingly grapples with the ordeal of American Christianity and is more often overcome by its oppressive influence than a Scorsese protagonist. With Anohni's unrivalled vocal presence interspersed, it somehow truly is a Hercules & Love Affair record for an era in which light-footed disco escapism was impossible on a global scale for two years anyway.

Florian Aigner
TIBSLC
Hypertranslucent Clear Vinyl Edition
Sferic • 2022 • from 26.09€

A year ago, I disdainfully dismissed »Delusive Tongue Shifts« as the most egalitarian record on Sferic so far, but »Hypertranslucent« already hits that hypothetical spot where Yasuake Shimizu made an ambient record with Vladislav Delay. Fairly good.

Florian Aigner
Julia Reidy
World In World
Black Truffle • 2022 • from 24.99€

Heading straight for an early midlife crisis, I seem to have finally opened my heart to twangy guitars. Julia Reidy's »World In World« is a meditation in sepia tones tailored fully to her guitar playing, cloying vocals and delay included. To pick up on Nick Cave again: »World In World« puts itself forward as an alternative soundtrack for »The Proposition«.

Florian Aigner
Keith Fullerton Whitman
GRM [Redactions] (17117) Clear Vinyl Edition
Nakid • 2022 • from 28.99€

Aesthetically not dissimilar to William Basinski's disintegrating loops, but technically arranged in a completely unique way, Keith Fullerton Whitman finally throws a small-edition monolith at our feet in his unmanageable discography. The gut is dub, the brain jazz, the heart broken, the legs endlessly heavy and »GRM (Redactions)« forever the teaser text for this column.

Florian Aigner
Aigners Inventur Juli & August 2022

All the records from
Aigner’s inventory

Go to webshop

Aigners Inventur: Juli & August 2022

14.07.2022
Aigners Inventur Juli & August 2022
Der Bauch ist Dub, das Hirn Jazz, das Herz gebrochen, die Beine endlos schwer: Aigners Inventur ist dieses Mal in Sepiatönen eingefärbt, vergisst beinahe das größte Release des Jahres und steuert schnurstracks auf die Midlifecrisis zu.
Kendrick Lamar
Mr. Morale & The Big Steppers
Interscope • 2022 • ab 42.99€

GuMo, fellow alternde Menschen: Da denkt man Tage lang an nichts anderes als den Kendrick Drop, nimmt sich ernsthaft Zeit - also wirklich bewusst ZEIT - um »Mr Morale & The Big Steppers« zu hören wie den Roman, der jedes Kendrick Lamar-Album ist, liest sich eine Woche lang durch 30.000 Takes und Interpretationen, um dann bei der Zusammenstellung dieser Kolumne nachträglich noch diesen Absatz hinzuscheißen, weil man vergessen hat, dass es ein neues Kendrick Lamar-Album gab. Wäre ich zwanzig Jahre jünger, könnte ich jetzt schon 80% dieser absoluten Monstrosität von einem Album mitrappen und hätte mich wahrscheinlich schon neun Mal dabei selbst zensiert bei dem Versuch beide Parts auf »We Cry Together« zu übernehmen. Immerhin bringt das die Erkenntnis, dass einfach jede Lebensphase würdelos ist.

Florian Aigner
Boldy James & Real Bad Man
Real Bad Boldy
Tuff Kong • 2021 • ab 28.99€

Nachdem Boldy James mit Sterling Toles schon »Electric Circus« für Nicht-Häkelmützen gemacht hat, ist seine Zusammenarbeit mit »Real Bad Man« ein wesentlich klassischeres Rap-Album, spirituell irgendwo zwischen drei Generationen New Yorker Straßentales anzusiedeln, ohne sich aber von Griselda'schem Hardlinertum vereinnahmen zu lassen. Hierbei sind seine Raps weder so bedeutungsschwanger die von Ka, noch so satirisch überpointiert wie die von Roc Marciano, aber dennoch ist das die Gewichtsklasse, in der Boldy James sich nachhaltig etabliert hat.

Florian Aigner
E L U C I D
I Told Bessie Coke Bootle Clear Vinyl Edition
Backwoodz Studioz • 2022 • ab 35.99€

Nicht nur für mich mag Billy Woods das Zugpferd bei Armand Hammer sein, aber wie essentiell die Dynamik zwischen Billy Woods und ELUCID insbesondere auf dem letztjährigen Geniestreich Haram war, zeigt sich nun auch nochmal auf Elucids Soloalbum »I Told Bessie«. Wissend um die Alchemie, die Raekwon und Ghostface von 1995 - 1997 verband, versucht Elucid gar nicht erst, sich von seinem Partner zu emanzipieren, sondern benutzt Woods als perfekt dosierten Sidekick, der Elucids manchmal arg vereinnahmenden, hyperlyrischen Stil mit keifender Bluntness erdet.

Florian Aigner
Moor Mother
Jazz Codes Colored Vinyl Edition
Anti • 2022 • ab 26.99€

Moor Mother führt im Quartalsturnus derweil weiterhin Past, Present und Future schwarzer Musiktradition aus der Metaperspektive zusammen, denkt dabei unbequemer und freier als alle anderen und redet dann, so wurde mir berichtet, trotzdem mit einer geerdeten Selbstverständllichkeit über das Jaylen Brunson-Signing als wäre sie like actually auch auf diesem Planeten beheimatet. »Jazz Codes« ist ein Album, auf dem mehr Ideen zusammenkommen als in manchen Free Jazz-Diskografien und genau deswegen werden viel zu viele Menschen wieder viel zu schnell vor diesem Album kapitulieren.

Florian Aigner
Mobbs
Untitled Clear Vinyl Edition
Chrome • 2022 • ab 25.64€

MOBBS»Untitled« umweht die Aura der einstelligen Katalognummer, noch ist jede Veröffentlichung auf Chrome ein Ereignis. MOBBS schreddert hier auf sehr englische Art und Weise Trill, Trap und Avantgarde zu einem gescrewten Klumpen, der de facto ein Beattape ist, sich aber nie so anfühlt. Ganz so next level wie aus der Manc-Blase kolportiert, ist das ehrlicherweise dann doch nicht, aber eine solide Siebeneinhalb.

Florian Aigner
Omar S
Can't Change Record Store Day 2022 Edition
FXHE • 2022 • ab 59.99€

Apropops Manc-Blase: der nächste Doppel LP-Pack von Michael J. Blood ist wieder richtig gut, so spröde elegant klingt House außerhalb von FXHE sonst einfach nicht, aber auch hier muss man fairerweise sagen: das neue Omar-S-Album, mal wieder gönnerhaft auf vier LPs verteilt, bleibt - »Can’t Change« - trotzdem eine Klasse für sich - wenn man denn gewillt ist, den Misogynie-Tab, der sich auf Track 2 einmal mehr öffnet, hektisch wieder zu schließen.

Florian Aigner
Levon Vincent
Silent Cities
Novel Sound • 2022 • ab 19.99€

Levon Vincent war vor zehn Jahren ein recht erfolgreicher Diet-Omar-S, über die letzten Jahre hat sich Vincent dann aber tiefer in Soundscaping vergraben und liefert mit »Silent Cities« nun sein trotz diverser Tempi und Klangfarben erstaunlich kohärentes Lockdown-Tagebuch nach. Vielleicht die erste Levon Vincent-Platte seit Six Figures, die man wirklich braucht.

Florian Aigner
FFT
Clear
Numbers • 2022 • ab 23.99€

Josh Thompson hat unterdessen als FFT immer noch keine Scheißplatte gemacht. Das Albumdebüt für Numbers erdet die wildesten Momente der vorausgegangenen Singles in einem erstaunlich greifbaren IDM-Design, teilweise richtig klassizistisch Warpy in der Synth-Programmierung, dann wieder eher mit PAN’scher Blondierung, aber nie in dieser cartoonhaften Dekonstruktion, die, jetzt kann man das retrospektiv mal postulieren, schon auch eine Menge Vibes gekillt hat im vorangegangenen Jahrzehnt.

Florian Aigner
Exael
Ice That Melts The Tips
3XL • 2022 • ab 24.99€

Vom 2022er IDM-Update zur Zukunft von Jungle. Exael häckselt sich für das neu gegründete Parent Label von Experiences LTD. durch hektische Breaks und lässt diese immer wieder in unwirkliche Ambientschluchten crashen. Als hätte Sophia Loizou eine Platte für The News Cycle gemacht. Apropos 3XL, Motion Ward und West Mineral: die neue Pontiac Streator ist ebenfalls eine Sensation, aber schon wieder komplett vergriffen.

Florian Aigner
Civilistjävel!
Järnnätter
Felt • 2022 • ab 22.99€

Kollege Hinz schreibt zu »Järnätter«, der neuen Civilistjävel!-Platte: »Jeder der sich mit dicken Fausthandschuhen versucht hat, die Schnürsenkel zuzubinden, sollte die Finesse hinter dieser Ansammlung von Tracks ahnen.« Eine Finesse, die es auf den teilweise recht groben durchnummerierten EPs für Low Compamy, auch schon gab, die hier aber in einem wirklich durchkonjugierten Album mündet, das die skandinavischen Dub-Techno-Granden alle flüssig zitieren kann, aber gleichzeitig angenehm eigensinnig bleibt.

Florian Aigner
Felicia Atkinson
Image Langage
Shelter Press • 2022 • ab 29.99€

Felicia Atkinson-Platten sind an diesem Punkt ihr eigenes Genre, nach einem recht impressionistischen Album für Boomkat und ihrer fast schüchternen Zusammenarbeit mit Jefre Cantu-Ledesma, folgt nun dieses Jahr wieder ein opulenteres Statement: »Image Language« mollt sich durch Felicia Atkinsons realen Umziehprozess und der Pressetext legt uns die Bohren-Gang als Referenz ans Herz, angesichts der überwältigenden Eleganz des sehr präsenten Pianos durchaus ein hilfreicher Hinweis. Dazwischen viel Geflüster, viel Poesie und diese melancholische Schwere, die sich bei jeder guten Atkinson-Platte unweigerlich über einen legt.

Florian Aigner
Nick Cave
Seven Psalms
Goliath • 2022 • ab 27.99€

Wenn Nick Cave noch zwölf Spoken Word-Platten anschließt, wird er auch eine auf dem Niveau von Félicia Atkinsons »Image Language« machen. Bis es soweit ist, bleibt »Seven Palms« aber doch eine Randnotiz in Caves Diskografie. Dafür fehlt es diesen pastoral vorgetragenen Gedichten an Arrangement und Konzept, erst der instrumentale Megamix am Ende der Platte lässt erahnen, was hier mit etwas mehr kompositorischer Ambition möglich gewesen wäre. Und ich fange ja normalerweise schon direkt zu heulen an, wenn Nick Cave nur Father und Loss sagt…

Florian Aigner
Jac Berrocal, David Fenech, Vincent Epplay
Transcodex
Akuphone • 2022 • ab 23.99€

Die Vorherige von Berrocal, Fenech, Epplay hat Stand heute gute Chancen von mir als die definitive Platte der frühen Zwanziger verklärt zu werden, wenn ich säuselig im Schaukelstuhl einem Enkel erklären möchte wie das damals war mit Lockdown und Kalle Lauterbach, aber auch »Transcodex« ist wieder eine Sensation, belegte Alan Vega Ramblings treffen auf mein Lieblingsinstrument der Welt, die Berrocal-Tröte, dazu elektronischer Minimalismus, der aber selbst gerade auf die 2 und 4 programmiert stets zu torkeln scheint, Beatpoetry vollkommen ent-trittinisiert und ohne Rezeptionsgeilheit: man kann das einfach nicht besser machen als die Drei.

Florian Aigner
Geier Aus Stahl
Strapazen Und Genesung
Knekelhuis • 2022 • ab 23.99€

Auch wieder eine gute Platte auf Knekelhuis, dieses Mal von Geier Aus Stahl, der sich nach einigen wenigen Comp-Beiträgen richtig Zeit gelassen hat, die vogelwildeste Ära des Ratinger Hofs ins Hier und Jetzt zu übersetzen. Vielleicht die bisher am offensten mit den Einflüssen spielende Veröffentlichung, die Leonard Prochazka, nachtragenden Rollen bei Taurus und Jean-Luc, bisher freigegeben hat, die es aber wirklich versteht, nicht in Mimikry zu verenden.

Florian Aigner
Hercules & Love Affair
In Amber
Skint • 2022 • ab 25.99€

Andy Butlers neues Album war für kurze Zeit keine neue Hercules & Love Affair-Platte, zu zerrissen und belastet sei dafür der Inhalt von »In Amber« gewesen. Butler schlägt sich hier auf entwaffnende Art und Weise mit der Tortur des amerikanischen Christentums herum und wird von dessen bedrückendem Einfluss häufiger übermannt als ein Scorsese Protagonist. Dazwischen immer wieder Anohnis unerreichte Vocalpräsenz und irgendwie ist das dann doch eine Hercules & Love Affair-Platte für eine Ära, in der leichtfüßiger Disco-Eskapismus zwei Jahre lang ohnehin global nicht möglich war.

Florian Aigner
TIBSLC
Hypertranslucent Clear Vinyl Edition
Sferic • 2022 • ab 26.09€

»Delusive Tongue Shifts« hatte ich vor einem Jahr an dieser Stelle noch geringschätzig als bisher egalste Platte auf Sferic abgekanzelt, »Hypertranslucent« hittet jetzt aber schon diesen hypothetischen Spot, in dem Yasuake Shimizu mit Vladislav Delay eine Ambient-Platte gemacht hat. Pretty good.

Florian Aigner
Julia Reidy
World In World
Black Truffle • 2022 • ab 24.99€

Schnurstracks auf die frühe Midlifecrisis zusteuernd, habe ich offenbar mein Herz für gniedelige Gitarren doch noch geöffnet. Julia Reidys World In World ist eine vollkommen auf ihr Gitarrenspiel zugeschnittene Meditation in Sepiatönen, verhuschte Vocals und Delay inklusive. Um nochmal Nick Cave aufzugreifen: »World In World« drängt sich als alternativer Soundtrack für »The Proposition« auf.

Florian Aigner
Keith Fullerton Whitman
GRM [Redactions] (17117) Clear Vinyl Edition
Nakid • 2022 • ab 28.99€

William Basinskis zerfallenden Loops ästhetisch nicht unähnlich, aber technisch ganz anders arrangiert, wirft uns Keith Fullerton Whitman in seiner nicht zu überblickenden Diskografie zum Schluss noch einen Monolith in Kleinstauflage vor die Füße. Der Bauch ist Dub, das Hirn Jazz, das Herz gebrochen, die Beine endlos schwer und »GRM (Redactions)« für immer der Teasertext für diese Kolumne.

Florian Aigner
Aigners Inventur Juli & August 2022

Die Schallplatten aus Aigners Inventur

Zum Webshop